$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 6, 2014 Check-out: Oct 7, 2014

Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

2 stars
1150 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
78 reviews
Excellent

Everything was excellent. I ended up booking the room twice but the man at the front desk was more... See full review

  • Magoo's
  • Jun 26, 2014
good location and affordable

The location is excellent, near the Del Monte Mall in Monterey and close enough to downtown that... See full review

  • Loner Luke
  • Sep 24, 2014
Economy hotel offers free continental breakfast and a great location

The Americas Best Value Presidents Inn offers budget accommodation in a great location on Munras Avenue, with quick, convenient access to the area's top attractions. Monterey Bay Aquarium - widely considered one of the best in the United States - is two miles from the hotel. Additional nearby attractions include Monterey State Historic Park, the Del Monte Shopping Center, the Presidio of Monterey and Monterey Museum of Art. Take advantage of free continental breakfast and a seasonal outdoor pool at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Less than a mile from the beach
  • Free on-site parking accommodates large vehicles
  • Seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub
Rooms

Guest rooms at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn feature free Wi-Fi Internet access, a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and cable TV. A side table and chairs are perfect for dining or getting work done. Some rooms include a balcony or patio. Choose from one king or two queen-sized beds.

Features

Take advantage of free continental breakfast at the Americas Best Value Presidents Inn, served in a dining room that features a fireplace and wall-mounted TV. A seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub are surrounded by a sun deck with lounge and patio seating. In the evening, warm up by the fire in the Americas Best Value Presidents Inn lobby.

Dining

Free breakfast at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn gets guests going for a full day of sightseeing or business meetings. When it's time for lunch and dinner, Monterey won't disappoint - fresh, farm-to-table cuisine, always-popular chain restaurants and rich international flavors are all nearby. To get started, try the tapas dinner menu at Spanish-inspired Estéban, just down the street.

Transportation
  • Highway 1 (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.9 mi/86.8 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey State Historic Park (Across the street)
  • Monterey Peninsula College (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Monterey History & Maritime Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Monterey County Fairgrounds (2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
Business
  • Lobby business center
  • Two meeting rooms
  • Less than a mile from the Monterey Conference Center
Policies and fees
Heated pool is temporarily closed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.5897 -121.8971
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 108.00, MI, S; Monterey Peninsula Airport, (MRY), 5.10, MI, W; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 73.80, MI, S; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 107.00, MI, S;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras Rooms

1 King Bed Non-Smoking
1 King Bed-NonSmoking-Free WiFi-Microwave- MiniFridge-Coffeemaker-Hairdryer-40 Inch Flat
2 Queen Beds Non-Smoking
2 Queen Beds-NonSmoking-Free WiFi-Microwave- MiniFridge-Coffeemaker-Hairdryer-40 Inch Flat
1 King Bed Suite NS
1 King Bed-Suite-Kitchenette-Sofa Bed- NonSmoking-Free WiFi-Microwave-MiniFridge-

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Copy service
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire place
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Jack in the Box Burgers
0.3 mi.
Subway
0.8 mi.
Lalla Grill
0.8 mi.
Full Moon Mandarin Cuisine
1 mi.
Crystal Fish
2 mi.
Islands Fine Burgers and Grill
0.5 mi.
Great Wall Chinese Restaurant
0.5 mi.
Taco Bell
1.2 mi.
Ambrosia Indian Cuisine
0.6 mi.
Pizza My Heart
0.7 mi.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 78
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.2

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ZHJOT
north county
Jul 16, 2014

Pass this place

Hair still in the tub (not from us), hot tub green water, half used shampoo bottle, heater did not work, hot water was absent, hair dryer didn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JEF from Brussels
Brussels, Belgium
Jul 16, 2014

Monteray to stay

A good place to stay for à small price. Easy to find, nice staff, easy parking and a good room for an overnight stay. Just what we were looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Monterey pier at the fishermans warf and try the restaurant at the end of the pier. Great view, good food and affrdable price. They opend 3 weeks ago and service is not yet perfect but I trust it will be for you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Magoo's
Irish
Jun 26, 2014

Excellent

Everything was excellent. I ended up booking the room twice but the man at the front desk was more than helpful to us. Brilliant value for money, lovely pool, room very spacious and clean. Overall a very good experience. Would highly recommend this hotel and very close to downtown monteray. 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UCLA Bruin Clipper Hater
Los Angeles, CA
May 13, 2014

Good value for a short stay

Got in late (past midnight) and checked in within a couple minutes. Very easy. Breakfast is minimal with some coffee, cereal, and a waffle maker. There were also some hard boiled eggs. Location was good, close to everything. Would stay again because it's so cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Road Tripper
Lexington, Ky
May 3, 2014

Great experience!

The front desk staff were extremely better. My boyfriend and I kept commenting to each other how great they were. Complimentary breakfast is small but they do have a waffle maker that makes a real waffle, not those weird pancake things that roll an ugly pancake out of the side of a machine. Room was very clean, smelled like lemons after they were done with the bathroom! The curtain had a few holes in it, not that you could see out of but some sunlight got in. This was not an issue at all for us, everything else was great and the bed was so comfy! They have a large pool and a hot tub as well! I would suggest to anyway and would stay again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There's a shopping mall/center about a 3 minute drive from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenny San Jose
San Jose
Mar 24, 2014

Not fancy, but affordable

You pay for what you get. Not a fancy place. The walls look old. The heater smelled dusty, so we turned it off. Bathroom is roomy. For the price that we paid, we thought it was reasonable. Not a 5 stars hotel, but good enough to sleep overnight and spend the day outside. I like the small balcony area with chairs to enjoy the sunlight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JMZSR
Montery ,calif.
Feb 17, 2014

nice location

Its was very nice and clean. will come back. The price was a little expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GDkid
Worcester, MA
Mar 26, 2013

good value

On Munras Ave, there is numerous inns. However, I thought this location and price is worth. Comfortable and safety stay in there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scott n Margie
Costa Mesa, CA
Nov 29, 2012

You Get What You Pay For!

This "inn" is your basic Munras Avenue motel. The rooms are large and relatively clean. The towels were better than average and the continental breakfast was typical. We did have broken floor tiles in the bathroom that we reported to management. Don't expect to spend much time in the room if you like watching TV. They provide very few channels not even ABC or the Golf Channel in one of the golf oriented destinations in America. Any positive recommendation would be completely dependent on the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best sandwichs in the State of California are made in Monterey at Campanos. This is a local treasure frequented by the military and area residents. It should be on any list of must stops for lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakland, California
Oct 30, 2012

Not Bad for Budget

Keep in mind it's a budget motel & I think you'll be pleased with what you get. There's some street noise during the day but the location is really convenient if you plan to be downtown or at the wharf much (as opposed to staying on Fremont across the freeway). For a cheap motel the room was plenty clean & comfortable, and it had some of those little extras that are often missing (shampoo, lotion, coffee maker, blow dryer, microwave & mini fridge). I didn't bring a suit, but the pool & hot tub looked really nice. The only downside (and if you aren't a smoker it won't matter) is that you can't smoke even outside the room door or in the parking lot - you have to go out to the street to smoke. The price was right, though, and it was perfectly fine for what I expect for that price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Alvarado street is really close by (which is where all the bars are), so you can use the money you save on the room toward a cab ride back to your room at the end of the night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top