$235 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

Sanctuary Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of 3295 Dunes Road, Marina, CA 93933

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
60 reviews
Unexpected Gem

Love the location and the amenities. Hotel is located right on the private beach. Each room has... See full review

  • NYCtomtom
  • Jan 5, 2015
A Great Resort!

This was our first stay at Sanctuary Beach, but we hope it will not be our last! Our room was... See full review

  • Bernadine T.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Oceanfront resort provides a relaxing, secluded sanctuary

Situated on 19 acres of oceanfront property, Sanctuary Beach Resort earns praise for attentive service, fantastic views and, most of all, its secluded location with plenty of opportunities to do nothing at all. The Pacific Ocean provides the rhythmic sounds of waves against the shore. The adjacent Marina State Beach is a popular spot for surfing, kite flying and hang gliding. Marina Dunes Preserve offers gorgeous sand dunes and a protected bird and animal habitat. A restaurant and spa round out the list of amenities at Sanctuary Beach Resort.

Highlights
  • Breathtaking sunset views
  • Direct beach access
  • Private golf carts assigned to each room
  • Nature and biking trails, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi
Rooms

Guest rooms and suites at Sanctuary Beach Resort overlook the Pacific or the 170-acre Marina Dunes Preserve, a protected area with the highest dunes on the Central Coast. All rooms feature one of the best amenities at the resort -- the sounds of waves crashing against the shore.


Also included are flat-panel televisions, free Wi-Fi Internet access, iPod or MP3 docking stations, wet bars, stocked minibars, gas fireplaces, private decks or patios, and luxurious L'Occitane bath amenities. Use the binoculars provided in each room to scope out some of the 27 bird species regularly sighted at the dunes.

Features

Relaxing by the in-room fireplace and listening to the sounds of the waves might be all it takes to unwind at this secluded getaway. But for a special treat, Sanctuary Beach Resort offers in-room massages provided by The Serenity Spa (fees apply). Additional spa treatments include the nirvana massage with add-on services like the hot foaming mud treatment.

Dining

Adjacent to the Sanctuary Beach Resort, the Hawaiian-themed Kula Ranch Island Steakhouse offers fresh seafood, steaks, prime rib and a sushi bar. Enjoy lunch or dinner inside or on the outdoor patio, furnished with fire pits and heating lamps for cooler Northern California days and nights.

Transportation
  • Adjacent to Highway 1
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (8.2 mi/13.2 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (46.8 mi/75.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Dunes Open Space Preserve (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Marina State Beach (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • National Steinbeck Center (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
Business
  • Offers 1,000 square feet of on-site meeting space
  • Banquet space for 130 at Kula Ranch Island Steakhouse
Policies and fees
A pet fee of $40 USD (nontaxable) is applicable per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sanctuary Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Sanctuary Beach Resort Rooms

Ocean Front Deluxe
Premier Ocean Front Deluxe. Located on the Ocean and Beach Front with King Bed, private patio or deck with best views of the Pacific Ocean and Marina Dunes, beach access steps away, fireplace, wetbar, 32" flat screen TV, Ipod or M3 Docking station, binoculars, in room safe, complimentary WIFI access and luxurious bath amenities.
Ocean Front Junior Suite
Premier Ocean Front Jr. Suite. The best way to experience our beautiful resort featuring King Bed, sitting area with sleeper sofa, private patio or deck with best views of the Pacific Ocean and Marina Dunes, beach access steps aways, fireplace, wetbar, two 32" TV's, Ipod or M3 Docking station, in room safe, binoculars, complimentary WIFI access and luxurious bath amenities.
Partial View Deluxe
Features 1 king bed, fireplace, wet bar, mini bar, luxurious linens, safe, dunes view patio or deck, Comp Wi-Fi, iPod or MP3 docking station, hair dryer & coffee maker
Partial View Junior Suite
Featuring a King Bed with dunes and partial ocean views. Suites have sitting area with sleeper sofa, fireplace, wet bar, mini bar and safe.
Ocean View Deluxe
Features one king bed, fireplace, wet bar, mini bar, luxurious linens, safe, ocean view patio or deck, Comp Wi-Fi, iPod or MP3 docking station, hair dryer and coffee maker
Ocean View Junior Suite
Features 1 king bed, sitting area with sleeper sofa, fireplace, wet bar, mini bar, luxurious linens, safe, ocean view patio or deck, Comp Wi-Fi, iPod or MP3 docking station, hair dryer & coffee maker

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Kula Ranch Island Steakhouse
The beautifully remodeled Kula Ranch, brainchild of popular local restaurateurs Joe Loeffler (former General Manager of Baja Cantina) and Billy Quon (former owner of Bahama Billys, and current Owner of Volcano Grill in Carmel Valley) features a soothing Island feel, mixed with a little up-Country Western Maui! Executive Chef Darroll Rose (formerly of Fresh Cream Restaurant) has developed an enticing menu of Pacific Rim inspired fresh seafood, steaks, prime rib, exciting Sushi Bar creations, exotic salads and fabulous appetizers and desserts.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sanctuary Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 60
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mai C.
Business
Fremont
Dec 30, 2014

A gem right off the highway

Truly a gem right off the highway. It shares property (and pools) with a time share resort. Well appointed rooms situated a stones throw from the ocean with paths down to the beach. My family of 3 had an enjoyable stay and will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gwearytravel
Business
MN
Nov 17, 2014

a little bit of heaven

Our stay was outstanding. From the view, to the rooms to the staff, we couldn't have asked for more. The location was outside of Monterey but made up for it in its tranquility and the whales and dolphins visible from the beach. We still had shopping and restaurants close by but out of the hustle and bustle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peeling seals
Business
London
Aug 17, 2013

Special seal experience

We stayed with 2 teenagers on a slightly overcast summers day. The golf carts, fire pit, room and beach were terrific. We enjoyed the pool too. We have vegetarians in our party and the restaurant doesn't really cater for it. The staff were helpful and we had and excellent pizza delivered. During the morning walk we met a seal on the beach!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jul 11, 2011

Great Hotel

Lovely clean rooms and bathroom, great check-in. Big swimming pool and gorgeous beach. Sofa bed a little springy but nothing that couldn't be padded out for the kids. Great onsite eating place. Just watch out if you get a room on the ground floor as people in the room above can be heard walking around quite clearly but we didn't have a problem with this as they seemed to settle down for the night when we did. The kids loved the golf carts and the fire pit on the beach. Would recommend to family & friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East bay, ca
Nov 27, 2010

Room offers no dune nor ocean view

Our room ( Suite) was good size and near the pool. Also, this hotel is located nice and quiet beach which is about 10 miles north of Monterey. Contrary to its advitisment and promise, we didn't get any view of the beach nor the ocean from our room. I notified this to the front desk person, [...]. She explained to us that they realized some rooms don't have the view, so they are in the process of correcting the description of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 1, 2010

Great Locations but paper thin walls!!!

The location of the resort was great!!! Right on the sand dunes... But the room walls were paper thin... i could literally hear what my neighbors above and to the side of me were chit chatting about. I actually got a complaint for being to noisy at 9pm and I was just talking normal with my friend.. They give you a golf cart for the room so that was nice... there were no curtains in the room so it made it very bright in the morning...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Herald, ca
Apr 22, 2009

Great Get Away For The Rate I Got It For

We have stayed there 5 or 6 times before, it is a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top