$202 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Sanctuary Beach Resort

3 stars
3295 Dunes Road, Marina, CA 93933
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
47 reviews
Loved It!

Outstanding customer service from front desk staff, concierge and housekeeping services from... See full review

  • Bea's Getaway
  • Jun 1, 2014
A beautiful beach

This hotel is 10 minutes from the wharf in Monterey but seems a world away. The beach is beautiful.... See full review

  • Quill hill
  • Dec 5, 2013
Oceanfront resort provides a relaxing, secluded sanctuary

Situated on 19 acres of oceanfront property, Sanctuary Beach Resort earns praise for attentive service, fantastic views and, most of all, its secluded location with plenty of opportunities to do nothing at all. The Pacific Ocean provides the rhythmic sounds of waves against the shore. The adjacent Marina State Beach is a popular spot for surfing, kite flying and hang gliding. Marina Dunes Preserve offers gorgeous sand dunes and a protected bird and animal habitat. A restaurant and spa round out the list of amenities at Sanctuary Beach Resort.

Highlights
  • Breathtaking sunset views
  • Direct beach access
  • Private golf carts assigned to each room
  • Nature and biking trails, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi
Rooms

Guest rooms and suites at Sanctuary Beach Resort overlook the Pacific or the 170-acre Marina Dunes Preserve, a protected area with the highest dunes on the Central Coast. All rooms feature one of the best amenities at the resort -- the sounds of waves crashing against the shore.


Also included are flat-panel televisions, free Wi-Fi Internet access, iPod or MP3 docking stations, wet bars, stocked minibars, gas fireplaces, private decks or patios, and luxurious L'Occitane bath amenities. Use the binoculars provided in each room to scope out some of the 27 bird species regularly sighted at the dunes.

Features

Relaxing by the in-room fireplace and listening to the sounds of the waves might be all it takes to unwind at this secluded getaway. But for a special treat, Sanctuary Beach Resort offers in-room massages provided by The Serenity Spa (fees apply). Additional spa treatments include the nirvana massage with add-on services like the hot foaming mud treatment.

Dining

Adjacent to the Sanctuary Beach Resort, the Hawaiian-themed Kula Ranch Island Steakhouse offers fresh seafood, steaks, prime rib and a sushi bar. Enjoy lunch or dinner inside or on the outdoor patio, furnished with fire pits and heating lamps for cooler Northern California days and nights.

Transportation
  • Adjacent to Highway 1
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (8.2 mi/13.2 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (46.8 mi/75.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Dunes Open Space Preserve (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Marina State Beach (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • National Steinbeck Center (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
Business
  • Offers 1,000 square feet of on-site meeting space
  • Banquet space for 130 at Kula Ranch Island Steakhouse
Policies and fees
A pet fee of $40 USD (nontaxable) is applicable per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.7006 -121.8046
Area served
Monterey Bay
Nearby airports
(MRY), 10.00, MI; (SFO), 95.00, MI; (SJC), 54.00, MI;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sanctuary Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Sanctuary Beach Resort Rooms

Ocean Front Deluxe
Premier Ocean Front Deluxe. Located on the Ocean and Beach Front with King Bed, private patio or deck with best views of the Pacific Ocean and Marina Dunes, beach access steps away, fireplace, wetbar, 32" flat screen TV, Ipod or M3 Docking station, binoculars, in room safe, complimentary WIFI access and luxurious bath amenities.
Ocean Front Junior Suite
Premier Ocean Front Jr. Suite. The best way to experience our beautiful resort featuring King Bed, sitting area with sleeper sofa, private patio or deck with best views of the Pacific Ocean and Marina Dunes, beach access steps aways, fireplace, wetbar, two 32" TV's, Ipod or M3 Docking station, in room safe, binoculars, complimentary WIFI access and luxurious bath amenities.
Partial View Deluxe
Features 1 king bed, fireplace, wet bar, mini bar, luxurious linens, safe, dunes view patio or deck, Comp Wi-Fi, iPod or MP3 docking station, hair dryer & coffee maker
Partial View Junior Suite
Featuring a King Bed with dunes and partial ocean views. Suites have sitting area with sleeper sofa, fireplace, wet bar, mini bar and safe.
Ocean View Deluxe
Features one king bed, fireplace, wet bar, mini bar, luxurious linens, safe, ocean view patio or deck, Comp Wi-Fi, iPod or MP3 docking station, hair dryer and coffee maker
Ocean View Junior Suite
Features 1 king bed, sitting area with sleeper sofa, fireplace, wet bar, mini bar, luxurious linens, safe, ocean view patio or deck, Comp Wi-Fi, iPod or MP3 docking station, hair dryer & coffee maker

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Kula Ranch Island Steakhouse
The beautifully remodeled Kula Ranch, brainchild of popular local restaurateurs Joe Loeffler (former General Manager of Baja Cantina) and Billy Quon (former owner of Bahama Billys, and current Owner of Volcano Grill in Carmel Valley) features a soothing Island feel, mixed with a little up-Country Western Maui! Executive Chef Darroll Rose (formerly of Fresh Cream Restaurant) has developed an enticing menu of Pacific Rim inspired fresh seafood, steaks, prime rib, exciting Sushi Bar creations, exotic salads and fabulous appetizers and desserts.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Sanctuary Beach Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
guest10
monterey,ca
Aug 10, 2010

