$40 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

2 stars
1150 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
81 reviews
Excellent

Everything was excellent. I ended up booking the room twice but the man at the front desk was more... See full review

  • Magoo's
  • Jun 26, 2014
Big room, good location

The room I had had two beds and was quite large. The breakfast food, consisting of boiled eggs and... See full review

  • Loner Luke
  • Oct 7, 2014
Economy hotel offers free continental breakfast and a great location

The Americas Best Value Presidents Inn offers budget accommodation in a great location on Munras Avenue, with quick, convenient access to the area's top attractions. Monterey Bay Aquarium - widely considered one of the best in the United States - is two miles from the hotel. Additional nearby attractions include Monterey State Historic Park, the Del Monte Shopping Center, the Presidio of Monterey and Monterey Museum of Art. Take advantage of free continental breakfast and a seasonal outdoor pool at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Less than a mile from the beach
  • Free on-site parking accommodates large vehicles
  • Seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub
Rooms

Guest rooms at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn feature free Wi-Fi Internet access, a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and cable TV. A side table and chairs are perfect for dining or getting work done. Some rooms include a balcony or patio. Choose from one king or two queen-sized beds.

Features

Take advantage of free continental breakfast at the Americas Best Value Presidents Inn, served in a dining room that features a fireplace and wall-mounted TV. A seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub are surrounded by a sun deck with lounge and patio seating. In the evening, warm up by the fire in the Americas Best Value Presidents Inn lobby.

Dining

Free breakfast at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn gets guests going for a full day of sightseeing or business meetings. When it's time for lunch and dinner, Monterey won't disappoint - fresh, farm-to-table cuisine, always-popular chain restaurants and rich international flavors are all nearby. To get started, try the tapas dinner menu at Spanish-inspired Estéban, just down the street.

Transportation
  • Highway 1 (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.9 mi/86.8 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey State Historic Park (Across the street)
  • Monterey Peninsula College (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Monterey History & Maritime Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Monterey County Fairgrounds (2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
Business
  • Lobby business center
  • Two meeting rooms
  • Less than a mile from the Monterey Conference Center
Policies and fees
Heated pool is temporarily closed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras Rooms

1 King Bed Non-Smoking
1 King Bed-NonSmoking-Free WiFi-Microwave- MiniFridge-Coffeemaker-Hairdryer-40 Inch Flat
2 Queen Beds Non-Smoking
2 Queen Beds-NonSmoking-Free WiFi-Microwave- MiniFridge-Coffeemaker-Hairdryer-40 Inch Flat
1 King Bed Suite NS
1 King Bed-Suite-Kitchenette-Sofa Bed- NonSmoking-Free WiFi-Microwave-MiniFridge-

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Copy service
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire place
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Jack in the Box Burgers
0.3 mi.
Subway
0.8 mi.
Lalla Grill
0.8 mi.
Full Moon Mandarin Cuisine
1 mi.
Crystal Fish
2 mi.
Islands Fine Burgers and Grill
0.5 mi.
Great Wall Chinese Restaurant
0.5 mi.
Taco Bell
1.2 mi.
Ambrosia Indian Cuisine
0.6 mi.
Pizza My Heart
0.7 mi.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rima
Business
Glendale, CA, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Friends and family trip

It was great the hotel was clean and the environment was very nice we really enjoyed everything for sure we will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I sugest to everyone to stay in Americas best value inn or the inns around

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 3, 2011

Fine for the rate

Location and accomodations were as expected

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sic-one
Business
Fresno,Ca.
Jul 29, 2011

Moto GP Race Weekend

This was Moto GP race weekend. The staff was great, I had a problem with the lock on my door so I called the office and got a recording, within 3 minutes of leaving the message I had someone at my room and they fixed the problem. The rates were great compared to the other hotels I have stayed in during race weekends, I'll be back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roy, WA
May 29, 2011

Not so great

Our room was in need of repairs: screen door broken, bathroom window didn't lock, and the tub did not drain (filled 3/4 full during shower and didn't drain for next persons shower - gross) It was nice to have a fridge and microwave and the continental breakfast was okay. Lots of other hotels on this block we would try if we visited again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Liquor store 3 blocks away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Whittier, CA
May 1, 2011

Big Sur Marathon/Monterey

I was in Monterey for the Big Sur Marathon with my mum and nephew. The management accommodated my request to have a late check out on Sunday after I was done with my marathon. That was nice of them! There breakfast was a two thumbs up from my family and I. The price I paid for this establishment is awesome, especially in Monterey. I will definitely stay here again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of running routes!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boise ID
Apr 13, 2011

mr

the weather limited our outside activities so it would been nice to have had a comfortable chair in the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Street Fair every Tuesday afternoon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Don't like mice crawling on me at night
Business
Sacramento, CA
Apr 3, 2011

Overrun with MICE!

On 2 occasions mice ran over me while I was falling asleep. The second time there were 2 mice. We could hear them scratching around on the floor. The only one who slept was our 2 year old - between us. In the morning we found mice droppings on the sheets & blankets. When I told the front desk person about it the next morning he was shocked & said he had never had this problem before, however he said he had lots of mouse traps in the back room & he could have given us one of those for our room. Hmmmm. He did say he could have changed our room, however, this was already around 11pm (we had a 2 year old) and how were we to know that the other rooms weren't worse?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Monterey at Heart
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 27, 2011

Highly recommended for the price

This motel was great for the price! We came from San Francisco and just wanted a place to stay for the night so we could enjoy Monterey for an extra day. We didn't want to spend a lot, and it was difficult to find anything in the $50 range within the city of Monterey, but this worked well for us. The room had a king sized bed, a refrigerator, a microwave, cable TV (although we never used the TV), free wireless internet, free parking and free continental breakfast. The room was an eclectic mixture of "old" and "new", so don't expect everything to match nicely, but it was generally clean and everything seemed to work fine. If you are traveling with children, bring your own port-a-crib or blow-up bed if you can, because they will charge you for one (we brought our own). The lobby closes around 10:00pm so plan to check in before that if you don't want to call someone to open it up for you. There is a pool and hot tub which we didn't use, but they looked pretty clean. The staff was very friendly, and the motel wasn't very busy the night that we stayed, so they allowed us a late check out so we were able to enjoy our morning without packing up the car too soon. We walked to the aquarium (about 2.5 miles) and back and it was a nice and safe walk through downtown. Bottom line: I've paid much more for motel/hotel rooms that have offered much less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

2.5 miles to Aquarium, 1.5 (or so) miles to Fisherman's wharf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno,CA
Feb 27, 2011

Great Location, Great Price, Great Room

What a great location right across the street from the park and the mall and a very short 5min drive if that to the beach. Plenty of restaurants and shops within a mile. The room was nice, carpet clean, with all utility's working. The hotel staff was also very nice and helpful. If your looking for a nice room for you and the family you cant beat this spot and price. I always go to Monterey and plan to stay at this hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There's a mall within a mile that has lots of shops and restaurants. Everything you need is within a mile. Enjoy !!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, California
Feb 21, 2011

Americas Best Value Presidents Inn

The hotel clerks where nice and helpful. However the shower wasn't working right and the bathtub had a crack with rust coming through it. The room smelled musty and mildewy. The breakfast was very limited. The place needs a lot of work and a facelift.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of beautiful beaches and bird sanctuaries just a short distance away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top