$289 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Sanctuary Beach Resort

3 stars
3295 Dunes Road, Marina, CA 93933
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
68 reviews
Loved It!

Outstanding customer service from front desk staff, concierge and housekeeping services from... See full review

  • Bea's Getaway
  • Jun 1, 2014
A beautiful beach

This hotel is 10 minutes from the wharf in Monterey but seems a world away. The beach is beautiful.... See full review

  • Quill hill
  • Dec 5, 2013
Oceanfront resort provides a relaxing, secluded sanctuary

Situated on 19 acres of oceanfront property, Sanctuary Beach Resort earns praise for attentive service, fantastic views and, most of all, its secluded location with plenty of opportunities to do nothing at all. The Pacific Ocean provides the rhythmic sounds of waves against the shore. The adjacent Marina State Beach is a popular spot for surfing, kite flying and hang gliding. Marina Dunes Preserve offers gorgeous sand dunes and a protected bird and animal habitat. A restaurant and spa round out the list of amenities at Sanctuary Beach Resort.

Highlights
  • Breathtaking sunset views
  • Direct beach access
  • Private golf carts assigned to each room
  • Nature and biking trails, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi
Rooms

Guest rooms and suites at Sanctuary Beach Resort overlook the Pacific or the 170-acre Marina Dunes Preserve, a protected area with the highest dunes on the Central Coast. All rooms feature one of the best amenities at the resort -- the sounds of waves crashing against the shore.


Also included are flat-panel televisions, free Wi-Fi Internet access, iPod or MP3 docking stations, wet bars, stocked minibars, gas fireplaces, private decks or patios, and luxurious L'Occitane bath amenities. Use the binoculars provided in each room to scope out some of the 27 bird species regularly sighted at the dunes.

Features

Relaxing by the in-room fireplace and listening to the sounds of the waves might be all it takes to unwind at this secluded getaway. But for a special treat, Sanctuary Beach Resort offers in-room massages provided by The Serenity Spa (fees apply). Additional spa treatments include the nirvana massage with add-on services like the hot foaming mud treatment.

Dining

Adjacent to the Sanctuary Beach Resort, the Hawaiian-themed Kula Ranch Island Steakhouse offers fresh seafood, steaks, prime rib and a sushi bar. Enjoy lunch or dinner inside or on the outdoor patio, furnished with fire pits and heating lamps for cooler Northern California days and nights.

Transportation
  • Adjacent to Highway 1
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (8.2 mi/13.2 km)
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (46.8 mi/75.4 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Dunes Open Space Preserve (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Marina State Beach (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • National Steinbeck Center (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
Business
  • Offers 1,000 square feet of on-site meeting space
  • Banquet space for 130 at Kula Ranch Island Steakhouse
Policies and fees
A pet fee of $40 USD (nontaxable) is applicable per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.7006 -121.8046
Area served
Monterey Bay
Nearby airports
(MRY), 10.00, MI; (SFO), 95.00, MI; (SJC), 54.00, MI;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sanctuary Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Sanctuary Beach Resort Rooms

Ocean Front Deluxe
Premier Ocean Front Deluxe. Located on the Ocean and Beach Front with King Bed, private patio or deck with best views of the Pacific Ocean and Marina Dunes, beach access steps away, fireplace, wetbar, 32" flat screen TV, Ipod or M3 Docking station, binoculars, in room safe, complimentary WIFI access and luxurious bath amenities.
Ocean Front Junior Suite
Premier Ocean Front Jr. Suite. The best way to experience our beautiful resort featuring King Bed, sitting area with sleeper sofa, private patio or deck with best views of the Pacific Ocean and Marina Dunes, beach access steps aways, fireplace, wetbar, two 32" TV's, Ipod or M3 Docking station, in room safe, binoculars, complimentary WIFI access and luxurious bath amenities.
Partial View Deluxe
Features 1 king bed, fireplace, wet bar, mini bar, luxurious linens, safe, dunes view patio or deck, Comp Wi-Fi, iPod or MP3 docking station, hair dryer & coffee maker
Partial View Junior Suite
Featuring a King Bed with dunes and partial ocean views. Suites have sitting area with sleeper sofa, fireplace, wet bar, mini bar and safe.
Ocean View Deluxe
Features one king bed, fireplace, wet bar, mini bar, luxurious linens, safe, ocean view patio or deck, Comp Wi-Fi, iPod or MP3 docking station, hair dryer and coffee maker
Ocean View Junior Suite
Features 1 king bed, sitting area with sleeper sofa, fireplace, wet bar, mini bar, luxurious linens, safe, ocean view patio or deck, Comp Wi-Fi, iPod or MP3 docking station, hair dryer & coffee maker

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Kula Ranch Island Steakhouse
The beautifully remodeled Kula Ranch, brainchild of popular local restaurateurs Joe Loeffler (former General Manager of Baja Cantina) and Billy Quon (former owner of Bahama Billys, and current Owner of Volcano Grill in Carmel Valley) features a soothing Island feel, mixed with a little up-Country Western Maui! Executive Chef Darroll Rose (formerly of Fresh Cream Restaurant) has developed an enticing menu of Pacific Rim inspired fresh seafood, steaks, prime rib, exciting Sushi Bar creations, exotic salads and fabulous appetizers and desserts.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Sanctuary Beach Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Goody18
Santa Monica, CA
Sep 6, 2012

