$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Standard, Downtown LA

3 stars
View map of 550 South Flower St, Corner W 6th St, Los Angeles, CA 90071

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
122 reviews
It I a party hotel but still quite

It was great and great views of down town.. Would like to stay here again See full review

  • Dj BV
  • Jul 28, 2015
Awesome LA spot

really cool hotel with some truly unique amenities. the rooftop pool/patio/bar/lounge was amazing... See full review

  • Logan A.
  • Jul 21, 2015

The hotel's 24/7 Restaurant serves fabulous New American cuisine in a vibrant, retro-diner interior and an outdoor patio alongside a delightful fountain. At the Rooftop Bar, DJ's spin the hippest grooves, guests sip te

General
  • Closest Metro Stations: Pershing Square (0.5 mi/less than 1 km), 7th/Metro Center (2 blocks)
  • Union Station (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Bob Hope Airport (15 mi/25 km)   
    Location

    This hotel really does set the standard for "urban cool" in L.A. Cutting-edge design and a dynamic vibe fill every inch of the hotel, from the swank lobby to the ultra-stylish rooms. Guests are dazzled by the super-coo

    Dining
    • Museum of Contemporary Art (less than 1 mi/1 km)
    • Walt Disney Concert Hall (1 mi/1.5 km)
    • Grauman's Chinese Theatre & Hollywood Walk of Fame (8 mi/13 km)
    • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (10 mi/16 km)
    • Rodeo
      Rooms

      Guest rooms vary in size from 300 to 1,000 square feet. Designed with bright, post-modern style, these spaces are sure to delight guests. All rooms come with either queen- or king-size platform beds, complimentary Wi-F

      Property features
      • Rooftop Bar offers spectacular downtown views and chic design
      • Stylish guest rooms with glass-encased showers and platform beds
      • Ultra-convenient downtown location near major cultural destinations
      Nearby attractions
      • Business center
      • Complimentary Wi-Fi
      • 14,500 square feet of flexible meeting space
      • Customizable sound systems
      • In-room fax machines
      Transportation

      At the time of check-in, the hotel takes an authorization to cover incidental charges. Please be aware that if a debit or check card is presented at check-in, your bank may place a hold

      Entertainment

      Downtown L.A. landmark is a hip gateway to city sights and nightlife

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Standard, Downtown LA also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$186
3.8 / 5 310 reviews
★★★★
$129
4.2 / 5 136 reviews
★★★★
$219
4.4 / 5 59 reviews
★★★
$179
3.9 / 5 151 reviews
★★★★
$189
3.8 / 5 44 reviews
★★★★
$177
4.1 / 5 282 reviews
★★★★
$179
4.3 / 5 36 reviews
★★★★
$170
4.1 / 5 51 reviews
★★★
$155
3.5 / 5 99 reviews

The Standard, Downtown LA Rooms

Cheap Room
CHEAP ROOM. QUEEN BED. 280 SQFT. A GLASS ENCASED SHOW ALL SHOWER. FREE WIFI
Big Penthouse
BIG PENTHOUSE. KING BED.915 SQFT. DINING AREA. SUPERSIZED SHOWER. FREE WIFI
Bigger Penthouse
BIGGER PENTHOUSE. KING BED. 1000 SQFT. CORNER ROOM.DINING AREA. FREE WIFI.
Medium Room
MEDIUM ROOM. QUEEN BED. 300 SQFT. GLASS SHOW ALL SHOWER. 14FT DESK. FREE WIFI.
Large Room
LARGE ROOM. KING BED. 380 SQFT. GLASS ENCASED SHOWER. 14FT DESK. FREE WIFI.
Double Standard Room
DOUBLE STANDARD ROOM. 2 FULL BEDS. 380 SQFT. FROSTED SHOWER.14FT DESK.FREE WIFI
X-Large Room
X-LARGE ROOM. KING BED. 400 SQFT. CORNER ROOM. SOAK TUB. SITTING AREA. FREE WIFI
Huge Room
HUGE ROOM. KING BED. 420 SQFT. SOAKING TUB OPENS UP TO ROOM.14FT DESK.FREE WIFI
Gigantic Room
GIGANTIC ROOM. 480 SQFT. KING. CNR ROOM. SOAKING TUB. SEATING AREA. FREE WIFI
Humongous Room
HUMONGOUS ROOM. KING BED. 590 SQFT. CNR ROOM. SUPERSIZED SHOWER.FREE WIFI
Wow Room
WOW ROOM. EMPEROR BED. 710 SQFT. OVERSIZED TUB. L SHAPED SOFA. FREE WIFI

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Accessible parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Pershing Square: 0.3 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.5 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.9 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.4 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.3 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.5 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.9 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.4 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 2.9 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.2 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.3 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.4 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 5.7 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 5.8 mi
  • The Grove: 6 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Farmers Market: 6.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.2 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.4 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 6.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 6.9 mi
  • Kitson: 7.5 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 8.4 mi
  • Universal Studios: 8.4 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 10.6 mi
  • University of California: 10.7 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 10.7 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11 mi
  • UCLA: 11.4 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 12.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 12.7 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.2 mi

Dining

The Restaurant
Features a 24-7 Restaurant for around-the clock breakfast - brunch - lunch and dinner. Executive Yuji Iwasa offers an organic twist to Mediterranean cuisine. Infused cocktails - daily specials and an extensive yet affordable wine list. Staff are quintesse

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Standard, Downtown LA

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 122
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
3

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tadddd
Single
Bay Area
Aug 6, 2014

What the W tries to be.

