$195 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

The Standard, Downtown LA

4 stars
550 South Flower at 6th Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
141 reviews
Comfort at its best!

This hotel was absolutely beautiful, and the staff was amazing. The ping pong room and rooftop... See full review

  • Sandii C
  • Jul 10, 2014
Fun times

Best hotel in Los Angeles if you're under 40! We loved the retro modern vibes and hip appeal of... See full review

  • Fannypack
  • May 21, 2014
Trendy L.A. landmark is a downtown home for exploring the city

This hotel really does set the standard for "urban cool" in L.A. Cutting-edge design and a dynamic vibe fill every inch of the hotel, from the swank lobby to the ultra-stylish rooms. Guests are dazzled by the super-cool Rooftop Bar, trendy 24/7 brasserie, and sexy, artful decor. Los Angeles cultural and recreational destinations, such as the Walt Disney Concert Hall, the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, the Museum of Contemporary Art, The Staples Center and more are just blocks away.

Highlights
  • Rooftop Bar offers spectacular downtown views and chic design
  • Stylish guest rooms with glass-encased showers and platform beds
  • Ultra-convenient downtown location near major cultural destinations
Rooms

Guest rooms vary in size from 300 to 1,000 square feet. Designed with bright, post-modern style, these spaces are sure to delight guests. All rooms come with either queen- or king-size platform beds, complimentary Wi-Fi, large-screen TVs with DVD players, iPod stereos and oversized work desks. Bathrooms come furnished with glass-enclosed walk-in showers or soaking bathtubs, earth-friendly bath amenities and plush bath towels.

Features

The grand lobby's dazzling 125-foot fuchsia Omnibus sofa by designer Vladimir Kagan is only one detail in the visual feasts that fill this hotel. The lobby also includes a conceptual Jenny Holzer art installation, an Alexander Calder-inspired mobile, billiards table, a 15-time zone clock encased in stainless steel, and, of course, a full-service bar and lounge.

 

Business travelers take advantage of the free Wi-Fi, fully equipped business center and state-of-the-meeting rooms. Unwind at the heated outdoor pool and the fitness center in between shopping, sightseeing and nightlife adventures.

Dining

The hotel's 24/7 Restaurant serves fabulous New American cuisine in a vibrant, retro-diner interior and an outdoor patio alongside a delightful fountain. At the Rooftop Bar, DJ's spin the hippest grooves, guests sip tempting cocktails in a sexy lounge setting, and L.A.'s downtown skyline is laid out for view.

Transportation
  • Closest Metro Stations: Pershing Square (0.5 mi/less than 1 km), 7th/Metro Center (2 blocks)
  • Union Station (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Bob Hope Airport (15 mi/25 km)               
Attractions
  • Museum of Contemporary Art (less than 1 mi/1 km)
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theatre & Hollywood Walk of Fame (8 mi/13 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (10 mi/16 km)
  • Rodeo Drive/Beverly Hills (11 mi/18 km)
  • Santa Monica Pier & Third Street Promenade (16 mi/25 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • 14,500 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • Customizable sound systems
  • In-room fax machines
Polices & Fees

At the time of check-in, the hotel takes an authorization to cover incidental charges. Please be aware that if a debit or check card is presented at check-in, your bank may place a hold on your account for that amount for up to two weeks after departure. Cash deposits for the incidental charges will not be taken. Overnight valet parking is available (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.0504 -118.2563
Area served
Los Angeles.
Nearby airports
LAX International Airport.
Area description
Located in the heart of downtown Los Angeles, The Standard, Downtown LA is situated midway between Bunker Hill and the Staples Center/LA Live. In close proximity are Wells Fargo, AON, Citicorp, the Paul Hastings Building, The Los Angeles Convention Center, The Walt Disney Concert Hall, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the US Bank Tower and abundant cultural amenities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Standard, Downtown LA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Standard, Downtown LA Rooms

WOW
The room offers one king bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, DVD player, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, mini bar, modem/data port connection, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, telephone, voicemail, flat screen TV's with local HD programming, I-home.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pershing Square: 0.3 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.5 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.9 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.4 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.3 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.5 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.9 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.4 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 2.9 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.2 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.3 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.4 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 5.7 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 5.8 mi
  • The Grove: 6 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Farmers Market: 6.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.2 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.4 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 6.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 6.9 mi
  • Kitson: 7.5 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 8.4 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 10.6 mi
  • University of California: 10.7 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 10.7 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11 mi
  • UCLA: 11.4 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 12.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 12.7 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.2 mi
  • Getty Villa: 17.7 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The rooftop pool and lounge offer panoramic views of the city. Live DJs play nightly. The sundeck features red Astroturf and waterbed cabanas. The Restaurant is open 24 hours a day, with indoor and outdoor seating, and room service is available 24 hours a day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (141)

Ratings and reviews for The Standard, Downtown LA

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 141
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 7, 2009

