$151 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

The Belamar Hotel

4 stars
3501 Sepulveda Blvd., Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
164 reviews
WOW!

Great Hotel - great service, was super surprised as to how great this place was. See full review

  • MikeLCT
  • Jul 30, 2014
good price and good service

Worth every penny. Recomanded. Staff are very kind. Also valet was so convenient. See full review

  • Juny2007
  • Jul 1, 2014
Sunny, stylish resort combines beach playground with access to L.A.

The lush Belamar resort offers a host of amenities to make each guest's stay a cozy, comfortable one. Proximity to nearby beaches and use of beach cruiser bicycles (fees apply) turn all of Manhattan Beach into a playground. An on-site garden makes the Belamar a relaxing refuge. Quick access to freeways means attractions in L.A. and beyond are just a drive away.

Highlights
  • Each room features signature FeatherBorne beds
  • Use of beach cruiser bicycles (fees apply)
  • Close proximity to Los Angeles International Airport and city freeways
Location
The resort is steps away from first-class shopping, dining and beaches. Los Angeles International Airport is a short drive away, and the nearby 405 freeway allows for efficient travel all across Los Angeles and beyond.
Rooms

The hotel's 127 lively, comforting rooms feature signature FeatherBorne Beds with Frette Italian linens, L'Occitane bath and body amenities, marble bathrooms and in-room spa treatments. Rooms also sport Boston Acoustics radios with iPod docking stations, flat-screen TVs with premium channels, DVD players and complimentary high-speed Internet.

 

All rooms come furnished with either a king bed or two doubles. King deluxe rooms feature exclusive private balconies. Junior suites offer extra sitting areas, while parlor suites come with separate living and sleeping quarters and include an extra Murphy bed.

Features

This stylish beachside retreat features the lush Sunset Garden ideal for strolling and relaxing. The sexy, elegant Second Story Restaurant serves up delicious American classics with a fresh, California twist as well as fabulous cocktails.

Recharge between meetings or sightseeing at Adrenaline, the Belamar's state-of-the-art fitness center. Guests can unwind at the outdoor heated poor or soothe tired muscles in the Jacuzzi. The hotel also provides beach cruiser bicycles (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (4 mi/7 km)
  • Long Beach Airport (17 mi/27 km)
Attractions
  • The beach (1 mi/2 km)
  • Santa Monica Pier & Third Street Promenade (11 mi/18 km)
  • J. Paul Getty Museum (18 mi/29 km)
  • Rodeo Drive/Beverly Hills (17 mi/27 km)
  • Aquarium of the Pacific (18 mi/29 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theatre & Hollywood Walk of Fame (25 mi/40 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (28 mi/44 km)
  • Disneyland (33 mi/53 km)
Business
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center
  • 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space
  • 6 meeting rooms
Policies and fees
  • The Belamar allows one cat or dog per room (60 pounds maximum), and guests must provide a carrier. Carriers must be used when pets are taken out of the room. The hotel charges a one-time, non-refundable fee, and guests must sign pet policy upon check in.
  • The Belamar Hotel provides Valet Parking only at the rate of $10.00 per vehicle, per night.  Said charge(s) will be added to the guest folio on a nightly basis.  Parking is complimentary for visitors to The Belamar Hotel who do not require overnight parking for their vehicle.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.9007 -118.3967
Area served
Manhattan Beach, Beverly Hills, Century City, Downtown Los Angeles, Hermosa Beach, Redondo Beach
Nearby airports
LAX - Los Angeles International BUR - Burbank LGB - Long Beach
Area description
The Belamar offers a unique Southern Californian location close to Manhattan Beach Pier, Promenade and the beach, and just 16 miles from Beverly Hills and Rodeo Drive.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Belamar Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Belamar Hotel Rooms

Traditional One King
Traditional King Traditional in name only, these funky guest rooms provide one king FeatherBorne Bed and are complemented by state-of-the-art entertainment amenities such as free wireless Internet Access, a Boston Acoustics Radio and iPod Docking Station as well as lavish Pholosophy bath & body products. Each room features: DVD player Spacious work desk Room service from Second Story Restaurant Turndown service (upon request) In-room spa treatments Refrigerator Coffee maker Iron and ironing board Plush bathrobes Air conditioning Complimentary newspaper Complimentary shoe shine
Traditional Double Double
Indulge your inner starlet Traditional in name only, these funky guest rooms provide two double FeatherBorne Beds and are complemented by state-of-the-art entertainment amenities such as free wireless Internet Access, a Boston Acoustics Radio and iPod Docking Station as well as lavish Philosophy bath & body products. Each Traditional Double Double room features: Spacious work desk Room service from Second Story Restaurant Turndown service (upon request) In-room spa treatments Refrigerator Coffee maker Iron and ironing board Plush bathrobes Air conditioning Complimentary newspaper Complimentary shoe shine
Deluxe King
Deluxe King Deluxe King rooms at The Belamar feature a king signature FeatherBorne Bed and are complemented by state-of-the-art entertainment amenities such as free wireless Internet Access, a Boston Acoustics radio and iPod docking station as well as lavish Philosophy bath & body products. Each room features: FeatherBorne Bed Complimentary wireless Internet access Philosophy bath and body products DVD player Boston Acoustics radio with iPod docking station Spacious work desk Room service from Second Story Restaurant Turndown service (upon request) In-room spa treatments Refrigerator Coffee maker Iron and ironing board Plush bathrobes

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Second Story Restaurant
Features new American cuisine comfort food prepared with a creative twist. Open for Breakfast and Lunch from 6:30am-2pm and Dinner from 5pm-10pm.
Second Story Lounge
Second Story Lounge has an identity all of its own - serving fabulous drinks. Open from 4pm - midnight daily.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
For meetings, weddings and special events The Belamar offers nearly 7,500 square feet of indoor and outdoor function space for groups of eight to 400.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for The Belamar Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Belamar Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dee Dawn
Hemet California
May 16, 2014

WARNING STAY AWAY!