Nice getaway

This is a nice place to spend some time relaxing. My husband and I went during the week which was very likely different than it would be on a weekend. We were a little disappointed with the size of the rooms, even after switching to one of their suites, but service was good and it was a good deal. Restaurant doesn't get my thumbs up though, everything was too sweet but if you like sweet...go for it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mear
Monterey, CA, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Staycation

My Husband and I live about 20 minutes away from this place and were looking for a nice little getaway without having to really go too far from our responsibilities at home. We stayed in the Ocean King Deluxe which was lovely but not totally what we expected. The website made it look like our room was going to be much larger than it was and more on the shores of the beach, however I think those were cottages of some kind. We rated a little lower on comfort because the beds left us with achy backs (Though this could just be that we don't like hard beds). Also our golf carts to takes us back to the front office disappeared in the morning for our checkout. Another unfortunate part about this location is that Marina gathers a lot of fog at all parts of the day which almost always blocks the sun and ocean from view at sunset- something we knew but others who don't live nearby may not. On a more positive note, the staff were very nice, the view was beautiful when visible, we loooooved the fireplace in the room, and having a balcony to sit on that wasn't directly attached to another was great. Overall, though it was nice, we felt like we could have gotten a better deal in Monterey or Carmel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Lalla Grill at the Del Monte shopping center was a beautiful inexpensive restaurant with a variety of delicious fresh food! Definitely worth the short drive!

Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
10 year ann
Bay area
Dec 2, 2013

Front office staff hold back more positive rating

We arrived at the hotel at 2pm with a 4pm check in. Front desk clerks Kelsy and Briana were present. They acted as drones. Neither welcomed me to the property, neither took their stare away from their terminal screen. Neither chose to be accommodating to my early arrival with suggestions of their spa, restaurant or beach. Rather I was requested my cell number and was told they would contact me IF a room became available before check in time of 4pm. We were asked to leave until check in. We returned at 3:40 without a telephone call from the front desk. While I was checking in the lady next to me checking in also mentioned that she arrived at 3pm and received a call from the hotel to check in early. She arrived an hour later then me. Things that make you go hmmmmm???? When we did actually check in the front desk staff did not improve on their hospitality skills ( Kelsey and Bianca). Not a welcome, not a crack of a smile. I was soooo happy to find that Keith at the front door as well as the housekeepping staff are very customer service oriented. Front desk gets -0- stars the rest of our experience gets **** stars with a *** average. BTW at check out - same lack of courtesy but it was a third different person that lacked all sense of customer service. I was never asked how my stay, room, anniversery went - nothing! We had ants in our kitchenette, water pressure in shower was weak. But nothing compares to the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Jun 1, 2010

Great Locations but paper thin walls!!!

The location of the resort was great!!! Right on the sand dunes... But the room walls were paper thin... i could literally hear what my neighbors above and to the side of me were chit chatting about. I actually got a complaint for being to noisy at 9pm and I was just talking normal with my friend.. They give you a golf cart for the room so that was nice... there were no curtains in the room so it made it very bright in the morning...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
East bay, ca
Nov 27, 2010

Room offers no dune nor ocean view

Our room ( Suite) was good size and near the pool. Also, this hotel is located nice and quiet beach which is about 10 miles north of Monterey. Contrary to its advitisment and promise, we didn't get any view of the beach nor the ocean from our room. I notified this to the front desk person, [...]. She explained to us that they realized some rooms don't have the view, so they are in the process of correcting the description of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
CA
Jun 2, 2010

Great view & location. Poor room quality

The hotel staff was very nice and the view was wonderful. The golf carts were fun to drive around as well. However, the room was not the best. The walls were paper thin. We were on the the lower level and the people above us were very loud. We heard them talking and walking around all night long. Also, the stairs to the upper level were right on the other side of the wall behind our bed. So every time someone went up and down the stairs you could hear every loud step as if they were in your room. Not really worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaLa and Indy
Kingwood, Texas
Apr 21, 2014

It's all about the view!

We spent a full week there to celebrate our anniversary, and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. If you are looking for a quiet couples retreat, this is the place. We stayed in one of the ocean front junior suites (actually a big room with a sitting area) and could hear the waves from our room. There is really no activity around the complex (except for the beach), and this is exactly what we wanted, but we were just minutes away from Monterey. The best thing, however, was watching the sunset each day from our private patio...with a glass wine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is only one restaurant in the complex, and although it is within walking distance, you will probably prefer to venture out.

Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob Cob
Idaho
May 7, 2014

Definitely a nice change

Everything was really good. The onsite restaurant was lacking somewhat, yet convenience adds a lot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kjsbrat
Lodi, California
May 30, 2009

Peaceful getaway for romance

Truly a very serene and peaceful location. Staff was very helpful and friendly. They upgraded us to an ocean view before we arrived. We celebrated our 10 year anniversary and wow! what a location. The weather seems to stay overcast for late May along the beach right there but the hotel stay was truly worth every cent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Didn't try the Kula Restaurant but probably should have. A short drive to nearby Monterey, Pacific Grove and Carmel. Only about 8 minutes away.

Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
relaxed, relaxed
Sacramento, ca
Nov 7, 2009

Sanctuary Beach Resort

relaxed,relaxed, relaxed, ?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

keep control of your golf cart. make sure you use your own not someone else's

Back to menu Return to top

Change search