Very unique with a fantastic view

My coworkers and I stayed while attending an event at the Convention Center. I arrived around 9am and I was welcomed but two very friendly staff members and I was able to check in to my room straight away. Very hip and trendy indeed and almost retro. After the event and long day we spent the evening at one of the coolest spots in Downtown, on the ROOF! The lounge was amazing with the mixed atomosphere, fireplace and water beds next to the pool! We had an amazing time and for a reasonable price. I will recommend the Standard Downtown LA to all of my friends. Rooms were great, beds were incredibly comfortable and the bubble bath in the oversized tub similar to the size of a single bed, next to the window was quite memorable. The Mini Bar and supplies were fun to check out too! Thank you for a fabulous weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

AMAZING!!!

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MikeATL
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 20, 2013

Great Staff

Simple, clean accommodations, great staff. The bars and restaurants in the hotel were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Baco Mercat

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RoL26
Business
Calgary, Alberta
Mar 18, 2013

awesome hotel

Was a great experience. Friendly staff, clean, gorgeous place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traveler apple
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Mar 16, 2012

Bliss

The place hasn't changed since it opened and it still hits the spot every time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 7, 2009

Very unique with a fantastic view

My coworkers and I stayed while attending an event at the Convention Center. I arrived around 9am and I was welcomed but two very friendly staff members and I was able to check in to my room straight away. Very hip and trendy indeed and almost retro. After the event and long day we spent the evening at one of the coolest spots in Downtown, on the ROOF! The lounge was amazing with the mixed atomosphere, fireplace and water beds next to the pool! We had an amazing time and for a reasonable price. I will recommend the Standard Downtown LA to all of my friends. Rooms were great, beds were incredibly comfortable and the bubble bath in the oversized tub similar to the size of a single bed, next to the window was quite memorable. The Mini Bar and supplies were fun to check out too! Thank you for a fabulous weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

AMAZING!!!

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pincetikom
Business
Nevada
Mar 16, 2014

Business trip

Excellent hotel, location, staff was really helpful. Will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
City Planner
Business
New York, NY
Apr 1, 2010

Making the Scene

I stayed at the Standard four nights for a business trip, arriving on a Saturday night when the "scene" at the hotel and its roof top bar were in full force. Aside from navigating around loud (but attractive) revelers in the elevator and the hallways, the hotel was a fun and unique experience for this single business traveler. Families and older couples may not enjoy as much. High design, clever details add to the experience. I had a large room, which was comfortable, despite the odd choice of placing the bed on a carpeted platform (basically on the floor.) Nice bath products, ample desk space, and the perk of spending Sunday morning sunning on the roof with a Bloody Mary and surveying the scene of [*] bikini babes, bachelorette parties and hipster [*] boys brunching and snacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The "Dash" bus to various attractions in and near downtown is only 25 cents and runs regularly. (Yes, I got around by bus on my trip to L.A.)

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 2, 2009

Not so Standard

While they didn't have the correct information about my stay (they thought it was for 5 nights, instead of the 6 I had booked), I was quickly upgraded to another room and booked for my entire stay. I was there for conference at Convention Center - the hotel is 2 minute walk to Metro station and about a 20 minute walk to Convention/Staples Center. Not a ton of dining/nightlife options in this part of town, though (although there is some very good sushi nearby). It has a small, but clean and functional gym (interesting photos, ahem), a restaurant and bars on site. There was an odor of cigarette smoke over the weekend (from the Friday/Saturday night crowd, I think), but there were no traces of it a couple of days later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Takami Sushi and Robata restaurant (and the adjoining Elevate Lounge), in addition to some great food (try some of their specialty dishes!), provides a nice view of the city at night...

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
poor website
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 27, 2012

Good hotel, Bad website

The hotel experience was fine. My issues were with the website I booked the room with. their name has to do with what a planet does around the sun. I booked this room for an employee and provided a corporate Credit card to pay for the room. When my employee tried to check in he was told there was a problem with the card and he ended up having to use his personal card in order to check in. Very unprofessional folks. Don't bother with the discount. I will not be using this website in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 2, 2009

Not so Standard

While they didn't have the correct information about my stay (they thought it was for 5 nights, instead of the 6 I had booked), I was quickly upgraded to another room and booked for my entire stay. I was there for conference at Convention Center - the hotel is 2 minute walk to Metro station and about a 20 minute walk to Convention/Staples Center. Not a ton of dining/nightlife options in this part of town, though (although there is some very good sushi nearby). It has a small, but clean and functional gym (interesting photos, ahem), a restaurant and bars on site. There was an odor of cigarette smoke over the weekend (from the Friday/Saturday night crowd, I think), but there were no traces of it a couple of days later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Takami Sushi and Robata restaurant (and the adjoining Elevate Lounge), in addition to some great food (try some of their specialty dishes!), provides a nice view of the city at night...

Back to menu Return to top