$125 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

2 stars
1150 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
108 reviews
Excellent

Everything was excellent. I ended up booking the room twice but the man at the front desk was more... See full review

  • Magoo's
  • Jun 26, 2014
Nice room, nice view, nice location

The room is nice, but the bathroom doesn't feel private because the window is almost transparent... See full review

  • Loner Luke
  • Jul 18, 2014
Economy hotel offers free continental breakfast and a great location

The Americas Best Value Presidents Inn offers budget accommodation in a great location on Munras Avenue, with quick, convenient access to the area's top attractions. Monterey Bay Aquarium - widely considered one of the best in the United States - is two miles from the hotel. Additional nearby attractions include Monterey State Historic Park, the Del Monte Shopping Center, the Presidio of Monterey and Monterey Museum of Art. Take advantage of free continental breakfast and a seasonal outdoor pool at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Less than a mile from the beach
  • Free on-site parking accommodates large vehicles
  • Seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub
Rooms

Guest rooms at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn feature free Wi-Fi Internet access, a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and cable TV. A side table and chairs are perfect for dining or getting work done. Some rooms include a balcony or patio. Choose from one king or two queen-sized beds.

Features

Take advantage of free continental breakfast at the Americas Best Value Presidents Inn, served in a dining room that features a fireplace and wall-mounted TV. A seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub are surrounded by a sun deck with lounge and patio seating. In the evening, warm up by the fire in the Americas Best Value Presidents Inn lobby.

Dining

Free breakfast at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn gets guests going for a full day of sightseeing or business meetings. When it's time for lunch and dinner, Monterey won't disappoint - fresh, farm-to-table cuisine, always-popular chain restaurants and rich international flavors are all nearby. To get started, try the tapas dinner menu at Spanish-inspired Estéban, just down the street.

Transportation
  • Highway 1 (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.9 mi/86.8 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey State Historic Park (Across the street)
  • Monterey Peninsula College (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Monterey History & Maritime Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Monterey County Fairgrounds (2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
Business
  • Lobby business center
  • Two meeting rooms
  • Less than a mile from the Monterey Conference Center
Policies and fees
Heated pool is temporarily closed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.5897 -121.8971
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 108.00, MI, S; Monterey Peninsula Airport, (MRY), 5.10, MI, W; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 73.80, MI, S; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 107.00, MI, S;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras Rooms

1 King Bed Non-Smoking
1 King Bed-NonSmoking-Free WiFi-Microwave- MiniFridge-Coffeemaker-Hairdryer-40 Inch Flat
2 Queen Beds Non-Smoking
2 Queen Beds-NonSmoking-Free WiFi-Microwave- MiniFridge-Coffeemaker-Hairdryer-40 Inch Flat
1 King Bed Suite NS
1 King Bed-Suite-Kitchenette-Sofa Bed- NonSmoking-Free WiFi-Microwave-MiniFridge-

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Copy service
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire place
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Jack in the Box Burgers
0.3 mi.
Subway
0.8 mi.
Lalla Grill
0.8 mi.
Full Moon Mandarin Cuisine
1 mi.
Crystal Fish
2 mi.
Islands Fine Burgers and Grill
0.5 mi.
Great Wall Chinese Restaurant
0.5 mi.
Taco Bell
1.2 mi.
Ambrosia Indian Cuisine
0.6 mi.
Pizza My Heart
0.7 mi.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (108)

Ratings and reviews for Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 108
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fresno,Ca
Jun 27, 2010

You could get better for the price!

Was close to cannery row, wharf,and aquarium.We enjoyed the spa, but the pools water was nasty. If you are a smoker do not stay here. There is NO SMOKING ON THE PROPERTY AT ALL!! You have to walk out of your room and out to the street to smoke! The breakfast they offer was good.( Juice, coffee, rolls, muffins, cereal, toast, Fruit)[...]The bed was very hard!Room has micro/refridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fresno,Ca
Jun 27, 2010

You could get better for the price!

Was close to cannery row, wharf,and aquarium.We enjoyed the spa, but the pools water was nasty. If you are a smoker do not stay here. There is NO SMOKING ON THE PROPERTY AT ALL!! You have to walk out of your room and out to the street to smoke! The breakfast they offer was good.( Juice, coffee, rolls, muffins, cereal, toast, Fruit)[...]The bed was very hard!Room has micro/refridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelKat
Southern California
May 25, 2010

I want to hear...."no problem..."

