$190 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

The Standard, Downtown LA

4 stars
550 South Flower at 6th Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
108 reviews
Awesome Night

I had an out town friend stay in LA with me so I booked him the Wow suite and he was blown away, we... See full review

  • Byron L.
  • Sep 15, 2014
What the W tries to be.

This is it. The epitome of trendy. Rooftop pool party, celebrities, 460 sq ft room, modern styling,... See full review

  • Tadddd
  • Aug 6, 2014

Trendy, cutting-edge design and plenty of unexpected twists sum up this design hotel set in the midst of bustling LA.

The place is fitted with red astroturf, vibrating waterpod beds and a grassy knoll with sculptured topiary, making it truly unique. Nightly DJs, excellent food and special events have established the Rooftop Bar as one of the most coveted nightlife spots in Los Angeles. The vibrant interior features yellow booths and a diner style counter, as well as an outdoor patio complete with a water fountain that spouts flames. Rollaway bed $50.00 per bed and Pet Fee of $100.00 The hotel amenities are: Banquet facilities, bar, beauty salon/hairdresser, billiards, business center, concierge, conference facilities, disabled facilities, dry cleaning, gift shop, gym/fitness facilities, internet access-high speed, internet access-wireless, laundry service, lift/elevator, lobby, night club, non-smoking rooms, parking facilities-at cost, pets allowed, reception, restaurant, room service-24hrs, swimming pool-outdoor. At the time of check-in, the hotel will take an authorization of $150 per night to cover incidental charges. Please be aware that if a debit or check card is presented at the time of check-in, your bank may place a hold on your account in that amount for up to two weeks after departure. Cash deposits for the incidental charges will not be taken. Beginning January 1, 2010, overnight valet parking will increase to $30 plus tax per vehicle. The rooftop bar will be closed on New Years Eve, dates 12-31-11 through 1-1-12 for a private engagement.

Hotel Map

34.0504 -118.2563
Area served
Los Angeles.
Nearby airports
LAX International Airport.
Area description
Located in the heart of downtown Los Angeles, The Standard, Downtown LA is situated midway between Bunker Hill and the Staples Center/LA Live. In close proximity are Wells Fargo, AON, Citicorp, the Paul Hastings Building, The Los Angeles Convention Center, The Walt Disney Concert Hall, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the US Bank Tower and abundant cultural amenities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Standard, Downtown LA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Standard, Downtown LA Rooms

WOW
The room offers one king bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, DVD player, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, mini bar, modem/data port connection, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, telephone, voicemail, flat screen TV's with local HD programming, I-home.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pershing Square: 0.3 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.5 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.9 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.4 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.3 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.5 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.9 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.4 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 2.9 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.2 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.3 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.4 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 5.7 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 5.8 mi
  • The Grove: 6 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Farmers Market: 6.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.2 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.4 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 6.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 6.9 mi
  • Kitson: 7.5 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 8.4 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 10.6 mi
  • University of California: 10.7 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 10.7 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11 mi
  • UCLA: 11.4 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 12.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 12.7 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.2 mi
  • Getty Villa: 17.7 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The rooftop pool and lounge offer panoramic views of the city. Live DJs play nightly. The sundeck features red Astroturf and waterbed cabanas. The Restaurant is open 24 hours a day, with indoor and outdoor seating, and room service is available 24 hours a day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (108)

Ratings and reviews for The Standard, Downtown LA

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 108
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wezza
London
Jul 26, 2014

Unusual but a lot of fun

I'm probably a bit older than the typical Standard resident, it is clearly targeted at the young and fun loving. It's still a great location in Downtown LA and the bars and restaurants are good quality and well run. Very comfortable beds but the room was a bit spartan for my taste. Valet parking was a bit pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

There are some wonderful works of art in the LA museum of contemporary art.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EmmaNAle
Dallas, TX
Mar 24, 2014

