$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn

3 stars
3290 Dunes Road, Marina, CA 93933-2005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
123 reviews
2nd anniversary

Very nice hotel. Staff was very nice. The only negative was no microwave. See full review

  • hergaberga
  • Sep 24, 2014
great location

The hotel itself is older and they've tried to upgrade as best they can. It was a comfortable, cozy... See full review

  • jusbeth
  • Aug 3, 2014
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn! Monterey, CA hotels are surrounded by the best of California like golden beaches and great dining, and our Marina hotel staff goes above and beyond to make your stay pleasant. Are you looking for the best hotels near Monterey? Welcome to your home away from home. At our Marina hotel, guests are just a short drive from the best of the city. Were across the street from a state beach, and within a 10 minute drive to Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row and golf courses. As the closest Best Western to Laguna Seca Raceway, speed lovers especially enjoy staying at our property. Marina, CA hotels also boast the friendliest staff in California. California State University Monterey Bay (CSUMB) is in the neighborhood, and our Marina hotel regularly hosts students, their families and visiting faculty and staff. Business travelers with Dynergy Power Plant in the nearby city also depend on us. The nearby Salinas Sports Complex hosts youth and adult soccer, baseball tournaments and other sporting events. Service men and women with the Naval Post Grad and Defense Language Institute in Monterey also regularly stay with us. From the Concours de Elegance car show to Pebble Beach, theres always something to do near our Marina hotel. Car and motorcycle races at Laguna Seca are always a blast, and the AT&T® Pro Am brings in fans from around the country. Whale watching, deep sea fishing and ocean diving are favorite water activities. Hang-gliding, exploring beaches, mountain biking and walking trails at the Wildlife Preserve are also options. Near our Marina hotel, guests can enjoy Fishermans Wharf or the quaint town of Carmel while enjoying our affordable prices, the Salinas Air Show and Rodeo, and the Castroville Artichoke Festival. Cycling and running marathons like the Sea Otter Classic and Big Sur Marathon are popular. The Moto GB Superbike Annual Race is another favorite. Book your BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn room now.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NOSMOKE,HI SPEED NET,COFFEMAKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OVRSZD,HI SPEED,COFMKR,IRON,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,HISPD,REFRIG,COFFMAKER,IRON,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED,OVRSZD,REFRIG,COFMKR,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NOSMOKE,HI SPEED NET,COFFEMAKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HISPD,REFRIG,COFFMAKER,IRON,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Play ground
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

New Tokyo Restaurant
1.00 mile(s) from New Tokyo Restaurant, Bar/Lounge, Japanese, Open for: lunch, dinner 12:00 Noon to 11:00 p.m.
El Palmar
0.75 mile(s) from El Palmar, Snack Bar, Mexican, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner 11:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Dishes Bistro
1.00 mile(s) from Dishes Bistro, Full Service, Mediterranean, Open for: lunch, dinner 11:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Denny's
0.5 mile(s) from Denny's, Full Service, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner 24 hours
Francisco's Restaurant
2.00 mile(s) from Francisco's Restaurant, Buffet, Italian, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner 11:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m.
Lee's Garden
1.00 mile(s) from Lee's Garden, Buffet, Chinese, Open for: lunch, dinner 11:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m.
Kula Ranch
Across the street from Kula Ranch, Full Service, Steak House, Open for: lunch, dinner, 11:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (123)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
birdmfd
Business
California
Dec 2, 2014

Nice hotel near beach

Hotel was nice, basic but good location and price. Room was clean, and had all basic amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
555888
Business
Reno, NV
Dec 1, 2014

cockroaches in the room

Terrible experience. We stayed there this past weekend during Thanksgiving holiday. We all were looking forward for a few days by the ocean and we picked this place since it was a walking distance to the beach. As soon as we checked in, we noticed that the fridge was never cleaned and had half empty beer and water bottles. As soon as we settled, my husband saw a roach running on the table and in a few minutes I saw two more in the bathroom going towards the vent. I went to the front desk to let them know and see if they have another room for us. When I came back, I saw two more cockroaches running on the fridge. Gross gross gross! The receptionist at first said that they are completely booked and there is no other rooms and she will send a manager to the room. I never heard from the manager, but did get moved to an accessible room with smaller beds, no fridge and a shower that doesn't pull to the adult height. The breakfast room was a disaster, there were more people that tables, you had to wait forever to get a toast or make a waffle. Everything about this place was so wrong, I would never recommend anyone to stay there. The worst $100 ever spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PRG ESQ
Business
San Francisco
Nov 30, 2014

