$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Sanctuary Beach Resort

3 stars
3295 Dunes Road, Marina, CA 93933
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
51 reviews
great for couple

Me and my wife came her for a weekend getaway at the end of the vacationing season. It was perfect... See full review

  • mike from stockton
  • Nov 22, 2014
Nice and relaxing stay

My wife and I went here for a kid-free weekend. Great spot by the ocean with a very nice room. We... See full review

  • D Train
  • Nov 18, 2014
Oceanfront resort provides a relaxing, secluded sanctuary

Situated on 19 acres of oceanfront property, Sanctuary Beach Resort earns praise for attentive service, fantastic views and, most of all, its secluded location with plenty of opportunities to do nothing at all. The Pacific Ocean provides the rhythmic sounds of waves against the shore. The adjacent Marina State Beach is a popular spot for surfing, kite flying and hang gliding. Marina Dunes Preserve offers gorgeous sand dunes and a protected bird and animal habitat. A restaurant and spa round out the list of amenities at Sanctuary Beach Resort.

Highlights
  • Breathtaking sunset views
  • Direct beach access
  • Private golf carts assigned to each room
  • Nature and biking trails, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi
Rooms

Guest rooms and suites at Sanctuary Beach Resort overlook the Pacific or the 170-acre Marina Dunes Preserve, a protected area with the highest dunes on the Central Coast. All rooms feature one of the best amenities at the resort -- the sounds of waves crashing against the shore.


Also included are flat-panel televisions, free Wi-Fi Internet access, iPod or MP3 docking stations, wet bars, stocked minibars, gas fireplaces, private decks or patios, and luxurious L'Occitane bath amenities. Use the binoculars provided in each room to scope out some of the 27 bird species regularly sighted at the dunes.

Features

Relaxing by the in-room fireplace and listening to the sounds of the waves might be all it takes to unwind at this secluded getaway. But for a special treat, Sanctuary Beach Resort offers in-room massages provided by The Serenity Spa (fees apply). Additional spa treatments include the nirvana massage with add-on services like the hot foaming mud treatment.

Dining

Adjacent to the Sanctuary Beach Resort, the Hawaiian-themed Kula Ranch Island Steakhouse offers fresh seafood, steaks, prime rib and a sushi bar. Enjoy lunch or dinner inside or on the outdoor patio, furnished with fire pits and heating lamps for cooler Northern California days and nights.

Transportation
  • Adjacent to Highway 1
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (8.2 mi/13.2 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (46.8 mi/75.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Dunes Open Space Preserve (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Marina State Beach (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • National Steinbeck Center (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
Business
  • Offers 1,000 square feet of on-site meeting space
  • Banquet space for 130 at Kula Ranch Island Steakhouse
Policies and fees
A pet fee of $40 USD (nontaxable) is applicable per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sanctuary Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Sanctuary Beach Resort Rooms

Ocean Front Deluxe
Premier Ocean Front Deluxe. Located on the Ocean and Beach Front with King Bed, private patio or deck with best views of the Pacific Ocean and Marina Dunes, beach access steps away, fireplace, wetbar, 32" flat screen TV, Ipod or M3 Docking station, binoculars, in room safe, complimentary WIFI access and luxurious bath amenities.
Ocean Front Junior Suite
Premier Ocean Front Jr. Suite. The best way to experience our beautiful resort featuring King Bed, sitting area with sleeper sofa, private patio or deck with best views of the Pacific Ocean and Marina Dunes, beach access steps aways, fireplace, wetbar, two 32" TV's, Ipod or M3 Docking station, in room safe, binoculars, complimentary WIFI access and luxurious bath amenities.
Partial View Deluxe
Features 1 king bed, fireplace, wet bar, mini bar, luxurious linens, safe, dunes view patio or deck, Comp Wi-Fi, iPod or MP3 docking station, hair dryer & coffee maker
Partial View Junior Suite
Featuring a King Bed with dunes and partial ocean views. Suites have sitting area with sleeper sofa, fireplace, wet bar, mini bar and safe.
Ocean View Deluxe
Features one king bed, fireplace, wet bar, mini bar, luxurious linens, safe, ocean view patio or deck, Comp Wi-Fi, iPod or MP3 docking station, hair dryer and coffee maker
Ocean View Junior Suite
Features 1 king bed, sitting area with sleeper sofa, fireplace, wet bar, mini bar, luxurious linens, safe, ocean view patio or deck, Comp Wi-Fi, iPod or MP3 docking station, hair dryer & coffee maker

