$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Sanctuary Beach Resort

3 stars
3295 Dunes Road, Marina, CA 93933
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
51 reviews
great for couple

Me and my wife came her for a weekend getaway at the end of the vacationing season. It was perfect... See full review

  • mike from stockton
  • Nov 22, 2014
Nice and relaxing stay

My wife and I went here for a kid-free weekend. Great spot by the ocean with a very nice room. We... See full review

  • D Train
  • Nov 18, 2014
Oceanfront resort provides a relaxing, secluded sanctuary

Situated on 19 acres of oceanfront property, Sanctuary Beach Resort earns praise for attentive service, fantastic views and, most of all, its secluded location with plenty of opportunities to do nothing at all. The Pacific Ocean provides the rhythmic sounds of waves against the shore. The adjacent Marina State Beach is a popular spot for surfing, kite flying and hang gliding. Marina Dunes Preserve offers gorgeous sand dunes and a protected bird and animal habitat. A restaurant and spa round out the list of amenities at Sanctuary Beach Resort.

Highlights
  • Breathtaking sunset views
  • Direct beach access
  • Private golf carts assigned to each room
  • Nature and biking trails, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi
Rooms

Guest rooms and suites at Sanctuary Beach Resort overlook the Pacific or the 170-acre Marina Dunes Preserve, a protected area with the highest dunes on the Central Coast. All rooms feature one of the best amenities at the resort -- the sounds of waves crashing against the shore.


Also included are flat-panel televisions, free Wi-Fi Internet access, iPod or MP3 docking stations, wet bars, stocked minibars, gas fireplaces, private decks or patios, and luxurious L'Occitane bath amenities. Use the binoculars provided in each room to scope out some of the 27 bird species regularly sighted at the dunes.

Features

Relaxing by the in-room fireplace and listening to the sounds of the waves might be all it takes to unwind at this secluded getaway. But for a special treat, Sanctuary Beach Resort offers in-room massages provided by The Serenity Spa (fees apply). Additional spa treatments include the nirvana massage with add-on services like the hot foaming mud treatment.

Dining

Adjacent to the Sanctuary Beach Resort, the Hawaiian-themed Kula Ranch Island Steakhouse offers fresh seafood, steaks, prime rib and a sushi bar. Enjoy lunch or dinner inside or on the outdoor patio, furnished with fire pits and heating lamps for cooler Northern California days and nights.

Transportation
  • Adjacent to Highway 1
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (8.2 mi/13.2 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (46.8 mi/75.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Dunes Open Space Preserve (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Marina State Beach (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • National Steinbeck Center (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
Business
  • Offers 1,000 square feet of on-site meeting space
  • Banquet space for 130 at Kula Ranch Island Steakhouse
Policies and fees
A pet fee of $40 USD (nontaxable) is applicable per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sanctuary Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Sanctuary Beach Resort Rooms

Ocean Front Deluxe
Premier Ocean Front Deluxe. Located on the Ocean and Beach Front with King Bed, private patio or deck with best views of the Pacific Ocean and Marina Dunes, beach access steps away, fireplace, wetbar, 32" flat screen TV, Ipod or M3 Docking station, binoculars, in room safe, complimentary WIFI access and luxurious bath amenities.
Ocean Front Junior Suite
Premier Ocean Front Jr. Suite. The best way to experience our beautiful resort featuring King Bed, sitting area with sleeper sofa, private patio or deck with best views of the Pacific Ocean and Marina Dunes, beach access steps aways, fireplace, wetbar, two 32" TV's, Ipod or M3 Docking station, in room safe, binoculars, complimentary WIFI access and luxurious bath amenities.
Partial View Deluxe
Features 1 king bed, fireplace, wet bar, mini bar, luxurious linens, safe, dunes view patio or deck, Comp Wi-Fi, iPod or MP3 docking station, hair dryer & coffee maker
Partial View Junior Suite
Featuring a King Bed with dunes and partial ocean views. Suites have sitting area with sleeper sofa, fireplace, wet bar, mini bar and safe.
Ocean View Deluxe
Features one king bed, fireplace, wet bar, mini bar, luxurious linens, safe, ocean view patio or deck, Comp Wi-Fi, iPod or MP3 docking station, hair dryer and coffee maker
Ocean View Junior Suite
Features 1 king bed, sitting area with sleeper sofa, fireplace, wet bar, mini bar, luxurious linens, safe, ocean view patio or deck, Comp Wi-Fi, iPod or MP3 docking station, hair dryer & coffee maker

