$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

3 stars
View map of 900 North Sepulveda Blvd., Manhattan Beach, CA 90266

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
307 reviews
great location

close to beach, good restaurants... See full review

  • gttt
  • Apr 27, 2015
College visit

Good location. Airport. Beach. Good parking. Indian restaurant next door. Good breakfast. It is not... See full review

  • Kornel H.
  • Apr 24, 2015
LA hotel near the beach with pool, parking and free breakfast
Just a 15-minute walk from Manhattan Beach Pier, the Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach is well located for a business or leisure stay. The hotel offers guests the chance to experience a heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna, and the onsite restaurant serves a complimentary continental breakfast on the terrace in good weather. There are also a variety of local restaurants dishing up cuisines such as Cuban and Szechuan fare within a few minutes' walk. Located on the famous Pacific Coast Highway, the Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach provides easy access to LAX airport as well as major attractions such as Disneyland, Universal Studios and the Los Angeles Convention Center. The friendly staff members speak English and Spanish and are happy to help with tours or car rental. There is ample free parking on site.
Reasons to stay
  • Walking distance to Manhattan Beach Boulevard, with sandy beach, pier and aquarium
  • Heated outdoor pool complete with sauna and Jacuzzi
  • Microwaves, cable TV and free Wi-Fi in all rooms
The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach rooms
The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach rooms come in a variety of options, including accessible rooms, all decorated in a warm neutral style and offering wooden furniture, large work desks, a hairdryer and ironing facilities. Bed options include one King or two Queen beds and some of the larger rooms also offer Jacuzzi tubs. Families are welcome and can opt for a "family unit" room: adjoining double and twin rooms, both with bathrooms. All 44 rooms at the Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach supply free wireless high speed internet access as well as coffee and tea making facilities and a mini fridge. Smoking and non-smoking rooms are available and all rooms offer the benefits of free local phone calls and a complimentary USA Today newspaper. There are more than 70 cable television channels including HBO and ESPN as well as premium movie channels (fees apply).
Things to do nearby
  • Manhattan Beach (0.7 mi/1.0 km)
  • Redondo Beach (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Marina Del Rey (10.4 mi/ 16.7 km)
  • Santa Monica (12.3 mi/19.8 km)
  • Downtown Los Angeles (21.5 mi/34.6 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (31.8 mi/51.2 km)
  • Disneyland (32.9 mi/52.9 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach Rooms

Standard King
Corporate King Deluxe
Double Queen
Double Queen with Courtyard View.
Deluxe Family Unit
Deluxe Family Unit with 1 King and 2 Queens. 2 separate bedrooms are included with 2 separate bathrooms.
STANDARD - HOTEL
King Feature including a Whirpool Spa.
STANDARD - HOTEL
King Feature including a Whirlpool Spa and Fireplace.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Gringo
Mexican Retaurant located directly across the street
Fast Food
Jack in the Box, and El Pollo Loco restaurants located on the same block
Back Home in Lahaina
Hawaiian cuisine directly adjacent to the hotel
Szechuan Restaurant
Chinese restaurant located on the same block
Versailles
Cuban cuisine located on the same block
O - Sho Sushi
Japanese restaurant and sushi bar directly across the street
Baskin Robbins
Ice cream shop located directly across the street

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
307 out of 307
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Weekend Getaway'er
Business
Central Valley, Ca
Jan 20, 2014

Decent location, that's about it

We planned a one night stay in Manhattan Beach at the last minute. Most hotels were booked and we weren't too worried about the hotel because we weren't planning to be there much. When we checked in, the desk clerk didn't seem too happy too see us. We were quickly checked in and given the room key. Upon entering the room, everything seemed to be in order, it was just a little old and run down. The TV was an old, bulky CRT and the furniture was old and beat up. We then realized that the light over the vanity did not turn on. We also brought some bottled water and snacks for morning but found out that the refrigerator didn't work either. The bed was hard and uncomfortable and sleeping was difficult. The toilet was filthy and stained. In the morning, I turned the shower on to warm the water and walked away for a minute. When I came back, I found water all of the floor and discovered that the shower head sprays water all over and the shower curtain does not fold all the way out. When we checked out, a different clerk was there, and again was not too happy about us being in his presence. Overall, the location worked out well for us as it was pretty close to the hotel our friends were staying. There is free parking and free WiFi, but besides that, I wouldn't expect much. We won't be staying again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Smuckers621
Business
Colorado
Feb 23, 2014