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Kula Ranch Island Steakhouse
The beautifully remodeled Kula Ranch, brainchild of popular local restaurateurs Joe Loeffler (former General Manager of Baja Cantina) and Billy Quon (former owner of Bahama Billys, and current Owner of Volcano Grill in Carmel Valley) features a soothing Island feel, mixed with a little up-Country Western Maui! Executive Chef Darroll Rose (formerly of Fresh Cream Restaurant) has developed an enticing menu of Pacific Rim inspired fresh seafood, steaks, prime rib, exciting Sushi Bar creations, exotic salads and fabulous appetizers and desserts.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Sanctuary Beach Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NamNam
Business
Brentwood, CA
Apr 11, 2011

More good than bad

The room and the beach were very nice. Well worth it. Would like to see some extra amenities for the price but overall a very nice experience. The on-site dining is sub par. Service was lacking to some degree; however the owner was very nice and understanding. Food left something to be desired though. I would recommend leaving the site to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go off-site for dining. Not worth the money/time to eat at Kula Ranch

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karma Queen
Business
San Jose,CA
Feb 28, 2011

Location, location, location!!!!

My husband and I come here yearly for an anniversary getaway and it never fails to be everything we want it to be. Perfect for couples looking for a romantic place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keep it on the D L
Business
cen cal
Jan 30, 2011

Worth it

We enjoyed the sanctuary This place should have complimentary bottled water

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East bay, ca
Nov 27, 2010

Room offers no dune nor ocean view

Our room ( Suite) was good size and near the pool. Also, this hotel is located nice and quiet beach which is about 10 miles north of Monterey. Contrary to its advitisment and promise, we didn't get any view of the beach nor the ocean from our room. I notified this to the front desk person, [...]. She explained to us that they realized some rooms don't have the view, so they are in the process of correcting the description of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose CA
Nov 24, 2010

Fantastic getaway

so far has been the best hotel we have been. the service they gave us it was wonderful . were looking forward for another trip.... thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Oct 28, 2010

Nice romantic getaway

This hotel was amazing. It is at a beautiful location and the people there are so nice. The pool is nice and relaxing, but no where near as nice as the beds. We didnt use the golf cart to much because we were only there for one night but it really is a good thing to have. i would tell people that for the price it is well more than worth it. it is really close to monterey which is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

dont go to bubba gumps. it is just a tourist place. trust me take it from someone who lives close to monterey and has eaten there many of time (i dont know why) it really isnt that good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
guest10
Business
monterey,ca
Aug 10, 2010

Nice getaway

This is a nice place to spend some time relaxing. My husband and I went during the week which was very likely different than it would be on a weekend. We were a little disappointed with the size of the rooms, even after switching to one of their suites, but service was good and it was a good deal. Restaurant doesn't get my thumbs up though, everything was too sweet but if you like sweet...go for it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roseville, CA
Jul 17, 2010

Great place for an anniversary getaway

We stayed a couple of nights in celebration of our wedding anniversary, and it was great! Our room looked out on the dunes and surf, and had a gas-fired fireplace in the corner for heat. We could listen to the surf from our room or from the balcony. We walked on the beach and enjoyed watching hang gliders fly by in the afternoon. There is an extensive bicycle/pedestrian path along this section of the coast, and I rode my bike on it in both directions. You can order breakfast delivered to your room for $10, but we brought our own and kept it in the mini-fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Gatos CA
Jul 16, 2010

Greatest Sunset from the West coast

SUPER SUNSET! Tasty food in the Kula Ranch Steakhouse w/reasonable price tag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toni W
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 2, 2010

Yes this is a

We spent two nights at the resort and could have easily stayed two more. We stayed in an ocean view suite, the only sounds were gulls and crashing waves. After a cold mist on our arrival day, the next morning arrived with beautiful sunshine. It felt as if we had shed the heavy cloaks of our everyday life and arrived in a peaceful warm dream.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If peace is what you desire, skip the hotel dining and drive the 10 minutes to Monterey. The are many adult restaurants there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top