$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 4, 2014 Check-out: Dec 5, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

3 stars
2600 Sand Dunes Drive, Monterey, CA 93940-3838
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
71 reviews
replenishing & low maintenance getaway

My husband and I book an ocean view room here at least once a year. Oceanview is a must and... See full review

  • Jewellie
  • Oct 27, 2014
great location

The room itself isn't anything fancy. The bathroom is tiny and the bed mediocre but the location is... See full review

  • amberE
  • Sep 16, 2014
Pet-friendly family fun on Del Monte Beach
The smoke-free Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey is the only hotel located directly on Del Monte Beach. Guests appreciate oceanfront views from the lobby, fourth-floor restaurant and some of the guest rooms. Explore miles of unspoiled beachfront, grab a workout in the new fitness center or drive a few short minutes to downtown Monterey and Cannery Row attractions. At Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey, choose a guest room facing the beach and ocean, lush gardens or the courtyard heated swimming pool, a popular place in summer months.
Highlights

  • The only hotel directly on Del Monte Beach
  • Heated outdoor pool and new fitness center
  • On-site restaurant with ocean views from the fourth floor
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Pet-friendly rooms available (fees apply)

Rooms
Listen to the soothing surf from ocean-view rooms at Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey. Some of the 196 nonsmoking rooms offer expansive views of Monterey Bay, while others offer a quiet retreat that overlooks the garden courtyards or outdoor pool. Bright bolster pillows, cheerful striped bedspreads and beach-inspired furnishings combine with air-conditioned comfort. Enjoy free Wi-Fi from the work desk, a coffee-maker and satellite television with in-room movies and HBO. Ask about pet-friendly rooms (fees apply) at the family-friendly Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey.
Features
The AAA 3-diamond rated Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey offers on-site parking (fees apply), just minutes from Cannery Row, Pebble Beach, 17-Mile Drive, the Monterey Bay Aquarium and Point Lobos State Natural Reserve. Take in ocean views from Cafe Beach Restaurant and Sandal's Lounge, home to an espresso bar, early evening hors d'oeuvres and live entertainment. Event facilities can host up to 700 people in meeting rooms with water views.
Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (72.9 mi/117 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (102 mi/164 km)

Attractions

  • Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Cannery Row (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (3.9 mi/6.2 km)
  • Carmel Mission Basilica (7.3 mi/11.8 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (7.4 mi/12 km)
  • Santa Cruz (40.3 mi/64.9 km)
  • San Francisco (110 mi/178 km)
  • Big Sur, Calif. (136 mi/218 km)

Business

  • Free in-room wireless Internet access
  • Business center with copy services
  • Offers 10,000 square feet of oceanfront meeting space for up to 700 guests

Policies and fees

  • There is a $17 USD parking fee per day plus an additional county tax of $1 USD per day and a $7.75 USD surcharge per day added to each room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,OCEAN VIEW, NO SMOKING
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCNFRT,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNFRT,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,GARSID,WHISPD,SAFE,AIRCON
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,GARSID,WHISPD,SAFE,AIRCON
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,GARSID,WHISPD,SAFE,AIRCON
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,GARSID,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,GARSID,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,GARSID,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANV,2NDFLR,UPGFUR,REFRIG
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCEANV,2NDFLR,UPGFUR,REFRIG
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NO SMOKING,GARDEN VIEW,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,PET ROOM, NO SMOKING
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEAN,WIR HI SPEED NET,SAFE,AIRCON
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,OCEAN,WIR HI SPEED NET,SAFE,AIRCON
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCEAN,WIR HI SPEED NET,SAFE,AIRCON
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,OCNFRT,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Live entertainment
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Chili's
0.20 mile(s) from Chili's, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Cafe Beach
Cafe Beach, on premises, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, "Window on the Bay" Restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.5

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LLK444
Ventura, CA, USA
Dec 4, 2012

Perfect location

Courteous staff, nice & clean room, good food (breakfast) and the ultimate location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tobias smith
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Romantic getaway

Excellent choice to impress on a budget. Took my girlfriend here. Everything was spot on for a Best Western. Beach side room had really nice automatic shades that when down you could not see into room from other side but could still see the ocean. King bed was so comfy I wanted to take it home. Bar manager went out of her way to make us a great pitcher of maragarita's to take to our room. Lighting in room was a nice touch. Distance to Canery Row and downtown was not a bother at all. This was a memorable stay... I have stayed at this hotel previously and they have made some nice choices in upgrades to the rooms. Everyone was very nice and helpful, even the housekeepers!! I will certainly stay here every time I come to Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Libra95301
Business
Atwater, CA, USA
Feb 5, 2012

