$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

3 stars
2600 Sand Dunes Drive, Monterey, CA 93940-3838
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
91 reviews
I'll be back!

My friend and I cam down to this hotel located on the beach and really enjoyed ourselves. I booked... See full review

  • Tony the Tiger
  • Apr 2, 2013
Good location for exploring Monterey

Location is fantastic, but car park charges are a little steep if you're not used to daily charges. See full review

  • Steve the Spartan
  • Jun 12, 2014
Pet-friendly family fun on Del Monte Beach
The smoke-free Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey is the only hotel located directly on Del Monte Beach. Guests appreciate oceanfront views from the lobby, fourth-floor restaurant and some of the guest rooms. Explore miles of unspoiled beachfront, grab a workout in the new fitness center or drive a few short minutes to downtown Monterey and Cannery Row attractions. At Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey, choose a guest room facing the beach and ocean, lush gardens or the courtyard heated swimming pool, a popular place in summer months.
Highlights

  • The only hotel directly on Del Monte Beach
  • Heated outdoor pool and new fitness center
  • On-site restaurant with ocean views from the fourth floor
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Pet-friendly rooms available (fees apply)

Rooms
Listen to the soothing surf from ocean-view rooms at Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey. Some of the 196 nonsmoking rooms offer expansive views of Monterey Bay, while others offer a quiet retreat that overlooks the garden courtyards or outdoor pool. Bright bolster pillows, cheerful striped bedspreads and beach-inspired furnishings combine with air-conditioned comfort. Enjoy free Wi-Fi from the work desk, a coffee-maker and satellite television with in-room movies and HBO. Ask about pet-friendly rooms (fees apply) at the family-friendly Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey.
Features
The AAA 3-diamond rated Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey offers on-site parking (fees apply), just minutes from Cannery Row, Pebble Beach, 17-Mile Drive, the Monterey Bay Aquarium and Point Lobos State Natural Reserve. Take in ocean views from Cafe Beach Restaurant and Sandal's Lounge, home to an espresso bar, early evening hors d'oeuvres and live entertainment. Event facilities can host up to 700 people in meeting rooms with water views.
Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (72.9 mi/117 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (102 mi/164 km)

Attractions

  • Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Cannery Row (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (3.9 mi/6.2 km)
  • Carmel Mission Basilica (7.3 mi/11.8 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (7.4 mi/12 km)
  • Santa Cruz (40.3 mi/64.9 km)
  • San Francisco (110 mi/178 km)
  • Big Sur, Calif. (136 mi/218 km)

Business

  • Free in-room wireless Internet access
  • Business center with copy services
  • Offers 10,000 square feet of oceanfront meeting space for up to 700 guests

Policies and fees

  • There is a $17 USD parking fee per day plus an additional county tax of $1 USD per day and a $7.75 USD surcharge per day added to each room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.6108 -121.8584
Area served
San Fransisco, Pacific Grove, Pebble Beach, San Jose, Seaside, Carmel
Nearby airports
(MRY), 3.00, MI, E;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,OCEAN VIEW, NO SMOKING
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCNFRT,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNFRT,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,GARSID,WHISPD,SAFE,AIRCON
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,GARSID,WHISPD,SAFE,AIRCON
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,GARSID,WHISPD,SAFE,AIRCON
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,GARSID,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,GARSID,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,GARSID,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANV,2NDFLR,UPGFUR,REFRIG
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCEANV,2NDFLR,UPGFUR,REFRIG
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NO SMOKING,GARDEN VIEW,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,PET ROOM, NO SMOKING
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEAN,WIR HI SPEED NET,SAFE,AIRCON
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,OCEAN,WIR HI SPEED NET,SAFE,AIRCON
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCEAN,WIR HI SPEED NET,SAFE,AIRCON
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,OCNFRT,PETFRD,WHISPD,SAFE

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Live entertainment
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Chili's
0.20 mile(s) from Chili's, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Cafe Beach
Cafe Beach, on premises, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, "Window on the Bay" Restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (91)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.5

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lilia z
modesto,ca.
Sep 11, 2013

KEEP SHOES ON!!!

the location is good, and thats about it. the carpet is VERY dirty. i took a shower and by the time i put my socks on with some lotion, the lotion looked like mud!!! went to front desk said they would take care of it. left for the day, came back and nothing. no clean towels and the bed not made and no clean carpet. i understand that its by the beach and expect sand in the room, but filthy carpets,NOT. kept sandels on at all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NewDiversion
San Ramon, CA
Jul 18, 2013

Great location, right on the beach!