Great get away

away from the bustling crowd...nice, nice beach too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Baby Lamb
Business
Fremont, California
Nov 24, 2014

Bad experience - Avoid it if you can

We stayed there for a night. The staff put us to a room right across the reception desk. The room had a smell and dusty. We noticed that the sink was clogged and the toilet was dirty. We wondered when was the last time this room was cleaned. Since we were all tired after visiting Monterey aquarium. We didn't bother asking for another room. Around 10pm the nightmare started. The toilet overflowed. Disgusting! We had to take our toddler out of the bed and moved to another room. Well, that room also had some problems. The sink still clogged. The fan in the bathroom was so loud that our toddler couldn't go back to sleep. We also found hairs on the towels. We have stayed many times this year with Best Western and are happy with their service and everything. But this hotel gave us a completely opposite experience. We felt bad to choose this hotel and ruined our vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jetaxe
Business
Monte Rio
Nov 17, 2014

Not a 5 star

The place was ok, needs some paint here and there. The salt air is taking it's toll. Went to make coffee in the room and found a used up coffee bag from the last guest still in the coffee maker. Only one pack of coffee, no decaf found. The coffee both in the room and at breakfast was like tea at best, time to step it up a little. Phone rang in my room at 01:30am, asking if I had an alarm sounding in my room! Breakfast was ok, nothing to write home about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Monterey aquarium.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TerriRB
Business
Clovis, Ca
Nov 17, 2014

weekend

Staff was friendly and helpful. hotel room needed some cleaning. sheets were excessively wrinkled as if they had been laying in a dirty pile and did no fit the bed. Loved the location. The beds were to hard for me. The room was a good size. I would try staying again to see if there is improvement with the sheets and room cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We were excited to find a restaurant across the street (Kula Ranch Island steak house) but disappointed with the flavor of the food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beachqueen22
Business
Sacramento, Ca
Oct 14, 2014

Great location

We stayed at the hotel for two days and enjoyed it. Beach access is directly across the street and the location is a few miles from Monterey and Carmel. The hotel needs comfortable beds and softer sheets. Our room was across from the courtyard, but next to the highway so it was loud at night. The breakfast was okay and the wifi worked well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Please eat at Frutti de Mar about a mile from the hotel and Monterey's fish house in Monterey, ca. Oh and during this time in October you can see whales while at the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hergaberga
Business
sonora ca
Sep 24, 2014

2nd anniversary

Very nice hotel. Staff was very nice. The only negative was no microwave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom and Audrey
Business
Modesto, Ca.
Sep 12, 2014

lovely location

Located a few minutes walk from a clean, lovely beach, this hotel has the unhurried atmosphere that we look for. It is only a 10 minute drive into Monterey when you are ready for aciton. The room was comfortable and clean and the bed was extra comfortable for a good night's sleep. Staff was friendly and helpful--oh, and breakfast was good, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Little movie theater in Pacific Grove

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The3ofus
Business
California
Aug 26, 2014

Good price, Nice location

This hotel worked perfectly into our budget and the location was a bonus; walking distance to the beach! The room was average, just enough room to move around. The shower was hot and strong! The beds were comfortable. The morning breakfast was simple and fresh. A very good value. The only true complaint is the towels and bedding were old, worn, stained, and faded. The hotel management should be embarrassed to offer guest this old rags. Luckily I brought my own bedding and towels. Fresh linens would make this family friendly hotel a place I would return to again and again. All in all we had a good time and were able to rest at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Target is down the rode! Plenty of restaurants and shopping in Marina. Perfect distance between Monterey and Santa Cruz.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top