$118 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 17, 2015 Check-out: Mar 20, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

3 stars
View map of 3228 Main Street, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
38 reviews
Great get away

Beautiful hotel off the main strip which made it a lot more quieter and relaxing to stay in. The... See full review

  • Neuphix
  • Jul 16, 2014
Very convenient and great breakfasts!

The location is right off Main St, a half block from the tram and two tram stops from the village.... See full review

  • Slowatfirst
  • Aug 11, 2014
Come join us at the BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel where you'll experience luxury amidst the breathtaking beauty of California's Sierra Nevada mountain range. With our knowledgeable and friendly staff ready to greet your arrival, you will enjoy our 100% non-smoking facility nestled in the middle of town with easy access to restaurants, shops and the Mammoth Mountain Ski Area. Our newly renovated hotel has beautiful guest rooms, an indoor pool and hot tub, exercise room, business center, game room and our very own Cafe 203 complete with evening lounge. From our standard rooms with a king or two queen beds, to our suites with kitchenettes or hot tubs, we have a variety of accommodations to satisfy any desire. We even have a `honeymoon suite for that romantic getaway or kids suites complete with a set of bunk beds for the youngsters. All of our rooms come standard with a 37-inch flat screen TV, free wireless Internet, a work desk and daily housekeeping. Whether you are here for work or play, our complimentary hot buffet breakfast will prepare you for your day. Once you check in, we don't allow early departures. Contact the hotel for details. In this outdoorsman paradise you'll find adventure and fun awaiting your arrival any time of the year. In the summer you can enjoy annual music festivals and more such as the Jazz Jubilee and Bluesapalooza, the Ford Motocross competition, Mammoth Mountain Bike Park, Volcom Skate park competition and Oktoberfest to name a few. Winter brings lots of snow and The Roxy Chicken Jam, Mammoth Dog Sledding, the West Coast Invitational and much more. Mammoth Lakes is where you want to be to enjoy skiing, snowboarding, sledding, snowmobiling, biking, rock climbing, hiking, golfing or fishing. Whether you are a seasoned explorer or just simply looking for a peaceful vacation, we have it all. Reserve your next adventure and come stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel in the beautiful Sierra Nevada.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HISPD,MICRFRG,ONE 37LCD,COFMKR,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,JETTED,37LCD,HISPD,MICRFG,COFMKR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,KITETT,HISPD,37FLTV,MICRFG,COFMKR,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,2BDRMS,KITCH,SEPLVG,37LCD,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 KING BEDS
SUITE-2 KING BEDS,NSMK,2BDRMS,JETTED,KITCH,SEPLVG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,SOFABD,MICROWV,REFRIGE,37IN LCD TV,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSM,FAMILY STE,SLEEPS 4,BUNK BEDS,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,JETTEDTB,KITETT,SEP LIVING,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,JET TUB,KITCHENETTE,HI SPEED NET,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,PETFRD,37LCD,MICRFG,HISPD,COFMKR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,WALK SHWR,SOFBD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,WALK IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Game room
Boating
Horseback riding
Cross country skiing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

The Lakefront
4 mile(s) from The Lakefront, Full Service, French, Open for: dinner, Romantic atmosphere on Twin Lakes.
Chart House
0.50 mile(s) from Chart House, Full Service, Steak House, Open for: dinner,
Giovanni's
1 mile(s) from Giovanni's, Full Service, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner, Best pizza in town.
Skadi
1.25 mile(s) from Skadi, Full Service, Mediterranean, Open for: dinner,
Gomez's
0.50 mile(s) from Gomez's, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner, Best Authentic Mexican Restaurant in town.
Perry's Italian Cafe
Across the street from Perry's Italian Cafe, Full Service, Italian, Open for: dinner,
Whiskey Creek
1 mile(s) from Whiskey Creek, Full Service, American, Open for: dinner,
Burgers
1 mile(s) from Burgers, Full Service, American, Open for: dinner,
Petra's
1 mile(s) from Petra's, Full Service, French, Open for: dinner,
Nik-n-Willies Pizza & Sub
0.50 mile(s) from Nik-n-Willies Pizza & Sub, Deli, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kelly0987
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 6, 2014