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Kula Ranch Island Steakhouse
The beautifully remodeled Kula Ranch, brainchild of popular local restaurateurs Joe Loeffler (former General Manager of Baja Cantina) and Billy Quon (former owner of Bahama Billys, and current Owner of Volcano Grill in Carmel Valley) features a soothing Island feel, mixed with a little up-Country Western Maui! Executive Chef Darroll Rose (formerly of Fresh Cream Restaurant) has developed an enticing menu of Pacific Rim inspired fresh seafood, steaks, prime rib, exciting Sushi Bar creations, exotic salads and fabulous appetizers and desserts.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Sanctuary Beach Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CardioNrs
Business
Fresno, CA
Jan 9, 2012

Better than expected

This place was relaxing, and breathe taking. I had an oceanfront room. I was able to listen to the waves crash to shore and the rumbling that was at my finget tips by just opening the deck door. I will be booking another stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There's a Dennys less than three minutes away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Goody18
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Sep 6, 2012

Relaxation

What a great place to relax. The rooms are comfortable and beautiful (except they need to upgrade their cable again). The dunes are beautiful and it isn't hard to get down to the beach where you can walk forever. Huge swimming pool. Jacuzzi's jets didn't work unfortunately. Staff is eager to please and extremely helpful. I will be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2bcame1
Business
York, Pennsylvania
Sep 8, 2013

Sanctuary...a sacred place, retreat, oasis

Our stay at the Sanctuary Beach Resort was fabulous. The staff was very friendly, polite, and accommodating. When we asked for a room with a better view they moved us right away to the best suite on the property. The oceanfront junior suite is worth the extra $$. It is very roomy and spacious and has a sitting area with fireplace, double sinks, 2 showers, wet bar (snacks && pricey), frig (water, soda, juice $$ pricey), microwave, Kuerig coffee maker, and FREE Wi-Fi. Room service is offered. They have an onsite restaurant that we didn't have time to go to but it always had customers and we heard it was very good. The resort location is amazing with views of Monterey, Moss Landing, and Santa Cruz. We saw whales right off our balcony out in the bay with the binoculars the resort provides in every room! Everything was just a short drive away yet we had the peace and tranquility to unwind in the evening from all the sight-seeing. Very convenient location. The bonfire on the beach at night was a nice touch! The beach is awesome, clean, and not crowded. The sound of the waves crashing on the beach was very relaxing. It does get chilly, especially at night, so a jacket or sweater is recommended. There isn't any air-conditioning due to the climate but it wasn't needed. The electric golf carts you get around the resort in are fun and add to the experience. The pool is heated to 83 degrees and there is a kiddie pool and large hot tub. Plenty of chairs around the pool deck and two beach towels are provided in the room for your use. They also have 2 plush robes in each room that we saw people using to go to the pool and hot tub. Absolutely would recommend and we look forwarded to returning to this hidden gem!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melanie and Clint
Business
sacramento, Ca
Sep 25, 2013

perfect for couples or families

We absolutely loved this place. I would recommend it to anyone. We definitely plan to go back again. Even the restaurant wad great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happily Married 32 YRS
Business
Napa
Sep 28, 2013

Whale & seal show from our resort room

Late in September, as we had breakfast in our room, staring at the ocean at the Santuary Beach Resort, we were treated to a whale and seal show. It was a great location which provided privacy and and a sense of getting away from a traditional row of hotels/motels. ALL staff members were friendly and helpfull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We had an excellent dinner on the Montery pier which was about 20 minutes away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Quill hill
Business
Western MA
Dec 5, 2013

A beautiful beach

This hotel is 10 minutes from the wharf in Monterey but seems a world away. The beach is beautiful. The rooms are lovely. They try hard to be very attentive. We had a few issues when they forgot to clean our room, but it was quickly rectified. Definitely a romantic get-away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bea's Getaway
Business
Seattle
Jun 1, 2014

Loved It!

