$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

2 stars
1150 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
105 reviews
Excellent

Everything was excellent. I ended up booking the room twice but the man at the front desk was more... See full review

  • Magoo's
  • Jun 26, 2014
Good value for a short stay

Got in late (past midnight) and checked in within a couple minutes. Very easy. Breakfast is... See full review

  • UCLA Bruin Clipper Hater
  • May 13, 2014
Economy hotel offers free continental breakfast and a great location

The Americas Best Value Presidents Inn offers budget accommodation in a great location on Munras Avenue, with quick, convenient access to the area's top attractions. Monterey Bay Aquarium - widely considered one of the best in the United States - is two miles from the hotel. Additional nearby attractions include Monterey State Historic Park, the Del Monte Shopping Center, the Presidio of Monterey and Monterey Museum of Art. Take advantage of free continental breakfast and a seasonal outdoor pool at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Less than a mile from the beach
  • Free on-site parking accommodates large vehicles
  • Seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub
Rooms

Guest rooms at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn feature free Wi-Fi Internet access, a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and cable TV. A side table and chairs are perfect for dining or getting work done. Some rooms include a balcony or patio. Choose from one king or two queen-sized beds.

Features

Take advantage of free continental breakfast at the Americas Best Value Presidents Inn, served in a dining room that features a fireplace and wall-mounted TV. A seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub are surrounded by a sun deck with lounge and patio seating. In the evening, warm up by the fire in the Americas Best Value Presidents Inn lobby.

Dining

Free breakfast at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn gets guests going for a full day of sightseeing or business meetings. When it's time for lunch and dinner, Monterey won't disappoint - fresh, farm-to-table cuisine, always-popular chain restaurants and rich international flavors are all nearby. To get started, try the tapas dinner menu at Spanish-inspired Estéban, just down the street.

Transportation
  • Highway 1 (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.9 mi/86.8 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey State Historic Park (Across the street)
  • Monterey Peninsula College (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Monterey History & Maritime Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Monterey County Fairgrounds (2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
Business
  • Lobby business center
  • Two meeting rooms
  • Less than a mile from the Monterey Conference Center
Policies and fees
Heated pool is temporarily closed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras Rooms

1 King Bed Non-Smoking
1 King Bed-NonSmoking-Free WiFi-Microwave- MiniFridge-Coffeemaker-Hairdryer-40 Inch Flat
2 Queen Beds Non-Smoking
2 Queen Beds-NonSmoking-Free WiFi-Microwave- MiniFridge-Coffeemaker-Hairdryer-40 Inch Flat
1 King Bed Suite NS
1 King Bed-Suite-Kitchenette-Sofa Bed- NonSmoking-Free WiFi-Microwave-MiniFridge-

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Copy service
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire place
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.5897 -121.8971
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 108.00, MI, S; Monterey Peninsula Airport, (MRY), 5.10, MI, W; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 73.80, MI, S; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 107.00, MI, S;
Area description
Resort

Dining

Jack in the Box Burgers
0.3 mi.
Subway
0.8 mi.
Lalla Grill
0.8 mi.
Full Moon Mandarin Cuisine
1 mi.
Crystal Fish
2 mi.
Islands Fine Burgers and Grill
0.5 mi.
Great Wall Chinese Restaurant
0.5 mi.
Taco Bell
1.2 mi.
Ambrosia Indian Cuisine
0.6 mi.
Pizza My Heart
0.7 mi.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (105)

Ratings and reviews for Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 105
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
coldwintersun
California, USA
Dec 31, 2013

Nothing fancy but doable!

The hotel itself may not look like much I really enjoyed our stay, mostly due to the private balcony that overlooked the woody park across the street. We could even see the bay from our balcony. The bed wasn't that comfortable and the decor was outdated but it had an awesome TV and DirectTv, which unfortunately got 90% infomercials. If you're only staying for a few nights and are on a budget, want something close to shopping (there's a great shopping center two blocks away) and within a few minutes of Cannery Row & Fisherman's Wharf, this is a good spot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Sarita's on Soledad. Get tacos with shredded beef. SO GOOD.

Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Army mom and siblings
Shelby Twp, Michigan
Sep 3, 2013

Visit with Army Son/Brother

The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The location was perfect as we had close access to everything we wanted to see and do. The room was quite spacious and comfortable except we couldn't seem to get the heat turned off so it was warm. I forgot to mention this to the managers (room 122) due to being so busy rushing around to fit everything in. The pool was great! I would definitely stay there again! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wutsthis
show low, az
Mar 25, 2013

you get what you pay for

this place was adequate at best. ice machine didn't work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anoo
woodland hills CA
Nov 30, 2012

Nice Stay

The hotel is location is very good with a shopping Mall and many restuarants nearby. The room has a patio which was an added sttraction. The CA 1 and 17 mile drive Gate way is just a few minutes away. Everything was really good about the hotel except the Blanket which had some old stains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Larry Just got here
El Centro, CA
Nov 26, 2012

Poor quality in the room.

It was not up to the standards of other America's Best Family inns that we have stayed at. The toilet leaked in our first room and the lamp shade was missing, the TV had poor reception. All of the electrical plugs were loose and worn and would not keep the plugs in and were not grounded, we had a hard time getting our plugs to stay in the receptacles. It was advertised as a continental breakfast and all they had was rolls, toast juice, cereal and coffee. One morning we didn't even have milk for cereal. We have stayed at other America's Best and were very pleased, this is why we chose them again. This motel was run very poorly and needed a lot of up grading, especially on the electrical end. The second room we were offered was the same and even the TV antenna just hung from the wall box with no cover attached. The furnace thermostat did not work and the electrical plugs were worse than the first room. I could go on but I think that gets my point across.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Excellent scenery and places to visit.

Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
deenart
Fresno, CA, USA
Dec 21, 2011

overview

The staff is super friendly! Hard to understand a little but great service. The rooms need a little remodeling but decent for the price. I'd come back again for that price!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
5
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
walorb
Wisconsin Rapids, WI
Dec 9, 2011

Nice Low Budget way to see Monterey

The room was very nice, clean, and had the basic ammenities. We were tired from the day of sightseeing, and just wanted to end our day with a little TV, and surf the internet for the next day. TV reception was terrible, as was the internet. Very slow, kept getting dropped. Frustrated, I decided I would use the 'guest computer' in the lobby in the morning. It didn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Leave the car at the hotel, and walk downtown. It's not too far, and then you skip the hassle and cost of parking.

Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MMike
San Francisco, CA
Nov 14, 2011

America's Best Value Inn is Monterey's Best Value

We had a great one night stay. The hotel is a bit older and of the budget variety. But, everything was clean and well maintained. The breakfast was basic, but was eagerly consumed by my boys. The room was large and clean with fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The beds were very comfortable and supportive. The pillows were in good shape, supportive but not too firm. Overall, a great value for the money we paid. They exceeded my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mere
San Jose, CA, USA
Oct 17, 2011

came to a wedding. great time.

it was very comfortable. one thing missing. no air conditioning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TOMMY TURTLE
SAN FRANCISCO,CA
Sep 26, 2011

VERY NICE MOTEL

WE LOVED THE LOCATION. IT WAS CONVENIENT TO PEBBLE BEACH, CARMEL AND THE MONTEREY FISHERMAN'S WHARF. THE POOL & HOT TUB WERE VERY NICE EXTRAS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top