I always stay at this hotel when I'm in Monterey. It's right on the beach and you can hear the waves from your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gee G
Sacramento, CA
Jul 17, 2013

Beach Vacation

The hotel was great. We loved the location and had a wonderful time. However, Orbiitz should had disclosed that there was a $17.00 dollar a day charge for parking. That was an unwelcomed surprise when checking in. Also, it would have been nice to have a mirowave in our room. We will visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You must visit the Monterey Aquarium.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cookie Guy
Santa Monica, California
Jul 8, 2013

Back To The Beach

The hotel is certainly a relaxing place to stay right on the beach. The lobby is stocked with comfortable chairs and tables for enjoying the surf outside. The room was outstanding, very clean, and, again, comfortable. The bar-b-cue on the first level was a welcome addition (no matter what the desk clerks tell you, it is not free in any way). If booking through the internet, be aware that there is a $14,00 a day parking charge payable on check-out ($68.00 for a 4-day stay). This is not valet parking, so you still have to walk back to the hotel after parking your car. We had the misfortune of having a room near what I assume was the male side of a wedding party. They talked loudly from 12:00 to 2:00 A.M. Then to round out the experience, one of their friends showed up around 4:00 AM to vomit repeatedly until just before dawn. That's the breaks. We've stayed here before and this is the first time this has happened. The hotel restaurant is conveniently located on the fourth floor, with better than average hotel food (at least for breakfast and lunch (never went there for dinner). The hotel is still in the midst of renovations and upgrades but this should not inconvenience guests too much. All said, we probably will go back someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a very good Starbucks about five minutes away (behind STAPLES) if the free morning coffee at the hotel isn't enough).

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travels With Kids
Placerville, CA 95667
Jun 26, 2013

Perfect Location

The location of this Best Western is perfect! It sits right on the beach, and the beach is extremely family friendly. The outside of the resort is shabby looking and greatly in need of a facelift and some structural repairs. We ate good meals at the onsite restaurant. However, despite flyers placed around the hotel advertising coffee, lattes, espressos, sweet rolls and smoothies in the morning, this amenity is not available during the summer!? We stayed two nights, and the purpose of the trip was to take the grandchildren to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, which took up most of one day. The grandchildren, however, (ages 8 and 3) got the most delight out of running along the beach and in the surf collecting seashells and rocks! The rooms, while clean and comfortable, had a strong smell of cleaning fluids and were decorated to a minimum. The first room we were assigned we were eventually moved from because of a loud clanging, hacksawing sound coming from the bathroom fan. The second room was right by the pool, a noisy spot until the pool shuts down at 9 p.m. In the middle of the night on the second night, when we got up to use the restroom, we discovered our room was flooded, caused by a broken water pipe on the floor above us. The General Manager graciously refunded us for the second night's stay. Would we stay here again? Debatable, because while we felt it was priced way too high for the condition of the property, the location was delightful, as was every staff person with whom we had contact.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Coco's was a great spot for multi-generational dining, as everyone could chose what they wanted, and the food was consistently good. In fact, several of us had the best grilled salmon there, seasoned and cooked to perfection!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yes I need to park
sacramento
May 13, 2013

Parking surcharge not disclosed

There is an additional $17 per night parking charge which was NOT well-disclosed on the reservation for this property. If parking is an extra charge - at a hotel with no other option - the reservation should disclose that fee up-front and in a prominent location. We travel a lot, we use various booking sites a lot, and we travel to Monterey Country often. As I told the front desk at this property - when she refused to waive this parking fee -- we will not return to this property. And we will prefer other booking sites that disclose all fees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tony the Tiger
San Francisco
Apr 2, 2013

I'll be back!

My friend and I cam down to this hotel located on the beach and really enjoyed ourselves. I booked the two queen bed room. But good thing I called an hour before arriving because they told me it was on the first floor Oceanview but for those with pets which I don't have and did not need. So they put me up on the second floor and gave me a $25.00 voucher for breakfast or dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Stay for dinner, lunch and breakfast - plenty of places near the hotel out on Del Monte Blvd.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LLK444
Ventura, CA, USA
Dec 4, 2012

Perfect location

Courteous staff, nice & clean room, good food (breakfast) and the ultimate location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nanci C
Battle Ground, WA
Oct 20, 2012

A good night's sleep!

Location is right on the beach, but also close to Hwy 101, but the rooms are soundproof. Beds and pillows make the stay even better than expected. Restaurant, although bit on the "spendy" side, has excellent food and staff. A place worth spending a few days at the next time we're in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bruce K
Berkeley, CA
Oct 6, 2012

Great Honeymoon

This hotel is right on the beach. It couldn't be built today because of coastal access requirements. The views of Monterey are fantastic. the Gulls, terns and pelicans are fantastic. The food in the restaurant is tasty and functional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Passionfish in Pacific Grove for a creative dining experience.

Back to menu Return to top