$125 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 6, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

3 stars
View map of 900 North Sepulveda Blvd., Manhattan Beach, CA 90266

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
321 out of 321
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Schmiegel
Business
Dallas TX
Jun 2, 2014

The Wave

rooms where not very clean. mold in the showers. needs updating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

if you want to be in the hip LA Beach Cities then this is a good place to be.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thrifty Kristy
Business
Torrance, California
Jun 1, 2014

Awesome staff, great hotel

For those that aren't looking for a 5-star hotel and pay and arm and a leg for a place to sleep, this is the place to go. It's location is convenient to LAX, manhattan beach, hermosa beach, and any place in the South Bay. It isn't anything super fancy, but for what you pay, you get a great deal for a pool, jacuzzi, sauna, laundry room, and a sufficient breakfast spread. Best of all, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mommyo3
Business
Federal Way
May 30, 2014

Needs entire new maid staff

We checked in at The Wave and upon entering our room we immediately noticed a heavy mildew smell in the air and you could only open the window about 3 inches, making it impossible to air out. The carpet was thick and lumpy. Half of the lights did not work. The first room had dirt all along the floor boards, built up, especially in the bathroom. Parts of the ceilings are warped and bubbled from water leaks unattended to. The floor was so dirty we found a prescription pill just sitting on the bathroom floor! If we moved a chair there was dirt under it. The second room was almost as dirty but at that point it was late and it was obvious that this establishmemt just doesn't cater to clientele who appreciate cleanliness. Free breakfast is dry cereal and dry pastries. And it is certainly not within walking distance to the beach as stated, hopedully they will remove that bit of false information. This little hotel has a lot of potential but no one to care. If they fired all the maids and hired new ones that had pride in their work, this place would be much more pleasant...and of cou rse bring in a waffle maker!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disgusted Traveler 1001
Business
Columbus, OHio
May 28, 2014

3 star?

if I could rate this hotel lower than one star I would.. I had to buy bed sheets and wouldn't even think about walking on the floor with no shoes. Even though my room was booked for 3 nights, I left and stayed somewhere else after just one night. This hotel should refund me for the nights that I did not stay here and remove this hotel from their website. The Health Department should also be called.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yclin
Business
el paso, texas
May 24, 2014

comfy place

It is a little far from downtown, but the place its very comfy. But the front desk need to give more attention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DJANGO5757
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 20, 2014

Not good.

I should have known better than to book a hotel that uses a night time picture as their profile. That said, the staff are at best unprofessional and at worst incompetent. The room was filthy and still had an empty shampoo bottle lying in the shower from the previous guest. It was still there when we left as the housekeeper never noticed. The wallpaper was falling off the wall. The bathroom door had a hole kicked in it. The ironing board was ripped and warped. The hair dryer didn't work. The bed had the comfort of a medieval torture rack and the pillows were designed by the Marquee de Sade. The door to get in the unit needed a good shoulder to open it and it had a 2 inch gap on the bottom, so you could see people walking by. The towels in the bathroom were tiny and had the comfort of Grade 80 sandpaper. They ran out of towels one day, stating that they were very busy. They gave us pool towels to use in the meantime which didn't possess the "quality" of the bath towels. Maybe Grade 60? The pool hadn't been cleaned in quite awhile given the debris content and several tiles around the pool had buckled up and were just waiting to devour a child's foot. There's more, but I wouldn't want to knit pick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WhoGirl
Business
Sioux Falls, SD
May 18, 2014

Eh take it or leave it

It's older and more run down. The rooms are nice sized, but very humid and damp. There was mold in the bathroom. All the lights are motion activated so if you are just sitting watching TV or playing your computer you have to continually get up to keep the lights on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mushfique
Business
albany ny
May 18, 2014

one night business stay

very solid hotel w friendly staff..they held my luggage all day even when i had already checked out. great pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYCJEFF
Business
yonkers, ny
May 13, 2014

Good place to stay.

Very comfortable place to stay if you're spending a few nights in LA and don't want to spend much. Close to the Manhattan Beach pier. The area is great. Everything you need is close by, including In and Out burger lol. I would def. stay here again next time I'm in town. The best part of all. IT HAS FREE PARKING!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brazil2014
Business
Los angeles, CA
May 12, 2014

far from LA views

its in a great beach, but far from the main places at los angeles. I think a little expensive regarding the room offered .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top