The Standard, Downtown LA

Amenities was average, most of the stuff there were overpriced. I was not happy about paying $35.00 for parking (Note: People will have to pay $35.00 a night for valet parking and you can have in and out privileges. BUT if you use another parking spot to park the car yourself, then you will have to pay $20.00 a night with NO in and out privileges SMH THAT'S CRAZY! Had my 19yr old daughter with me. She could not go upstairs to see the swimming pool because she had to be 21 and over. I saw what the pool looked like on the website and did not read that someone had to be 21 and over to go to the pool at night.. That was another thing I was unhappy about! The temp in the room was cold. Just know that the temp in the building will not succeed the temp outside. It will always be cooler in the room/building. That was another thing I wasn't happy about. Felt better when I was changed to a room that was a little warmer. I honestly would not stay at this hotel again. Too expensive and it is as if they only cater / care about people who like to party. I don't believe they care about people who have family that stay there as the rooms itself are made for "couples".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Staples Center Starbucks IHop California African American Museum Chinatown Grand Central Market Hispanic cultural influences on Olvera Street Theater Parks Small mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Annie from NYC
New York, NY
Feb 20, 2013

The Standard: way above standard

Love the hotel -- super cool, fun things to do (ping pong room, billiards table, rooftop pool and bar, and more), great location, food, really accommodating and efficient staff. Highly recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Katsuya and order the rock shrimp appetizer

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto, Canada
Jul 25, 2011

good price for an excellent location

saw LA for the first time, hotel was centrally located close all that downtown LA had to offer. The hotel was more of a business hotel, but the facilities were more then adequate. Compared to other trips we've taken, this hotel would rank somewhere in the middle, probably a 7/10

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

for breakfast there's a great diner called the nickel diner at 6th and main, they serve amazing donuts and good diner food at very reasonable prices. for lunch or dinner bottega louie at the corner of 7th and grand offers an amazing dining atmosphere, and a good selection of italian food and fresh baked goods/pattisserie

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ojbernard
San Jose, CA
Jan 5, 2011

Standard hotel could be a lot better

Very unfriendly a d unhelpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
LAS VEGAS, NV
Dec 7, 2010

LA CONCERT

Like very much the HOTEL, but the staff never call me back after I call them about a charge on my credit card

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 23, 2010

Best stay ever

This was the first trip my fiance and I took together and we had the best time! The staff were very helpful, the place was amazing and it had the best perks. I'd suggest this place to any hip person who wants to have an amazing time in Downtown LA and the other surrounding cities!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nickel Diner on Main St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dodger Fan
North Carolina
Sep 19, 2009

Fantastic Club Atmosphere

I came to LA,California to treat my father to four baseball games to see the LA Dodgers play at Dodger Stadium. As soon as I walked in the Standard Hotel Room, I immediately felt uncomfortable because the shower, (which seemed to be the focal point of the room) was surrounded by glass and it had no curtain for privacy. One of us had to leave the room when the other one had to shower, which was ridiculous. The Hotel was gloomy and dark. This atmosphere is perfect for the younger crowd (college bound or young newlyweds). A plus was that the rooms were clean and the employees were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms.Frequent Traveler
Seattle, WA
Sep 14, 2009

Very modern and great location!

Overall, it was a pretty good hotel, great location and friendly staff. The only thing I feel unsatisfied is that the person who clean our rooms did not give us brand new lotion, conditioner, soap etc. every night. I don't know if it is an individual problem or the hotel's policy. Personally, I prefer more than less, or just enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom with 6 and 8 year old
Boston, MA
Sep 8, 2009

Fantastic service and great staff

Even though it's a hip hotel, the staff are not full of themselves. Stayed four nights, in town for a wedding. We had five rooms and lots of service requests - concierge, housekeeping, pool bar, etc. Everyone was just fantastic - [...] the rooftop bar/pool manager, [...] at the front desk, the long-haired surfer dude at the valet station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Pantry, at 9th and something, an LA institution has very cheap, filling, great tasting breakfasts. Probably great for other meals too. $4.85 for pancakes and coffee w/refills. Breakfast for 4 at the Pantry = $32, Breakfast for 6 at the hotel = $120.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search