$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Standard, Downtown LA

3 stars
View map of 550 South Flower St, Corner W 6th St, Los Angeles, CA 90071

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Standard, Downtown LA

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nenjyninja
Couples
San Francisco, CA, USA
May 1, 2012

Party hotel

Not your chilled romantic getaway on a Saturday night. Is more of a LA party scene place. Fun if this is what you are up for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
poor website
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 27, 2012

Good hotel, Bad website

The hotel experience was fine. My issues were with the website I booked the room with. their name has to do with what a planet does around the sun. I booked this room for an employee and provided a corporate Credit card to pay for the room. When my employee tried to check in he was told there was a problem with the card and he ended up having to use his personal card in order to check in. Very unprofessional folks. Don't bother with the discount. I will not be using this website in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the b
Single
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Mar 22, 2012

standard.

Great design, fun atmosphere. Free wifi appreciated. Drinking water would have been nice, either in the room or down the hall. At the roof bar, $8 beer in a small plastic cup seemed a bit much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traveler apple
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Mar 16, 2012

Bliss

The place hasn't changed since it opened and it still hits the spot every time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tori7778882226
Friends
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nov 22, 2011

Downtown Getaway

Fun atmosphere, great customer service, pleasant stay... The hotel upgraded us to a bigger room, which was awesome! A few light bulbs were out & the iPod player was broken, but the front desk was quick to send someone up. Overall, it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
philly boy
Single
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 1, 2011

The Standard

I stayed at The Standard Downtown LA on the last day of our trip out to LA. We were within walking distance (2 to 3 blocks) of a grocery store, coffee shop, LA Live, and the freeway was very easy to get to by car. The staff was nice and the rooms were small but comfortable enough for 2 people. The hotel lobby and restaurant were serviceable and I would definitely visit the rooftop bar for a drink if I'm in the area again. I was disappointed with 2 of the amenities in the rooms.... 1. the TV stand was too low to the ground and so it was uncomfortable watching the TV from the bed. 2. internet was free but the wireless connection from the room was very bad so I could not get any work done during my stay. But overall, considering the price and the location (downtown LA not Hollywood, Bev Hills, or Santa Monica), I would definitely consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

LA LIVE... and you're basically about 30 minutes away, depending on traffic, from just about anywhere in LA.

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GreenGiant
Couples
New York, NY, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Quick Get Away

Standard is a great hotel. It lives up to the hype. Very private and quiet rooms. Great bed and high quality sheets! Very clean rooms and bathrooms. Room lighting is flexible: you can make it dim, sexy, moody or focused. Room service is priced a bit high though but the staff and service was excellent. If you want to save some money park your car a few blocks away from the hotel there are better deals for parking than the standard parking lot (rip off). Also there is a Famima (its like a 7-11) a block or two away open 24 hours. The neighborhood is safe to walk around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park elsewhere.

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Guera
Friends
San Diego, CA, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Very chic and hip

The only thing that bothered me was that the room needs to have the paint touched up a bit. other than that, its an awesome hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
freightrain
Couples
St. Louis, Mo.
Sep 22, 2011

Great location to all the attractions

Service and staff was great. Caters to mostly younger generation, I'm 62. But thats okay, young crowds are good. Television sits too low to the floor. Bed too low on the floor for watching tv from the bed. No waste can in the bathroom. Large counter across the main sleeping area but only one chair. This hotel is unique to say the least but for the price and location I would certainly come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
freightrain
Couples
St. Louis, Mo.
Sep 22, 2011

Great location to all the attractions

Service and staff was great. Caters to mostly younger generation, I'm 62. But thats okay, young crowds are good. Television sits too low to the floor. Bed too low on the floor for watching tv from the bed. No waste can in the bathroom. Large counter across the main sleeping area but only one chair. This hotel is unique to say the least but for the price and location I would certainly come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top