This is it. The epitome of trendy. Rooftop pool party, celebrities, 460 sq ft room, modern styling, overstocked mini bar, comfortable bed - I could go on. Was it really worth the price? If it's not out of reach of your checkbook and you're in your early twenties... Yes it was worth it. It really feels like this is what The W models itself after. The W feels far less accessible though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

You'll be able to skip the line for the pool on weekend nights if your a hotel guest.

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sinful Sierra
Single
San Francisco CA
Jul 11, 2014

Nice Roof Top But Bad Room for stay. :(

It is ok for young cloud. But if you seeking classy not the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Roof top and pool!

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hockey fan from Dallas
Single
Dallas
Jun 9, 2014

Quick trip

I flew in and out of LA on a brief stay to attend the 2014 NHL Stanley Cup Final game 2, so I did not spend very much time in the hotel itself other than for sleeping. The hotel is about a 1 mile walk from the Staples Center, so the location was handy. The hotel has a modern, northern Euro hipster vibe (gray and yellow colors, a bed very low to the ground on a platform, etc.). If you have back pain and have a hard time getting in and out of a standard height bed, you would find it hard getting in and out of the bed in the room since it was almost like sleeping at floor level. Staff was very helpful and courteous. As I had a very early flight the next morning (needing to leave at 0430 from the hotel), there was no problems as the hotel desk is staffed 24/7 as well as an attendant to get your rental car. It also has a 24/7 restaurant that serves upscale food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bunkermonk
Single
Detroit, Michigan
Apr 5, 2014

the perfect location

The Standard in downtown LA is a sleek hotel located just 2 blocks from a subway station. Giving you quick, cheap travel access to most of LA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to head to western Hollywood, take the subway to Hollywood and Highland (the walk of fame) and get an Uber personal car to pick you up from there. Its cheaper than a cab and taking the subway shortens the travel distance. The front desk at the hotel is who told me about Uber, which is a fantastic service that runs 24 hours a day.

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reno business traveler
Single
Reno, Nevada
Sep 3, 2013

Great location, some strong positives, some negatives

The location could simply not be improved upon in downtown Los Angeles. It is near good shopping, etc. The room itself was attractive, but "trendy" in an way not designed for comfort. The bed was a mattress and box springs on a 4 inch platform rather than a bed frame, so I would "roll out of bed" as standing up was odd. There was only a single, unpadded plastic chair in the room, which was inadequate. The television is a rather small one. The elevator was S-L-O-W and a problem. On the other hand, the staff was superb and the restaurant was open 24 hours. The valet parking service was able to get my car in less than one minute (repeatedly) which is much, much better than having to call 30 minutes prior to leaving and then just hoping that it is ready when you need it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

Except for early dinner, breakfast is served around the clock in the restaurant.

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VicB
Single
North Hollywood, CA
May 7, 2013

Nightclub in my room

I hate that they had a "bouncer" to get into the room elevators. Everyone had to check in to get into my room. Sometimes I had to go down and get them. What's the point of getting a large room if you can't have people in it. It was like getting into a night club, it was ridiculous. The rooms are cool looking and modern, but that kinda dampered my night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the b
Single
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Mar 22, 2012

standard.

Great design, fun atmosphere. Free wifi appreciated. Drinking water would have been nice, either in the room or down the hall. At the roof bar, $8 beer in a small plastic cup seemed a bit much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
philly boy
Single
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 1, 2011

The Standard

I stayed at The Standard Downtown LA on the last day of our trip out to LA. We were within walking distance (2 to 3 blocks) of a grocery store, coffee shop, LA Live, and the freeway was very easy to get to by car. The staff was nice and the rooms were small but comfortable enough for 2 people. The hotel lobby and restaurant were serviceable and I would definitely visit the rooftop bar for a drink if I'm in the area again. I was disappointed with 2 of the amenities in the rooms.... 1. the TV stand was too low to the ground and so it was uncomfortable watching the TV from the bed. 2. internet was free but the wireless connection from the room was very bad so I could not get any work done during my stay. But overall, considering the price and the location (downtown LA not Hollywood, Bev Hills, or Santa Monica), I would definitely consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

LA LIVE... and you're basically about 30 minutes away, depending on traffic, from just about anywhere in LA.

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Delray beach fl
Jun 14, 2010

Treated well cool place to party

My first choice was standard at sunset but everything was booked so ended up in the downtown standard I got upgraded which was brilliant huge room. Gr8 restaurant and a fun roof top pool in the evening it explodes to party central....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Palm Springs, CA
Sep 28, 2009

Awake and Asleep Standard

I have known of The Standard for quite some time having lived across the street from it for 5 years. The hotel's attraction is its edge, atmosphere, unusual rooms and rooftop pool/bar which is used for filming in many TV commercials these days. One of these attractions is usually enough to make the experience worthwhile and it was this time. The hotel's negatives are lackadaisical and sometimes aloof staff (front desk these time), the slow bell/valet service/front desk at peak times, and noise in the hallways as post-bar disrespectful people go to their rooms and sometimes decide to hang out in the hall and post-party as they did during this stay. At checkout time the bell person never appeared to my room after 40 minutes (and 1 reminder call) so I carted my stuff downstairs to the check out desk. The line was prohibitively long with only two desk staff working at a peak time, so I had to bypass check out and call their accounting office two days later in order to get my bill faxed to me. (The first time I called, the person in accounting never called back so I called a second time the next day and got someone live). Valet car retrieval was slow. It took about 20 minutes with only 3 other people in line in front of me. This is the good and the bad with The Standard that I've known for quite a while. Perhaps some things just won't change there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top