$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2014 Check-out: Sep 10, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

3 stars
2600 Sand Dunes Drive, Monterey, CA 93940-3838
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
68 reviews
I'll be back!

My friend and I cam down to this hotel located on the beach and really enjoyed ourselves. I booked... See full review

  • Tony the Tiger
  • Apr 2, 2013
Good location for exploring Monterey

Location is fantastic, but car park charges are a little steep if you're not used to daily charges. See full review

  • Steve the Spartan
  • Jun 12, 2014
Pet-friendly family fun on Del Monte Beach
The smoke-free Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey is the only hotel located directly on Del Monte Beach. Guests appreciate oceanfront views from the lobby, fourth-floor restaurant and some of the guest rooms. Explore miles of unspoiled beachfront, grab a workout in the new fitness center or drive a few short minutes to downtown Monterey and Cannery Row attractions. At Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey, choose a guest room facing the beach and ocean, lush gardens or the courtyard heated swimming pool, a popular place in summer months.
Highlights

  • The only hotel directly on Del Monte Beach
  • Heated outdoor pool and new fitness center
  • On-site restaurant with ocean views from the fourth floor
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Pet-friendly rooms available (fees apply)

Rooms
Listen to the soothing surf from ocean-view rooms at Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey. Some of the 196 nonsmoking rooms offer expansive views of Monterey Bay, while others offer a quiet retreat that overlooks the garden courtyards or outdoor pool. Bright bolster pillows, cheerful striped bedspreads and beach-inspired furnishings combine with air-conditioned comfort. Enjoy free Wi-Fi from the work desk, a coffee-maker and satellite television with in-room movies and HBO. Ask about pet-friendly rooms (fees apply) at the family-friendly Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey.
Features
The AAA 3-diamond rated Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey offers on-site parking (fees apply), just minutes from Cannery Row, Pebble Beach, 17-Mile Drive, the Monterey Bay Aquarium and Point Lobos State Natural Reserve. Take in ocean views from Cafe Beach Restaurant and Sandal's Lounge, home to an espresso bar, early evening hors d'oeuvres and live entertainment. Event facilities can host up to 700 people in meeting rooms with water views.
Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (72.9 mi/117 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (102 mi/164 km)

Attractions

  • Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Cannery Row (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (3.9 mi/6.2 km)
  • Carmel Mission Basilica (7.3 mi/11.8 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (7.4 mi/12 km)
  • Santa Cruz (40.3 mi/64.9 km)
  • San Francisco (110 mi/178 km)
  • Big Sur, Calif. (136 mi/218 km)

Business

  • Free in-room wireless Internet access
  • Business center with copy services
  • Offers 10,000 square feet of oceanfront meeting space for up to 700 guests

Policies and fees

  • There is a $17 USD parking fee per day plus an additional county tax of $1 USD per day and a $7.75 USD surcharge per day added to each room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.6108 -121.8584
Area served
San Fransisco, Pacific Grove, Pebble Beach, San Jose, Seaside, Carmel
Nearby airports
(MRY), 3.00, MI, E;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,OCEAN VIEW, NO SMOKING
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCNFRT,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNFRT,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,GARSID,WHISPD,SAFE,AIRCON
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,GARSID,WHISPD,SAFE,AIRCON
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,GARSID,WHISPD,SAFE,AIRCON
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,GARSID,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,GARSID,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,GARSID,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANV,2NDFLR,UPGFUR,REFRIG
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCEANV,2NDFLR,UPGFUR,REFRIG
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NO SMOKING,GARDEN VIEW,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,PET ROOM, NO SMOKING
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEAN,WIR HI SPEED NET,SAFE,AIRCON
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,OCEAN,WIR HI SPEED NET,SAFE,AIRCON
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCEAN,WIR HI SPEED NET,SAFE,AIRCON
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,OCNFRT,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Live entertainment
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Chili's
0.20 mile(s) from Chili's, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Cafe Beach
Cafe Beach, on premises, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, "Window on the Bay" Restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.5

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bruce K
Berkeley, CA
Oct 6, 2012

Great Honeymoon

This hotel is right on the beach. It couldn't be built today because of coastal access requirements. The views of Monterey are fantastic. the Gulls, terns and pelicans are fantastic. The food in the restaurant is tasty and functional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Passionfish in Pacific Grove for a creative dining experience.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shelly shell
Petaluma
May 13, 2012

great location

I was in and out but the bed was comfy and the view is gorgous. I recommend staying here to avoid the overcrowdedness of downtown Monterrey. The resturaunt staff was excellent as was the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go visit Carmel by the Sea

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thegirls
Cincinnati, OH
Apr 23, 2012

Family Dream Vacation

Beautiful location. View was spectacular. Room was dated but clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Attractions were within a easy drive.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ValleyLocal
Merced, CA
Apr 9, 2012

Just OK, but we'll stay again

The location of this hotel directly on the beach provides another dimension to a stay in the Montery area. The beach area was inviting for walks and uncrowded, but our stay was not during a busy time of the year. The room was small but adequate and was clean. The beds offered average comfort at best but were adequate for single night stay. I expect that they might become tedious during a longer visit. We were a little disappointed at the lack of coffee service or anything similar in the lobby area. There were some cookies presented, but we eventually went to a local Starbucks for coffee after our cookies. (There IS a coffee maker in the rooms) All-in-all, we will likely stay again if we can get a favorable room rate because of the beach location and proximity to other Monterey attractions (Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row, Aquarium). Note that property is in Seaside, but only a few miles from Fisherman's Wharf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
invisible Rabbit
New York State
Apr 9, 2012

West coast stat

The hotel was easy to find and the staff was very helpful on check-in. The room was somewhat small, but clean. The restaurant was good and the hotel was close to other venues. The beach front location made this hotel a wonderful location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Big Daddy
Santa Cruz, CA, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Ocean view

My wife and I will return again and again. Best western Plus beach resort, monterey CA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Once you are there, you feel no need to go anywhere else.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunrun
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Mar 5, 2012

A Beautiful Sunset You and the Ocean

Never sleep better with the ocean waves cresting outside the door. A wonderful view of the bay. An open airy place that makes feel like you are gliding along with view everywhere. Staff gave us our room upon our early arrival which gave us time to rest and go sight seeing. The nicest part is the bike path to downtown next door to the hotel. A bike path separate from the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Toosties for Breakfast - local place

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tobias smith
San Francisco, CA, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Romantic getaway

Excellent choice to impress on a budget. Took my girlfriend here. Everything was spot on for a Best Western. Beach side room had really nice automatic shades that when down you could not see into room from other side but could still see the ocean. King bed was so comfy I wanted to take it home. Bar manager went out of her way to make us a great pitcher of maragarita's to take to our room. Lighting in room was a nice touch. Distance to Canery Row and downtown was not a bother at all. This was a memorable stay... I have stayed at this hotel previously and they have made some nice choices in upgrades to the rooms. Everyone was very nice and helpful, even the housekeepers!! I will certainly stay here every time I come to Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Libra95301
Atwater, CA, USA
Feb 5, 2012

Beautiful View

we were very impressed by how close we were to the ocean. You could hear the sound of the ocean from our room. The view was spectacular. Very romantic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sassy77
San Jose, California
Dec 29, 2011

2011 Christmas getaway

We enjoyed the christmas decor at the hotel. The restaurant was awesome. The view the food was fantastic. We will be returning for sure next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search