$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

The Standard, Downtown LA

4 stars
550 South Flower at 6th Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
141 reviews
Comfort at its best!

This hotel was absolutely beautiful, and the staff was amazing. The ping pong room and rooftop... See full review

  • Sandii C
  • Jul 10, 2014
Fun times

Best hotel in Los Angeles if you're under 40! We loved the retro modern vibes and hip appeal of... See full review

  • Fannypack
  • May 21, 2014
Trendy L.A. landmark is a downtown home for exploring the city

This hotel really does set the standard for "urban cool" in L.A. Cutting-edge design and a dynamic vibe fill every inch of the hotel, from the swank lobby to the ultra-stylish rooms. Guests are dazzled by the super-cool Rooftop Bar, trendy 24/7 brasserie, and sexy, artful decor. Los Angeles cultural and recreational destinations, such as the Walt Disney Concert Hall, the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, the Museum of Contemporary Art, The Staples Center and more are just blocks away.

Highlights
  • Rooftop Bar offers spectacular downtown views and chic design
  • Stylish guest rooms with glass-encased showers and platform beds
  • Ultra-convenient downtown location near major cultural destinations
Rooms

Guest rooms vary in size from 300 to 1,000 square feet. Designed with bright, post-modern style, these spaces are sure to delight guests. All rooms come with either queen- or king-size platform beds, complimentary Wi-Fi, large-screen TVs with DVD players, iPod stereos and oversized work desks. Bathrooms come furnished with glass-enclosed walk-in showers or soaking bathtubs, earth-friendly bath amenities and plush bath towels.

Features

The grand lobby's dazzling 125-foot fuchsia Omnibus sofa by designer Vladimir Kagan is only one detail in the visual feasts that fill this hotel. The lobby also includes a conceptual Jenny Holzer art installation, an Alexander Calder-inspired mobile, billiards table, a 15-time zone clock encased in stainless steel, and, of course, a full-service bar and lounge.

 

Business travelers take advantage of the free Wi-Fi, fully equipped business center and state-of-the-meeting rooms. Unwind at the heated outdoor pool and the fitness center in between shopping, sightseeing and nightlife adventures.

Dining

The hotel's 24/7 Restaurant serves fabulous New American cuisine in a vibrant, retro-diner interior and an outdoor patio alongside a delightful fountain. At the Rooftop Bar, DJ's spin the hippest grooves, guests sip tempting cocktails in a sexy lounge setting, and L.A.'s downtown skyline is laid out for view.

Transportation
  • Closest Metro Stations: Pershing Square (0.5 mi/less than 1 km), 7th/Metro Center (2 blocks)
  • Union Station (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Bob Hope Airport (15 mi/25 km)               
Attractions
  • Museum of Contemporary Art (less than 1 mi/1 km)
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theatre & Hollywood Walk of Fame (8 mi/13 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (10 mi/16 km)
  • Rodeo Drive/Beverly Hills (11 mi/18 km)
  • Santa Monica Pier & Third Street Promenade (16 mi/25 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • 14,500 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • Customizable sound systems
  • In-room fax machines
Polices & Fees

At the time of check-in, the hotel takes an authorization to cover incidental charges. Please be aware that if a debit or check card is presented at check-in, your bank may place a hold on your account for that amount for up to two weeks after departure. Cash deposits for the incidental charges will not be taken. Overnight valet parking is available (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.0504 -118.2563
Area served
Los Angeles.
Nearby airports
LAX International Airport.
Area description
Located in the heart of downtown Los Angeles, The Standard, Downtown LA is situated midway between Bunker Hill and the Staples Center/LA Live. In close proximity are Wells Fargo, AON, Citicorp, the Paul Hastings Building, The Los Angeles Convention Center, The Walt Disney Concert Hall, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the US Bank Tower and abundant cultural amenities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Standard, Downtown LA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Standard, Downtown LA Rooms

WOW
The room offers one king bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, DVD player, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, mini bar, modem/data port connection, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, telephone, voicemail, flat screen TV's with local HD programming, I-home.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pershing Square: 0.3 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.5 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.9 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.4 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.3 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.5 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.9 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.4 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 2.9 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.2 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.3 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.4 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 5.7 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 5.8 mi
  • The Grove: 6 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Farmers Market: 6.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.2 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.4 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 6.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 6.9 mi
  • Kitson: 7.5 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 8.4 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 10.6 mi
  • University of California: 10.7 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 10.7 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11 mi
  • UCLA: 11.4 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 12.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 12.7 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.2 mi
  • Getty Villa: 17.7 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The rooftop pool and lounge offer panoramic views of the city. Live DJs play nightly. The sundeck features red Astroturf and waterbed cabanas. The Restaurant is open 24 hours a day, with indoor and outdoor seating, and room service is available 24 hours a day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (141)

