$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

2 stars
1150 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
78 reviews
Excellent

Everything was excellent. I ended up booking the room twice but the man at the front desk was more... See full review

  • Magoo's
  • Jun 26, 2014
good location and affordable

The location is excellent, near the Del Monte Mall in Monterey and close enough to downtown that... See full review

  • Loner Luke
  • Sep 24, 2014
Economy hotel offers free continental breakfast and a great location

The Americas Best Value Presidents Inn offers budget accommodation in a great location on Munras Avenue, with quick, convenient access to the area's top attractions. Monterey Bay Aquarium - widely considered one of the best in the United States - is two miles from the hotel. Additional nearby attractions include Monterey State Historic Park, the Del Monte Shopping Center, the Presidio of Monterey and Monterey Museum of Art. Take advantage of free continental breakfast and a seasonal outdoor pool at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Less than a mile from the beach
  • Free on-site parking accommodates large vehicles
  • Seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub
Rooms

Guest rooms at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn feature free Wi-Fi Internet access, a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and cable TV. A side table and chairs are perfect for dining or getting work done. Some rooms include a balcony or patio. Choose from one king or two queen-sized beds.

Features

Take advantage of free continental breakfast at the Americas Best Value Presidents Inn, served in a dining room that features a fireplace and wall-mounted TV. A seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub are surrounded by a sun deck with lounge and patio seating. In the evening, warm up by the fire in the Americas Best Value Presidents Inn lobby.

Dining

Free breakfast at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn gets guests going for a full day of sightseeing or business meetings. When it's time for lunch and dinner, Monterey won't disappoint - fresh, farm-to-table cuisine, always-popular chain restaurants and rich international flavors are all nearby. To get started, try the tapas dinner menu at Spanish-inspired Estéban, just down the street.

Transportation
  • Highway 1 (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.9 mi/86.8 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey State Historic Park (Across the street)
  • Monterey Peninsula College (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Monterey History & Maritime Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Monterey County Fairgrounds (2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
Business
  • Lobby business center
  • Two meeting rooms
  • Less than a mile from the Monterey Conference Center
Policies and fees
Heated pool is temporarily closed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.5897 -121.8971
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 108.00, MI, S; Monterey Peninsula Airport, (MRY), 5.10, MI, W; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 73.80, MI, S; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 107.00, MI, S;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras Rooms

1 King Bed Non-Smoking
1 King Bed-NonSmoking-Free WiFi-Microwave- MiniFridge-Coffeemaker-Hairdryer-40 Inch Flat
2 Queen Beds Non-Smoking
2 Queen Beds-NonSmoking-Free WiFi-Microwave- MiniFridge-Coffeemaker-Hairdryer-40 Inch Flat
1 King Bed Suite NS
1 King Bed-Suite-Kitchenette-Sofa Bed- NonSmoking-Free WiFi-Microwave-MiniFridge-

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Copy service
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire place
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Jack in the Box Burgers
0.3 mi.
Subway
0.8 mi.
Lalla Grill
0.8 mi.
Full Moon Mandarin Cuisine
1 mi.
Crystal Fish
2 mi.
Islands Fine Burgers and Grill
0.5 mi.
Great Wall Chinese Restaurant
0.5 mi.
Taco Bell
1.2 mi.
Ambrosia Indian Cuisine
0.6 mi.
Pizza My Heart
0.7 mi.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Apr 12, 2010

Clean but noisy

The room and bathroom were clean. The furnishings were fine. Rooms are small though, and the walls are thin so you're privy to everyone else's noise. It's on a main thoroughfare so you can't help but get street noise in the morning. The bed was very soft which, to me, is not great -- usually means it's seen better days. The TV did indeed get HBO, but not much else -- no local channels. The bathroom was actually fairly nice in terms of size and fixtures, but the shower temperature fluctuated constantly between cool and hot. The front desk staff was pleasant. All in all, for the money, it's fine. If you want more you'll have to spend more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Easy downhill 20-minute walk to downtown area and wharf. Short cab-ride back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wannatravelmore
Santa Rosa Ca
Oct 19, 2009

Great Location

This place was great for the price we paid. The only real complaint I have was the the shower was messy (water went every were) and the smoke alarm kept beeping during the night. Luckily we had enough towels to clean up the water in the bathroom and the smoke alarm just needed a new battery. All in all, it was a great place to stay at for the price and the location was very close to downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco
Oct 11, 2009

Get what you pay for.

This was a convenient location and a low price, but such a strong cleaning agent smell that was difficult to air out of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

15 minute walk to downtown Monterey with lots of dinning and nightlife options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sierra Vista, AZ
Jul 22, 2009

good location for the price

I can only say good things about this hotel, staff is very friendly and helpful and the location is close to main attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 14, 2008

Beds are very uncomfortable

The bed was so uncomfortable I could not sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fresno, CA
Jul 13, 2008

Unfriendly Staff

I checked into the Cypress Garden Inn in Monterey at about 1:30 pm. The lady behind the counter pointed out to me that check in time was 3:00 pm and I was too early to check in but she would see if any rooms were ready. Next she asked me how many people were going to occupy the room and I told her two. During the check-in process she asked me that question 3 more times and each time she did she would look out the window in the direction of my car as if to see if I was sneaking a whole group of people in...mind you I am 49 years old. My party nights are long over. When I check into a hotel room it is to get some sleep. If anything more happens...well, I consider that a bonus! When I had first walked in I put on the counter my drivers license and credit card and it was sitting there right in front of me. She asked me for it and when I pointed to it on the counter in front of her she told me she needed me to pick it up and hand it to her. After she took copies and an inprint she handed them back to me and I put it away. Five minutes later she asked for them again with no explanation why. The whole check-in process appeared that she didn't trust me or want me to stay there. Overall the property was in a good location but it looked a bit under-cared for. Weeds in the planters, grass wasn't mowed, spa was out of order. My main complaint was that the staff was so unfriendly. I paid a good amount for that room. Almost anywhere but Monterey I would have paid half the price. Because I paid more I expect to get better service. It doesn't cost a hotel any more to treat a guest with courtesy and respect, especially when paying more than usual.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jan 27, 2008

Cypress Gardens

You could not use the pool and didn't want to because it was filthy dirty. The hot tub was open, but I never saw any one in it. You had to use your room key to get a cup of ice, and once you used your key in the ice machine it would lock you out of your room.The bathroom was not very clean either. After all of this planning for a special get-a-way weekend for the 2 of us we were both disappointed and left extremly early for home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The only thing close to this hotel was other hotels. It is located downtown and a few minutes from Canery row.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Sep 16, 2007

Nice grounds but nothing special

The Cypress Gardens Inn has nice enough grounds. The location is along one of the main strips for hotels in Monterey and is easily accessible. The room was decent, one of the only place I've been that the king sized bed was actually quite close to being king sized. The bathroom was old and had some rust around the towel dispensers and the sink molding was a bit groady. Not bad if you're not picky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Bring a bike, it makes the trip cheaper on parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top