$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

3 stars
900 North Sepulveda Blvd., Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
241 reviews
Amazing time

This was an outstanding hotel! We loved it and we really enjoyed the experience See full review

  • PeteyPeteR
  • Jul 29, 2014
Good hotel, Great location

The hotel is located within walking distance of Manhattan beach. It has a really nice looking pool... See full review

  • Mozly
  • Aug 11, 2014
LA hotel near the beach with pool, parking and free breakfast
Just a 15-minute walk from Manhattan Beach Pier, the Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach is well located for a business or leisure stay. The hotel offers guests the chance to experience a heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna, and the onsite restaurant serves a complimentary continental breakfast on the terrace in good weather. There are also a variety of local restaurants dishing up cuisines such as Cuban and Szechuan fare within a few minutes' walk. Located on the famous Pacific Coast Highway, the Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach provides easy access to LAX airport as well as major attractions such as Disneyland, Universal Studios and the Los Angeles Convention Center. The friendly staff members speak English and Spanish and are happy to help with tours or car rental. There is ample free parking on site.
Reasons to stay
  • Walking distance to Manhattan Beach Boulevard, with sandy beach, pier and aquarium
  • Heated outdoor pool complete with sauna and Jacuzzi
  • Microwaves, cable TV and free Wi-Fi in all rooms
The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach rooms
The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach rooms come in a variety of options, including accessible rooms, all decorated in a warm neutral style and offering wooden furniture, large work desks, a hairdryer and ironing facilities. Bed options include one King or two Queen beds and some of the larger rooms also offer Jacuzzi tubs. Families are welcome and can opt for a "family unit" room: adjoining double and twin rooms, both with bathrooms. All 44 rooms at the Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach supply free wireless high speed internet access as well as coffee and tea making facilities and a mini fridge. Smoking and non-smoking rooms are available and all rooms offer the benefits of free local phone calls and a complimentary USA Today newspaper. There are more than 70 cable television channels including HBO and ESPN as well as premium movie channels (fees apply).
Things to do nearby
  • Manhattan Beach (0.7 mi/1.0 km)
  • Redondo Beach (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Marina Del Rey (10.4 mi/ 16.7 km)
  • Santa Monica (12.3 mi/19.8 km)
  • Downtown Los Angeles (21.5 mi/34.6 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (31.8 mi/51.2 km)
  • Disneyland (32.9 mi/52.9 km)

Hotel Map

33.8848 -118.3959
Area served
Manhattan Beach, Redondo Beach, Hermosa Beach, Los Angeles, Palos Verdes
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), Long Beach Airport (LGB)
Area description
20 miles from Downtown Los Angeles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach Rooms

Standard King
Corporate King Deluxe
Double Queen
Double Queen with Courtyard View.
Deluxe Family Unit
Deluxe Family Unit with 1 King and 2 Queens. 2 separate bedrooms are included with 2 separate bathrooms.
STANDARD - HOTEL
King Feature including a Whirpool Spa.
STANDARD - HOTEL
King Feature including a Whirlpool Spa and Fireplace.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Gringo
Mexican Retaurant located directly across the street
Fast Food
Jack in the Box, and El Pollo Loco restaurants located on the same block
Back Home in Lahaina
Hawaiian cuisine directly adjacent to the hotel
Szechuan Restaurant
Chinese restaurant located on the same block
Versailles
Cuban cuisine located on the same block
O - Sho Sushi
Japanese restaurant and sushi bar directly across the street
Baskin Robbins
Ice cream shop located directly across the street

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (241)

Ratings and reviews for The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
241 out of 241
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Babyrashy
Manhattan Beach, CA
Jul 31, 2014

Bad experience

DIRTY, rude, terrible experience... Very unhelpful. Didn't speak English. Overbooked

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Simmzys

Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mickey10300
Bakersfield, ca
Jun 9, 2014

Old and dirty

Hotel was very outdated and room was dirty, bed was not comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sammi
Union City, CA
Jan 2, 2011

Flooded room to dirty room - not good.