The wave needs an upgrade

Was not happy with this "3 star" hotel...for what we paid we should have had a better value. The curtains were black, the sheets and towels looked dingy and were definitely not white. The carpets were gross, we didn't even take off our shoes let alone touch anything in the room. It needed a major wipe down/cleaning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Caligetaway
Business
Chicago
Mar 3, 2014

Not a good choice!!

Staff are really good and professional.. Location is good as well.. The bad thing about the hotel is that the rooms need renovation and extra cleaning. Towels were old and bad quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beach lover all the way
Business
harrisburg
Mar 11, 2014

MOLD MILDEW YUCK!!!! NOT A 3 STAR!!!!!

The staff at the front desk was the only pleasant thing about this hotel. IF you are looking for a 3 star hotel DO NOT BOOK THIS PLACE!!! Our room was covered in black mold ( spots all over the walls, curtains, lamp shade etc). It was severely musty in the room and the carpet was gross. I noticed other guests leaving their doors open as well so I am guessing this is a problem in all of the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sammi
Business
Union City, CA
Jan 2, 2011

Flooded room to dirty room - not good.

First we were put into a flooded room with wet carpet and mildew. after 1 night we were moved to a room that was dirty from the guests the night before. We had to leave to wait for the room to be cleaned after our move. The remote was broken, etc. all in all it was a place to sleep and we would not go back. It was posted as a 3 star hotel and I feel like we were misled. I've had better experience with other travel sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ray from WA
Business
Yelm, WA, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Beware

First off when we arrived around 1:30 PM to 2:00 PM the front desk staff could not find our reservation. Once they found our reservation, we were told to come back after 3:00 PM and our room would be ready. Once we got to our (up graded room ) we found that we had no fridge or microwave in the room but the room was listed on a chart that said that it was a $300.00 a night room. More like a $59.95 a night room. Each day we usually left the room in the early morning around 7:00 am and returned around 4:00 PM to 5:00 PM to find that our room had not been visited by housekeeping and was still the way we left it at 7:00 AM. Once the housekeeping showed up and changed the sheets and cleaned the room, we were told that they would return later with towels, which was usually a couple hours later. We did see ants in our room a few times, but they were not that much of a problem. On Friday and Saturday we were woke up around 2:00 AM to 3:00 AM both days with loud screetching, from some females who were returning from a night of partying and were drunk. All in all I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nastyanthotel
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Ant infested

Disgusting! Stains all over the carpet, blanket & couches. Ants were all over the counters and the Wifi didn't even work. this hotel was so disgusting we checked out early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Travler
Business
Medford, OR, USA
Feb 14, 2012

This place is a dump. NOT 3 Stars

To begin with I was greeted by a young man wearing a hoody. Not very professional or welcoming. Then they didn't have our reservation when we checked in. Wanted 2 double beds, got 1 king and a roll a way, that the staff acted like they were doing us a favor to bring in. That always starts things out on a good foot. Definitely no where near 3 stars. Heaters/air conditioners didn't work and were very loud. Stained carpets, debris from other travelers in room, lights in bathroom didn't work I could go on, but spend a few bucks more and stay in a clean updated place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cappie
Business
Midwesterner and happy for it!
May 30, 2012

Don't go here!

We checked in & were told we were being given an "automatic upgrade;' for what, I don't know, but if this was an upgrade, I wouldn't want to see the "regular room." Bulbs were hanging out of the lights, shades were paper, the rug was torn, the chair was dirty & the grouting around the tub looked like something a 10-year old tried to accomplish. Fortunately, we were able to move to another place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't go to LA without a GPS and a strong penchant for adventure. Six lane highways in each direction, with cars on your tail at 60+ m.p.h. is NOT relaxing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stewzie
Business
Netherlands
Sep 22, 2012

Terrible hotel

This is a shocking hotel!! Leaking ceilings, damp, mouldy and unsafe!! Without a doubt the worst hotel i have ever stayed in!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top