The location of this hotel is close to downtown attractions and a great shopping mall up the hill on the same street! However, I was unable to park my car after I returned to the hotel after a late dinner. Parking is very limited and squashed in between trees, a carport and a one way alleyway around the hotel site. The bathroom had a granite countertop, but the tub, window, fan/heater, and floor were in poor repair and should have been upgraded or replaced. Noises from other bathrooms were very loud, especially when the shower was running in other rooms. The room heater was efficient but very old style. An old ironing board was in the wardrobe style closet but there was NO IRON in sight. I called the office in the morning to ask for the iron...and I got an answering machine instead of a live person. When I called the second number listed on the phone hanging outside of the office...the same guy that checked me into my room told me that the deskclerk wouldn't be there until 8:00 a.m. I was out of luck and went to the graduation in suitcase wrinkled clothes. On my way out of the driveway...I saw the same guy that checked me into my room unlocking the door to start his day. He WAS the deskclerk. The room itself was clean but the furniture was laminated wood and too much of it was crammed in the room along with an upright oscillating fan, a small table, two chairs, an entertainment center, refrigerator, and freestanding closet wardrobe. I think they could have laid out the furniture a little better. Everything would have been just fine if he had just gone out of his way to bring me an iron...or apologize that it wasn't in the room...but I didn't hear anything like that. I probably won't be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you stay here....go up the hill to the Del Monte shopping plaza and eat a nice dinner and have a Starbucks!

Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelKat
Southern California
May 25, 2010

I want to hear...."no problem..."

The location of this hotel is close to downtown attractions and a great shopping mall up the hill on the same street! However, I was unable to park my car after I returned to the hotel after a late dinner. Parking is very limited and squashed in between trees, a carport and a one way alleyway around the hotel site. The bathroom had a granite countertop, but the tub, window, fan/heater, and floor were in poor repair and should have been upgraded or replaced. Noises from other bathrooms were very loud, especially when the shower was running in other rooms. The room heater was efficient but very old style. An old ironing board was in the wardrobe style closet but there was NO IRON in sight. I called the office in the morning to ask for the iron...and I got an answering machine instead of a live person. When I called the second number listed on the phone hanging outside of the office...the same guy that checked me into my room told me that the deskclerk wouldn't be there until 8:00 a.m. I was out of luck and went to the graduation in suitcase wrinkled clothes. On my way out of the driveway...I saw the same guy that checked me into my room unlocking the door to start his day. He WAS the deskclerk. The room itself was clean but the furniture was laminated wood and too much of it was crammed in the room along with an upright oscillating fan, a small table, two chairs, an entertainment center, refrigerator, and freestanding closet wardrobe. I think they could have laid out the furniture a little better. Everything would have been just fine if he had just gone out of his way to bring me an iron...or apologize that it wasn't in the room...but I didn't hear anything like that. I probably won't be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you stay here....go up the hill to the Del Monte shopping plaza and eat a nice dinner and have a Starbucks!

Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Monterey, CA
May 18, 2010

Americas Best Value Cypress Garden Inn

BAD!!!!! My child cried and begged me not to stay there. Locks on doors broke and wouldnt lock, heater in room when turned on put strong smelling fumes into the entire room, staff didn't seem to care, cracks in the front door, property is dark, creepy and dead looking..... I demanded my money back. I had to pay one night which was worth getting out of that dump. Went to the Clarion down the street that was INCREDIBLE for close to the same price as Cypress. DO NOT STAY AT CYPRESS!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Monterey, CA
May 18, 2010

Americas Best Value Cypress Garden Inn

BAD!!!!! My child cried and begged me not to stay there. Locks on doors broke and wouldnt lock, heater in room when turned on put strong smelling fumes into the entire room, staff didn't seem to care, cracks in the front door, property is dark, creepy and dead looking..... I demanded my money back. I had to pay one night which was worth getting out of that dump. Went to the Clarion down the street that was INCREDIBLE for close to the same price as Cypress. DO NOT STAY AT CYPRESS!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wimmy
Claremont, CA
May 17, 2010

America Best Value Cypress Garden Inn

The hotel staff at check-in was nice and trying to be helpful with the tourist attractions. We found the hotel interior and decoration was cute but with low maintenance. Our room's heater was not in good condition. We had to ask a staff to come to make it work for us. Also there might be a lack of staff because we met only one guy from night until morning. The breakfast was also not that good comparing to other same-rate hotels we've been with along the whole journey (We traveled from Seattle to LA, stopped at major tourist attractions along the way, and changed hotels every nights). We tried to ask the staff to check on the orange juice making machine which produced only diluted orange juice. But he was so busy because he had to run in and out between breakfast room and hotel reception. So we just left with no help on that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wimmy
Claremont, CA
May 17, 2010

America Best Value Cypress Garden Inn

The hotel staff at check-in was nice and trying to be helpful with the tourist attractions. We found the hotel interior and decoration was cute but with low maintenance. Our room's heater was not in good condition. We had to ask a staff to come to make it work for us. Also there might be a lack of staff because we met only one guy from night until morning. The breakfast was also not that good comparing to other same-rate hotels we've been with along the whole journey (We traveled from Seattle to LA, stopped at major tourist attractions along the way, and changed hotels every nights). We tried to ask the staff to check on the orange juice making machine which produced only diluted orange juice. But he was so busy because he had to run in and out between breakfast room and hotel reception. So we just left with no help on that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
H the HVAC Guy
Hawthorne, ca
Apr 19, 2010

A Nice Cozy place

The staff was very nice. The rooms were clean and it is located in a great location. It is close to a shopping center with a variety of places to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
H the HVAC Guy
Hawthorne, ca
Apr 19, 2010

A Nice Cozy place

The staff was very nice. The rooms were clean and it is located in a great location. It is close to a shopping center with a variety of places to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top