Outstanding customer service from front desk staff, concierge and housekeeping services from beginning to end of a 5-day, 4-night stay in a deluxe king bedroom. Even though Marina, CA is a little out of the way, the view of the ocean from there was breath-taking. We caught one such sunset. Next visit, would love to stay in one of the very roomy king suites. Bed turn down service each night and pillow mints were a nice touch. Sorry we didn't make any of the "Smores" bonfires on the beach held nightly at sunset. It gets really chilly at night and the room's fireplace is the sole source of heat. Cars remain in the parking lot below, but a personal golf cart is fun to drive around the complex. Restaurant on property is okay with a few select menu items. Bonus was complimentary parking, wifi and coffee/tea service in the room along with a small fridge and microwave. Shower amenities also nice. Great shopping in Carmel, CA; needed more time in the exciting Aquarium on Cannery Row; ,and good food on Fishermen's Wharf. A not-to-miss attraction is Hearst Castle in San Simeon about a 3-hr drive along the coast. We would go back to the area, but later in year (Sept.), when weather is warmer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fishermen's Grotto on Fishermen's Wharf - best clam chowder around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Herald, ca
Apr 22, 2009

Great Get Away For The Rate I Got It For

We have stayed there 5 or 6 times before, it is a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 19, 2008

Great Hotel

My stay at the hotel was very comfortable and it was in a beautiful location near the beach. My wife and I enjoyed the golf carts to get us around. The fireplaces and the robes were a nice touch and the porch to sit outside and listen the the ocean and enjoy the sunsets was wonderful!! The only thing that was negative about the hotel, was the restaurant/bar that is on the premisis. The restaurant itself was very beautiful with a very nice bar, but the food was continusly bad - overcooked, or undercooked, greasy etc. Our friends sent back their ribs - stating to us that they were severly overcooked, and not properly prepared prior to cooking - a lot of fat which should have been cut off. They ordered the ahi the second time around and they ate some of it - but said to us that it was overcooked also. My wife and I ordered the mahi and it was also overcooked. We also ordered the fried artichokes which were okay but greasy. The only thing that was good about the meal were the sweet potato fries. The service at the restaurant was also mediocre at best, the hotel itself had excellent service and the rooms were very clean. After our first visit with our friends (another couple joined us, friends that were staying at the hotel also). We decided after our first experience to skip the restaurant and go to the bar thinking that there isn't much that you can mess up at the bar, and it was such a beautiful setting with the outside fire pits etc. However, we were surprised at the service (we had to ask for silverware, napkins etc - as we also had to do at the restaurant prior to this visit) The drinks that we ordered - first mexican coffees, were made with coffee that had been sitting for quite a while(burnt), We sent back the drinks and asked that a fresh pot be brewed - which they did, but the second drinks were not properly mixed (we did not think that there was any kaluha in the drinks). We did not send back the drinks, and the next time around ordered vodka tonics which were very weak. However, we would stay at the hotel again - we just would not go back to the restaurant - except maybe the bar and would stick to beer or wine - not mixed drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
missjordan
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Sep 21, 2011

right on the beach!

for the price that I paid for this hotel, it was amazing! it is seriously right on the dunes and about a 20 second walk to the beach from my hotel door. the room was very clean and only about 10 minutes from cannery row, Monterey. they gave you a golf cart to drive around in which was awesome! the only bad thing I have to say is that they charge $10 per person per meal and the pillows were so soft that it made my neck hurt the next day. other than that it was perfect and beautiful! I would definitely reccomend this hotel and I myself will be staying there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

go to dametra cafe in Carmel! best Greek food around! family style dining and the chef comes out to sing to the guests. they also take the time to stop at each table and talk to them to get to know their customers. great yummy food! and pretty reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top