Average hotel, unprofessional staff

Two day stay in the off season. Staff is harried and not very hospitable. Had trouble taking my breakfast up to my room because the head chef was concerned he'd get into trouble. He had no concept of hospitality. Had a problem getting a taxi on Sunday because there is only one taxi service in town and they must have all gone fishing. Hotel manager would not drive me less than 15 minutes to the Mammoth Yosimite Airport in the hotel shuttle, I had to rent a car to drive there. Avoid this hotel like the plague.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slowatfirst
Business
Northern CA
Aug 11, 2014

Very convenient and great breakfasts!

The location is right off Main St, a half block from the tram and two tram stops from the village. The breakfast is bountiful, enough to carry us through much of the day---a very worthwhile perk!!! Hotel is clean with average-sized rooms, a good value, especially for summer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Neuphix
Business
Los Angeles, ca
Jul 16, 2014

Great get away

Beautiful hotel off the main strip which made it a lot more quieter and relaxing to stay in. The room was clean and big for my husband and me. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The buffet was yummy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geordie girl
Business
Durham, England
Jul 3, 2014

Stunning location for soaking up beautiful scenery

This hotel is built to take advantage of its stunning location overlooking the beautiful red rocks of Sedona. Our room, although not on the top floor, still had great views, and there were comfortable outdoor tables and chairs at all levels to take in the panorama. Although not in the centre of town for restaurants, shops etc, there was a free shuttle bus for guests to use, and the views more than compensated. There was an excellent restaurant, Judi's, just around the corner which turned out to be much better than the overpriced grill we tried in the town centre. Staff were very welcoming. Breakfast was a pretty standard buffet in an equally basic room and compared poorly to other Best Western Pluses we stayed at on this tour. However we would be happy to stay again for the wonderful location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Judi's restaurant, just around the corner but tucked away slightly. Seek it out. Service, food and atmosphere were excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RXCC
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 24, 2014

They charge you plastic room key if you do not return

The staff never told me I have to return the plastic room key when I checked in. So, they charged me the key that I did not return. I have traveled many hotels and this is the first hotel that I am asked me to return the plastic key. If you want to see yosemite park, this is not a hotel for you because it takes about 2-3 hours drive to arrive at the center of the park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bubukitty
Business
mammoth lakes, california
Feb 24, 2014

Amazing Couple Getaway

The hotel is very close to Mammoth Mountain, Shops, restaurants, The Village, etc. the public bus and trolley system is free and very convenient. Having free breakfast in the morning before hitting the slopes was a most and very good! nothing can't beat having a hot tub and a pool while having a beer to relax after a day in the mountain. would love to stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

take the trolley a few stops or stretch the legs for a 10 min walk to Shogun, japanese restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Snowhounds
Business
United Kingdom
Mar 4, 2013

OK hotel, Front desk staff could try harder.

This hotel is below the standard of other Best Western Plus hotels we've stayed in. First the positives - clean rooms, good location, above average breakfast buffet. Negatives - mainly the front desk staff. There were usually 3-4 staff at the front desk but even basic requests were too much trouble (such as calling a taxi when our in-room phone didn't work and storing our luggage on the day we left). If these things are important to you then book elsewhere. Also be aware that they don't offer an airport shuttle and the wifi is often unavailable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Becky Snow Bunny
Business
Tustin, Ca
Feb 20, 2013

President's weekend getaway

We enjoyed the room, comfortable beds, nice tv, good selection of channels. Nice complimantary breakfast too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MissMR
Business
California
Jan 28, 2013

More than I expected!

I didn't know what to expect when I booked this hotel. But I have to say I was impressed with my room and service. It's the perfect place to stay if you are going to spend most of your time out skiing and enjoying wonderful mammoth :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Doug skier
Business
Los Angeles
Jan 26, 2013

Close to Mammoth Skiing

Mammoth ski shuttle stop right in front of hotel. About a 10-15 minute shuttle ride to main lodge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top