First we were put into a flooded room with wet carpet and mildew. after 1 night we were moved to a room that was dirty from the guests the night before. We had to leave to wait for the room to be cleaned after our move. The remote was broken, etc. all in all it was a place to sleep and we would not go back. It was posted as a 3 star hotel and I feel like we were misled. I've had better experience with other travel sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nastyanthotel
Detroit, MI, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Ant infested

Disgusting! Stains all over the carpet, blanket & couches. Ants were all over the counters and the Wifi didn't even work. this hotel was so disgusting we checked out early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Travler
Medford, OR, USA
Feb 14, 2012

This place is a dump. NOT 3 Stars

To begin with I was greeted by a young man wearing a hoody. Not very professional or welcoming. Then they didn't have our reservation when we checked in. Wanted 2 double beds, got 1 king and a roll a way, that the staff acted like they were doing us a favor to bring in. That always starts things out on a good foot. Definitely no where near 3 stars. Heaters/air conditioners didn't work and were very loud. Stained carpets, debris from other travelers in room, lights in bathroom didn't work I could go on, but spend a few bucks more and stay in a clean updated place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beach lover all the way
harrisburg
Mar 11, 2014

MOLD MILDEW YUCK!!!! NOT A 3 STAR!!!!!

The staff at the front desk was the only pleasant thing about this hotel. IF you are looking for a 3 star hotel DO NOT BOOK THIS PLACE!!! Our room was covered in black mold ( spots all over the walls, curtains, lamp shade etc). It was severely musty in the room and the carpet was gross. I noticed other guests leaving their doors open as well so I am guessing this is a problem in all of the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rodman 100
Business
Denver, Colorado
Aug 19, 2013

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL

Myself and one of my staff members traveled to Los Angeles to do some production work. We had prepaid for our entire trip. Our plane was delayed, and we arrived at the hotel at around 11:00 pm. The person working the desk checked me into my room, then turned to my staff member and told him that he had no other rooms available. I continued to explain to him that we had pre-paid, and had the receipts to prove it (which he acknowledged). He said that there was nothing he could do, and that he would have to find accommodations elsewhere. Of course, everything else in the area was sold out. We sat there with this guy for about an hour with nothing being resolved. Another hotel employee came on duty, and was able to get us into another unused room for the night, but said we would have to move him out of that room the next day and into another room. No problem right.....well the next day we came back from our shoots at 6:00, and still no room. At this point, I had to send my staff member to another hotel at the airport. When I went to the front desk to report the incident. The guy started claiming that he did have a room, and that we had actually stayed in that room. An absolute lie. I am sure that he was just trying to cover his backside for when I asked the booking agent for a refund for the second night. Overall, these guys were incredibly unprofessional, and it was the worst hotel experience I have ever had. If you are going to Manhattan Beach, I would recommend that you find accommodations elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Seattle to Disneyland
Seattle, WA
Nov 19, 2013

Terrible place

We stayed here one night on the way to Disneyland. We had a large room with a Jacuzzi and an electric fireplace. First off, the Jacuzzi was broken. There was a lamp in the corner that kept falling over, it was broken too. So was the fireplace. The shower barely worked. I complained at the front desk, the person on that evening said "oh, the jacuzzi has been broken a long time. And I'lll write the other things down". That was it. Location is ok, a little sketchy. Check the room out before you stay. Or go someplace else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a mall close to the hotel

Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Caligetaway
Chicago
Mar 3, 2014

Not a good choice!!

Staff are really good and professional.. Location is good as well.. The bad thing about the hotel is that the rooms need renovation and extra cleaning. Towels were old and bad quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Wave Hotel Manhattan Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed in CALI
Manhatten Beach, California
Mar 14, 2013

Not the best start to first vaca in LA

The room was booked as part of a vacation package. With our flight not getting in until 1am, and having to get the rental car first, called a couple days before check in to verify everything was ok. 230am, night front desk employee was prompt and friendly. Opened door to the room and found it a mess, room cleaning start the room but never finished, sheets piled on the beds, wet towels on the bathroom floor, trash still in room. "I guess they forgot to finish" was the explanation and no alternative rooms with double beds available. WE had to suggest TO THE EMPLOYEE giving us a room with a single bed for the night until the room could be cleaned first thing in the morning. We were told our room would be the first on the schedule at 7am to be cleaned. We needed two roll away beds to accommodate the move to a room with one bed for the night, which took 1 hour to find because they had no idea were theirs were...had to take from a hotel across the street. Now its 4am and finally in bed. Next morning "no cleaning staff have come in yet". 10am until we were in our original room--which has stained carpets, remote control is dirty with no back so batteries keep falling out, ironing board stained too. Just happy will be spending more of my vacation site seeing and enjoy my first time in California then at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search