Ratings and reviews for The Standard, Downtown LA

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 141
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Inzeo
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 1, 2014

Pretty good

The rooms are a little dated and damaged. The roof top area is really nice. Great location and service. I had a good time. If I returning to only downtown and no other place in LA then I would stay there again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Funjus
Business
S.F.
Jun 15, 2014

GREAT ROOF TOP BAR, that's it.....

The roof top bar was great. The rest of the hotel needs LOTS of work. Rooms are really old and just no comfort. The hotel is just an old hotel with a cheap paint job. Lots of glimmer, no depth. Rooms are loud all night long from city noise, and I live downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Library Bar is the bomb, drinks, food and staff.

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
parkerhots
Business
Denver, Colorado
Apr 25, 2014

Standard, thats what you get

Not bad for the price, the roof top.deck was a major plus. This is a dated old hotel that has been made "chic" with cheap plastic and gimmicky accessories. Definetly stay here is it is the cheapest hotel you can find in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beaufort Realtor
Business
Beaufort, SC
Mar 28, 2014

Great experience

Attended a Real Estate convention this past week. I loved staying at the Standard. Mixed drink prices are off the wall but in line with other establishments. The staff was great. The food was very good and the location was super. Wish there was a shuttle service but cab fare was not bad. Would recommend to all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pincetikom
Business
Nevada
Mar 16, 2014

Business trip

Excellent hotel, location, staff was really helpful. Will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
business traveler 1994
Business
los angeles
Mar 14, 2014

work

hotel may be fine for younger crowd, but room comfort and amenities were terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
road warrior 30
Business
nyc
Feb 21, 2014

business trip, they don't cater to biz travelers

Nice chic hotel. Staff seems friendly but there were a few weird things. Before checking in I called about parking options. I was told that I could valet for 38 or self park in same lot for half as much. When I got to the lot I was told valet only. So I valeted begrudgingly because I knew my company expected me to self park. When I checked in, I again asked for self parking and was told it shouldnt be a problem. I asked them to call their lot attendant so I wouldnt be turned away a second time. Finally the lot attendant comes in and says since there are special events it is valet only. I was there monday to Thursday and the lot sat empty. Then on my final morning there was no bill under my door. I had to call to verify my balance then stand in line for 15 minutes to get a copy. There were several people who peeked out and saw the line but none came out to help. When I finally got my bill the person asked me how my stay was. I said great except a bill under the door would have been nice to avoid this. He replied curtly that the Standard doesnt do that. I replied that for business travelers it is key. And then he had the nerve to say we have lots of biz travelers. I will choose a property next time where they really do cater to biz travelers. I spend half the year on the road and the little things matter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
123456789blah
Business
portland, or
Nov 15, 2013

Great Unique Hotel

Had a great experience. Staff at front desk was nice/attentive. Room service food was very good, reasonably priced. Rooms were kitschy but cool. Rooftop pool/bar was unique. Could hear loud music in room at night (assume it was coming from roof), but in this hotel, it's almost expected (and they provide ear plugs). Not a hotel to bring kids!! Only complaint was the free wi-fi; it was spotty and I couldn't stream video without lots of annoying hiccups and it kept freezing some sites I use for work on my phone -- I ended up just turning off my mobile wi-fi -- worked much better (they offered a $9.95 upgrade, but in my mind if you offer free wi-fi, make it quality or just don't offer it). All in all, it was a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GirlInChi
Business
Chicago, ol
Jun 21, 2013

nice!

It was an updated older hotel with fabulous rooftop bar and pool. While my mojito was a little expensive, overallit was a good experience, nice staff including housekeeping. I did try to order breakfast in the room when I got stuck doing work, but the line was busy for 20 minutes. I called the front desk and the girl in a flat monotone kept saying "line's busy hold" every 30 seconds. Perhaps there should be a larger kitchen staff or at least a system in which they call you back. Ended up going to a cafe an hour later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macys, Rodeo is abt an hour away.

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MikeATL
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 20, 2013

Great Staff

Simple, clean accommodations, great staff. The bars and restaurants in the hotel were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Baco Mercat

Back to menu Return to top