Beautiful View

we were very impressed by how close we were to the ocean. You could hear the sound of the ocean from our room. The view was spectacular. Very romantic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sassy77
Business
San Jose, California
Dec 29, 2011

2011 Christmas getaway

We enjoyed the christmas decor at the hotel. The restaurant was awesome. The view the food was fantastic. We will be returning for sure next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LLK444
Business
Ventura, CA, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Birthday Weekend

A very pleasant stay. The staff were all very nice, the room super clean, the location perfect. You just can't beat being right on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kittymiajojo
Business
Los Gatos, CA, USA
Nov 29, 2011

5 Stars on location

excellent location, food at restaurant was delicious beach is clean great place we will be back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CMDS
Business
SF Bay Area, CA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Extremely Noisy Room Locaton

We thought we saved a few dollars. But, it was no real savings after adding on additional charges when we checked in for the dog, the parking, etc. We were given the worst location which was very noisy and I never slept at night due to being located directly under the lobby and entrance to the lobby so all night I heard vehicles arriving at the hotel entrance, walking in heels, rolling luggage and numerous other loud noise which woke me and I could not sleep again. Yes, the location of the hotel is great but take your earPlugs with You if you take a discount :-)) We complained but were told we booked through a third party and therefore we are given the least desirable room. Never Again :-(((

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pacific Grove is not far and Le Normandie is a wonderful restaurant, Country French, Warm, inviting and delicious food. The owners and staff are sweet , the ambiance is nice and on weekends there is a lovely Jazz Band, be sure to leave them a Tip for the great music accompanying an equally great meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paws4glo
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Nov 25, 2011

A relaxing day at the beach

This hotel is a great place to stay when visiting the Monterey/Carmel areas. It is on the bay with a lovely little beach that goes all around to the Monterey wharf (3.5 mi) if you are so inclined to walk. It has a nice cafe with excellent food, but be prepared to wait as the service is extremely slow. Rooms are clean. We like the beds because each has 4 fluffy pillows and a great thick comforter. Two down sides to this hotel: You have to pay a daily fee for parking. And, we had trouble getting the room to heat up. Take a sweater and some warm sock just in case.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Staying close to your destination instead right in the heart can save you big bucks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boone29
Business
Arizona, USA
Nov 19, 2011

Awesome Sounds of the Ocean!

Last minute decision to go to Monterey after a 4 day intensive workshop near SF. Just wanted to be on the beach, which is exactly where this hotel sits. Can't get any closer to the ocean and hearing the waves crash at night is a soothing sound for me. Hotel is a little out dated, however we Americans are very spoiled to expect the lastest and greatest. Room was a bit smaller than I'd like, but I wasn't there to stay in my room! So it was ok. Most important, room was clean. Huge flatscreen tv, wireless better if you sit by the window, but it's free. Staff very friendly and helpful. I would recommend and certainly stay again should I be in the area. If you are expecting the Ritz Carlton, don't go! You'll only be disappointed. But if you just want to be near the ocean in a clean enviornment, you'll be pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Monterey Bay Aquarium is nice and I was lucky to be there on a day (Wed) that was not busy. Parking was easy on street. Garage parking is pricey. Cannery Row was nice regarding the rehab architecture (the aquarium is in an old cannery w/ a bit of historic equip & photos), but the shops were mostly the same as any beach community. Wasn't overly impressed with that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Becky S.
Business
Vader, WA, USA
Nov 17, 2011

Great place to stay!

The view was wonderful and well worth the extra cost. I think it was as good as any more expensive hotel. The location was the best! We loved it and would come back again and encourage our friends to go there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Moneray Fish House!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tony the Tiger
Business
San Francisco
Nov 15, 2011

I can't wait to go back to this hotel

I stayed here the first time last summer and enjoyed it so much I had to return last weekend. My stay was a complete success. I used my debit card when I booked it and at check in the hotel only charged a $60.00 holding fee in case I ordered room service or ate meals in their restaurant. Which I did and It was worth it. My room had an ocean view and I noticed it had a full lengh mirror in the bathroom which was a nice touch. The staff were very friendly and told me about the whales they saw the day before. It is located right at the beach and you can hear the waves pounding the shore at night. Very restful. The hotel allowed dogs and I saw a couple with their pet which was a beautiful Great Dane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I used the Gym this time but didn't make it to the pool or jacuzzi. I had dinner there and lunch the next day. For dinner try their butternut squash soup. I also had their pasta dish with chicken and sauage and marinara sauce. (And they give you a coupon when you check in for a free glass of house wine)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top