Relaxation

What a great place to relax. The rooms are comfortable and beautiful (except they need to upgrade their cable again). The dunes are beautiful and it isn't hard to get down to the beach where you can walk forever. Huge swimming pool. Jacuzzi's jets didn't work unfortunately. Staff is eager to please and extremely helpful. I will be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tech Guy Sactown
Sacramento, CA
Jul 12, 2014

Perfect Get Away

This is the perfect place to come and relax. We didn't know that to expect but it exceeded our expectations. The view from our room was perfect, the private beach was great, and the golf carts made getting around so much easier. The room was perfect with the fireplace, flat screen tv, and comfy bath robes. We truly enjoyed ourselves and will be back very soon,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HoopMom
San Jose
Jun 7, 2014

Couples Retreat

We had a handcap room...don't know why? So there is no tub- which means no hooks in room to hang towel or bathrobe, etc., indoor office staff seemed snooty!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bea's Getaway
Seattle
Jun 1, 2014

Loved It!

Outstanding customer service from front desk staff, concierge and housekeeping services from beginning to end of a 5-day, 4-night stay in a deluxe king bedroom. Even though Marina, CA is a little out of the way, the view of the ocean from there was breath-taking. We caught one such sunset. Next visit, would love to stay in one of the very roomy king suites. Bed turn down service each night and pillow mints were a nice touch. Sorry we didn't make any of the "Smores" bonfires on the beach held nightly at sunset. It gets really chilly at night and the room's fireplace is the sole source of heat. Cars remain in the parking lot below, but a personal golf cart is fun to drive around the complex. Restaurant on property is okay with a few select menu items. Bonus was complimentary parking, wifi and coffee/tea service in the room along with a small fridge and microwave. Shower amenities also nice. Great shopping in Carmel, CA; needed more time in the exciting Aquarium on Cannery Row; ,and good food on Fishermen's Wharf. A not-to-miss attraction is Hearst Castle in San Simeon about a 3-hr drive along the coast. We would go back to the area, but later in year (Sept.), when weather is warmer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fishermen's Grotto on Fishermen's Wharf - best clam chowder around.

Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob Cob
Idaho
May 7, 2014

Definitely a nice change

Everything was really good. The onsite restaurant was lacking somewhat, yet convenience adds a lot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaLa and Indy
Kingwood, Texas
Apr 21, 2014

It's all about the view!

We spent a full week there to celebrate our anniversary, and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. If you are looking for a quiet couples retreat, this is the place. We stayed in one of the ocean front junior suites (actually a big room with a sitting area) and could hear the waves from our room. There is really no activity around the complex (except for the beach), and this is exactly what we wanted, but we were just minutes away from Monterey. The best thing, however, was watching the sunset each day from our private patio...with a glass wine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is only one restaurant in the complex, and although it is within walking distance, you will probably prefer to venture out.

Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iamtheone12345
San Jose
Dec 18, 2013

Romantic getaway

Everything was just perfect... Staff at the lobby was not that helpful... but hotel stay was great...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Dont eat here...

Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Quill hill
Western MA
Dec 5, 2013

A beautiful beach

This hotel is 10 minutes from the wharf in Monterey but seems a world away. The beach is beautiful. The rooms are lovely. They try hard to be very attentive. We had a few issues when they forgot to clean our room, but it was quickly rectified. Definitely a romantic get-away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
10 year ann
Bay area
Dec 2, 2013

Front office staff hold back more positive rating

We arrived at the hotel at 2pm with a 4pm check in. Front desk clerks Kelsy and Briana were present. They acted as drones. Neither welcomed me to the property, neither took their stare away from their terminal screen. Neither chose to be accommodating to my early arrival with suggestions of their spa, restaurant or beach. Rather I was requested my cell number and was told they would contact me IF a room became available before check in time of 4pm. We were asked to leave until check in. We returned at 3:40 without a telephone call from the front desk. While I was checking in the lady next to me checking in also mentioned that she arrived at 3pm and received a call from the hotel to check in early. She arrived an hour later then me. Things that make you go hmmmmm???? When we did actually check in the front desk staff did not improve on their hospitality skills ( Kelsey and Bianca). Not a welcome, not a crack of a smile. I was soooo happy to find that Keith at the front door as well as the housekeepping staff are very customer service oriented. Front desk gets -0- stars the rest of our experience gets **** stars with a *** average. BTW at check out - same lack of courtesy but it was a third different person that lacked all sense of customer service. I was never asked how my stay, room, anniversery went - nothing! We had ants in our kitchenette, water pressure in shower was weak. But nothing compares to the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happily Married 32 YRS
Napa
Sep 28, 2013

Whale & seal show from our resort room

Late in September, as we had breakfast in our room, staring at the ocean at the Santuary Beach Resort, we were treated to a whale and seal show. It was a great location which provided privacy and and a sense of getting away from a traditional row of hotels/motels. ALL staff members were friendly and helpfull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We had an excellent dinner on the Montery pier which was about 20 minutes away

Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melanie and Clint
sacramento, Ca
Sep 25, 2013

perfect for couples or families

We absolutely loved this place. I would recommend it to anyone. We definitely plan to go back again. Even the restaurant wad great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top