NO SELF PARKING ONLY VALET AND PAID $10 ONLY TO FIND TIRE SLASHED. IPHONE CORD AND CHARGER STOLEN AND WAITED A LONG TIME AT CHECK IN BECAUSE WE GOT THEIR EARLY, WELL AFTER CHECK OUT BECAUSE I AM ALLERGIC TO CATS AND COULD NOT HAVE A ROOM WITH ANIMALS. WAS TOLD TO FILE A POLICE REPORT FOR SLASHED TIRE, GAVE ME SOME OLD USED OTHER CUSTOMERS CHARGER AND THEIR RUDENESS AND DEMEANOR ESPECIALLY THE GENERAL MANAGER AFTER I TOLD HER THAT I WANTED TO SEE CAMERAS TO PROSECUTE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't ever arrive early to get a room on a certain floor. Better yet save yourself a lot of tears and anger and stay away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Belamar Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveling and Tired
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 20, 2014

Gave away my room!

I arrived at 6pm and they did not have a room for me! I had to go to another hotel that was less convenient. Won't be going back here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Belamar Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dee Dawn
Hemet California
May 17, 2014

Tire Slashed

Be careful cause you can't park your own car, and if they park your car where the cameras don't reach, so conveniently, than you may end up with tires slashed or dents etc. Not worth the anxiety of filling out police report etc. and apparently I am not the only one, read trip adviser. How funny that only a bunch of good comments are posted first and they sound just like how the manager talks. Don't get the staff upset!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Save yourself time and money from someone who thinks its funny to destroy guests property.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Belamar Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Big Styles
Denver, CO
Jul 5, 2010

She ain't what she used to be!

I first stayed at the Belamar in 2007, and found it a real treat a boutique hotel with an old fashioned vibe, a great price, super location friendly staff and great amenities. This time around however instead of feeling like home I was made to feel like anything but a guest. From the valet to the front desk to the terrible double queen room that I stayed in (In 2007 I stayed in one of the balconied rooms) the Belamar was just a disappointment. Upon arrival with arms full of suitcases the front desk clerk looked me up and down and asked "what can we help you with today?" I cannot tell you how much better a simple "checking in?" would have been. From that moment on the staff seemed put upon to help with directions, bike rentals, taxis, visitors etc. I pride myself on being a traveler with A+ manners, but the Belamar staff never seemed to care that I was there, or how long I was staying. To make things worse I was in town for my best friends' wedding, and when he and his new bride arrived at the Belamar the night of their wedding they found that the hotel had given away their Suite. Speaking of sweet, it's a small thing but in 2007 the hotel offered delicious fresh baked cookies in the evening. Now they have foil wrapped ding dongs. Talk about a downgrade. I vented to a member of the staff on checkout and he offered to comp a night's stay at the Belamar should I ever return. Hmmm, I still like the Belamar, but she ain't what she used to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay use the complimentary bikes to get yourself down to Manhattan Beach, Hermosa beach, and go to Uncle Bill's for breakfast if possible!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Belamar Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Watford
Sep 12, 2008

dissapointing

The pool was out of action for our whole trip, due to maintenance, the hotel staff did not tell us on check in...I asked the guy fixing the pool!!!! The best bit of the hotel was the restaurant great service and food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great beach and some bars

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Belamar Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 20, 2007

I was kind of taken back ...

I was kind of taken back that the rent for the rooms were as high as they were when I had gotten to the hotel and entered the room. I was expecting the room to be a little larger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is shopping near by being that it is in LA

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Belamar Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
almaden
Business
San Jose CA
Mar 19, 2012

notwhat i expected

This hotel has a kind've modern edge to it...bright yellow walls, and unflattering poster on the walls. The lobby consists of a 'make shift' table top...and at first glnace you wonder if this is where you should check in. Carpets are worn, as well as the rooms...The restaurant/ lounge is medicor..breakfast consists of a buffet only... , price was ok...but will not be returning to this hotel...for a couple bucks more there is better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Belamar Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ELKS
new york
Mar 8, 2013

Acceptable

The bathroom counter and sink were dirty. The shade over the balcony door did not fit, so in the early morning as soon as it became light there was sunlight streaming onto my face in an otherwise darkened room, and no way to block the light. The room was very noisy as if we were under or near a motor or air conditioner or something. This was a constant vibration and sound and irritating. I had asked for a quiet room. The desk clerk tried to be helpful and print out my boarding pass, but at the airport I found he'd printed the wrong document. The breakast was either a $15.99 buffet or nothing. All I'd wanted was toast and coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Belamar Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
UK
Nov 15, 2010

Stayed at better hotels for money paid

Location was a bit of a disappointment but the hotel staff were lovely and very helpful. The valet parking is a pain, although it is free you do feel obliged to tip each time you drop off and collect the car. There was no pressure to do this as the people sorting out the car were also very good. The room was ordinary, we weren't impressed with the curtain wardrobe and bathroom- good job we were only there for three days. The pool is...... interesting. The chairs were comfy and the towels were a good size. The one meal we had was average, menu looked really good plenty of choice, perhaps we picked the wrong thing. Staff were very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some good places at the mall which is about 5/10 minutes walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Belamar Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Israel
Apr 13, 2012

Would come again

Our girls loved the hotel. T.v. Was good. Very helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search