$65 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

2 stars
View map of 1150 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nj
Aug 28, 2010

cypress

I was very disappointed in this hotel. There were ants in bathroom TV did not work.Fan in room with no cover.Hot tub not functioning.. Manager was rude when I went to talk to him about issues. Told me if I wanted perfection I should stay in 5 star hotel.I got what I paid for

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

small breakfast and lunch place called Kathy's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nj
Aug 28, 2010

cypress

I was very disappointed in this hotel. There were ants in bathroom TV did not work.Fan in room with no cover.Hot tub not functioning.. Manager was rude when I went to talk to him about issues. Told me if I wanted perfection I should stay in 5 star hotel.I got what I paid for

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

small breakfast and lunch place called Kathy's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno,Ca
Jun 27, 2010

You could get better for the price!

Was close to cannery row, wharf,and aquarium.We enjoyed the spa, but the pools water was nasty. If you are a smoker do not stay here. There is NO SMOKING ON THE PROPERTY AT ALL!! You have to walk out of your room and out to the street to smoke! The breakfast they offer was good.( Juice, coffee, rolls, muffins, cereal, toast, Fruit)[...]The bed was very hard!Room has micro/refridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelKat
Business
Southern California
May 25, 2010

I want to hear...."no problem..."

The location of this hotel is close to downtown attractions and a great shopping mall up the hill on the same street! However, I was unable to park my car after I returned to the hotel after a late dinner. Parking is very limited and squashed in between trees, a carport and a one way alleyway around the hotel site. The bathroom had a granite countertop, but the tub, window, fan/heater, and floor were in poor repair and should have been upgraded or replaced. Noises from other bathrooms were very loud, especially when the shower was running in other rooms. The room heater was efficient but very old style. An old ironing board was in the wardrobe style closet but there was NO IRON in sight. I called the office in the morning to ask for the iron...and I got an answering machine instead of a live person. When I called the second number listed on the phone hanging outside of the office...the same guy that checked me into my room told me that the deskclerk wouldn't be there until 8:00 a.m. I was out of luck and went to the graduation in suitcase wrinkled clothes. On my way out of the driveway...I saw the same guy that checked me into my room unlocking the door to start his day. He WAS the deskclerk. The room itself was clean but the furniture was laminated wood and too much of it was crammed in the room along with an upright oscillating fan, a small table, two chairs, an entertainment center, refrigerator, and freestanding closet wardrobe. I think they could have laid out the furniture a little better. Everything would have been just fine if he had just gone out of his way to bring me an iron...or apologize that it wasn't in the room...but I didn't hear anything like that. I probably won't be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you stay here....go up the hill to the Del Monte shopping plaza and eat a nice dinner and have a Starbucks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterey, CA
May 18, 2010

Americas Best Value Cypress Garden Inn

BAD!!!!! My child cried and begged me not to stay there. Locks on doors broke and wouldnt lock, heater in room when turned on put strong smelling fumes into the entire room, staff didn't seem to care, cracks in the front door, property is dark, creepy and dead looking..... I demanded my money back. I had to pay one night which was worth getting out of that dump. Went to the Clarion down the street that was INCREDIBLE for close to the same price as Cypress. DO NOT STAY AT CYPRESS!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wimmy
Business
Claremont, CA
May 17, 2010

America Best Value Cypress Garden Inn

The hotel staff at check-in was nice and trying to be helpful with the tourist attractions. We found the hotel interior and decoration was cute but with low maintenance. Our room's heater was not in good condition. We had to ask a staff to come to make it work for us. Also there might be a lack of staff because we met only one guy from night until morning. The breakfast was also not that good comparing to other same-rate hotels we've been with along the whole journey (We traveled from Seattle to LA, stopped at major tourist attractions along the way, and changed hotels every nights). We tried to ask the staff to check on the orange juice making machine which produced only diluted orange juice. But he was so busy because he had to run in and out between breakfast room and hotel reception. So we just left with no help on that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
H the HVAC Guy
Business
Hawthorne, ca
Apr 19, 2010

A Nice Cozy place

The staff was very nice. The rooms were clean and it is located in a great location. It is close to a shopping center with a variety of places to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
reno nv
Apr 16, 2010

the smoke screen

this was our 36th anniversary get away.The hotel was wonderful, the staff friendly and the location great. but upon arrival i see the 100% no smoking policy.my husband is a smoker & to keep peace i have to stay at a hotel that allows smoking.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 12, 2010

Clean but noisy

The room and bathroom were clean. The furnishings were fine. Rooms are small though, and the walls are thin so you're privy to everyone else's noise. It's on a main thoroughfare so you can't help but get street noise in the morning. The bed was very soft which, to me, is not great -- usually means it's seen better days. The TV did indeed get HBO, but not much else -- no local channels. The bathroom was actually fairly nice in terms of size and fixtures, but the shower temperature fluctuated constantly between cool and hot. The front desk staff was pleasant. All in all, for the money, it's fine. If you want more you'll have to spend more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Easy downhill 20-minute walk to downtown area and wharf. Short cab-ride back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wannatravelmore
Business
Santa Rosa Ca
Oct 19, 2009

Great Location

This place was great for the price we paid. The only real complaint I have was the the shower was messy (water went every were) and the smoke alarm kept beeping during the night. Luckily we had enough towels to clean up the water in the bathroom and the smoke alarm just needed a new battery. All in all, it was a great place to stay at for the price and the location was very close to downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top