$52 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 17, 2014

Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

2 stars
1150 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
79 reviews
Excellent

Everything was excellent. I ended up booking the room twice but the man at the front desk was more... See full review

  • Magoo's
  • Jun 26, 2014
Big room, good location

The room I had had two beds and was quite large. The breakfast food, consisting of boiled eggs and... See full review

  • Loner Luke
  • Oct 7, 2014
Economy hotel offers free continental breakfast and a great location

The Americas Best Value Presidents Inn offers budget accommodation in a great location on Munras Avenue, with quick, convenient access to the area's top attractions. Monterey Bay Aquarium - widely considered one of the best in the United States - is two miles from the hotel. Additional nearby attractions include Monterey State Historic Park, the Del Monte Shopping Center, the Presidio of Monterey and Monterey Museum of Art. Take advantage of free continental breakfast and a seasonal outdoor pool at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Less than a mile from the beach
  • Free on-site parking accommodates large vehicles
  • Seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub
Rooms

Guest rooms at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn feature free Wi-Fi Internet access, a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and cable TV. A side table and chairs are perfect for dining or getting work done. Some rooms include a balcony or patio. Choose from one king or two queen-sized beds.

Features

Take advantage of free continental breakfast at the Americas Best Value Presidents Inn, served in a dining room that features a fireplace and wall-mounted TV. A seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub are surrounded by a sun deck with lounge and patio seating. In the evening, warm up by the fire in the Americas Best Value Presidents Inn lobby.

Dining

Free breakfast at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn gets guests going for a full day of sightseeing or business meetings. When it's time for lunch and dinner, Monterey won't disappoint - fresh, farm-to-table cuisine, always-popular chain restaurants and rich international flavors are all nearby. To get started, try the tapas dinner menu at Spanish-inspired Estéban, just down the street.

Transportation
  • Highway 1 (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.9 mi/86.8 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey State Historic Park (Across the street)
  • Monterey Peninsula College (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Monterey History & Maritime Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Municipal Beach (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Monterey County Fairgrounds (2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
Business
  • Lobby business center
  • Two meeting rooms
  • Less than a mile from the Monterey Conference Center
Policies and fees
Heated pool is temporarily closed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.5897 -121.8971
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 108.00, MI, S; Monterey Peninsula Airport, (MRY), 5.10, MI, W; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 73.80, MI, S; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 107.00, MI, S;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras Rooms

1 King Bed Non-Smoking
1 King Bed-NonSmoking-Free WiFi-Microwave- MiniFridge-Coffeemaker-Hairdryer-40 Inch Flat
2 Queen Beds Non-Smoking
2 Queen Beds-NonSmoking-Free WiFi-Microwave- MiniFridge-Coffeemaker-Hairdryer-40 Inch Flat
1 King Bed Suite NS
1 King Bed-Suite-Kitchenette-Sofa Bed- NonSmoking-Free WiFi-Microwave-MiniFridge-

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Copy service
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire place
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Jack in the Box Burgers
0.3 mi.
Subway
0.8 mi.
Lalla Grill
0.8 mi.
Full Moon Mandarin Cuisine
1 mi.
Crystal Fish
2 mi.
Islands Fine Burgers and Grill
0.5 mi.
Great Wall Chinese Restaurant
0.5 mi.
Taco Bell
1.2 mi.
Ambrosia Indian Cuisine
0.6 mi.
Pizza My Heart
0.7 mi.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TeesyGirl
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Close to Cannery Row

We stayed here to be close to Cannery Row and the beach and also because of the price. Great location and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MMike
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 14, 2011

America's Best Value Inn is Monterey's Best Value

We had a great one night stay. The hotel is a bit older and of the budget variety. But, everything was clean and well maintained. The breakfast was basic, but was eagerly consumed by my boys. The room was large and clean with fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The beds were very comfortable and supportive. The pillows were in good shape, supportive but not too firm. Overall, a great value for the money we paid. They exceeded my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ROBIN J
Business
Palo Alto, CA, USA
Nov 7, 2011

Can't beat the price and location

Great 2+ Star hotel: free wifi ( I did have some trouble getting on with my laptop) but was able to connect with my iPhone. Cable TV channels: ESPN , HBO and local channels, Microwave and coffeemaker in room were nice. Small table and chairs to work at. The location was very close to my meeting in Monterey. The price was better than any around. I will call them first before searching the internet. Breakfast was continental. I had to leave at 6am before they served breakfast so they gave me some cereal the night before. Lighting in bathroom was excellent : if you ever lost something in the bottom of your suitcase you could find it here. Nice hot water shower was really hot but sprayed unevenly just like the one I have at home. Bed: fine, not lumpy, clean linens,3 pillows on King bed was perfect to lean against and watch TV Clean: toilet was paper sealed after cleaned and floor was clean. Negatives: OK it is not a 4 star hotel: the tiles on the floor in the bathroom needed repair and the ceiling border trim needed repair in the bedroom but for the price.. it did not matter to me. This is not a room to spend hours in: it looks onto a busy road but is great to sleep and run.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street from a mall with movie theaters

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mere
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Oct 17, 2011

came to a wedding. great time.

it was very comfortable. one thing missing. no air conditioning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TOMMY TURTLE
Business
SAN FRANCISCO,CA
Sep 26, 2011

VERY NICE MOTEL

WE LOVED THE LOCATION. IT WAS CONVENIENT TO PEBBLE BEACH, CARMEL AND THE MONTEREY FISHERMAN'S WHARF. THE POOL & HOT TUB WERE VERY NICE EXTRAS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
single J
Business
Brick, NJ
Sep 21, 2011

Not worth the effort

It's only ok if nothing else is around. A good location but so so rooms and a boring, typical cold breakfast. TV didn't even have all the network stations - a couple of ESPNs; no CBS; NBC with no sound; no FOX. a bad choice for a football weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MEEC
Business
Fairfield , CA
Sep 6, 2011

Not terrible but....

The Staff at check inn, could use some training in people skills, The overnight staff as well as check out time...were way better, they made us feel welcome!! I don't agree with the small cofee maker being in the bathroom.(I don't think it is sanitary) The room need some more care and better cleaning, it was confortable to stay in and the bed was clean and nice to sleep in. I enjoyed the pool and the hot tub, nice temperature on the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Runaway week end
Business
Walnut Creek, CA, USA
Aug 25, 2011

Car Show Getaway

Best location to get to downtown Monterey & Pebble Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

10 minute drive to Lugano's Restaurant in the Barn yard shopping center for the best German/Swiss food. Great Fondue. Has indoor & Outdoor seating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rima
Business
Glendale, CA, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Friends and family trip

It was great the hotel was clean and the environment was very nice we really enjoyed everything for sure we will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I sugest to everyone to stay in Americas best value inn or the inns around

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 3, 2011

Fine for the rate

Location and accomodations were as expected

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top