$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Standard, Downtown LA

3 stars
View map of 550 South Flower St, Corner W 6th St, Los Angeles, CA 90071

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Standard, Downtown LA

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mmmmmmmmmmjo
Friends
armpit, ca
Sep 8, 2009

cool setup

Great hotel, very L.A. setup (lots of curtains and lounge couches, good or bad that's LA). Pool party was upstairs on sunday, lots of fun. checkin and checkout were really easy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

pool party was fun during the day. night party kinda sucked

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms.Frequent Traveler
Family
Seattle, WA
Sep 14, 2009

Very modern and great location!

Overall, it was a pretty good hotel, great location and friendly staff. The only thing I feel unsatisfied is that the person who clean our rooms did not give us brand new lotion, conditioner, soap etc. every night. I don't know if it is an individual problem or the hotel's policy. Personally, I prefer more than less, or just enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
City Planner
Business
New York, NY
Apr 1, 2010

Making the Scene

I stayed at the Standard four nights for a business trip, arriving on a Saturday night when the "scene" at the hotel and its roof top bar were in full force. Aside from navigating around loud (but attractive) revelers in the elevator and the hallways, the hotel was a fun and unique experience for this single business traveler. Families and older couples may not enjoy as much. High design, clever details add to the experience. I had a large room, which was comfortable, despite the odd choice of placing the bed on a carpeted platform (basically on the floor.) Nice bath products, ample desk space, and the perk of spending Sunday morning sunning on the roof with a Bloody Mary and surveying the scene of [*] bikini babes, bachelorette parties and hipster [*] boys brunching and snacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The "Dash" bus to various attractions in and near downtown is only 25 cents and runs regularly. (Yes, I got around by bus on my trip to L.A.)

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Oct 7, 2010

The Standard Hotel Downtown

It was a great business trip! Great to sleep well & be ready in the morning! Discovered a restaurant downtown called, Luigi. So close to the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Long Beach, CA
Sep 14, 2010

The Standard, downtown LA. 5th visit

I've stayed here multiple times and it's hit and miss at the front desk, as far as sweetness is concerned. No complaints, tho.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

best pool-top parties in LA.

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Los Angeles CA
Feb 1, 2010

So hip it hurts.

Sweet. Valet was slow but understandable because it was Grammy weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Rivera. Awesome new restaurant a few blocks south toward the staples center.

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reh Reh
Couples
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 13, 2011

Great Service, Loud Atmosphere

Standard is very trendy. Rooftop bar is awesome. You get two passes to go to the bar if you stay with the hotel, which is nice. Excellent toiletries and amenities. Only downside is that the hotel is a total party zone so don't be surprised to be surrounded by drunken neighbors in the middle of the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Diego, CA
Apr 22, 2009

Excellent location, excellent service

We had business meetings in down town L.A. and went to a Lakers game in the evening. - The location of the hotel is excellent. We never used our car or a taxi. Everything is in walking distance. We liked their roof-top bar for afternoon drinks and enjoyed a late night dinner at the hotel's 24 hr restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Annandale, VA
Apr 4, 2010

Great spot.

Went to LA for class reunion at the superior university in Los Angeles, which is closer to downtown than Westwood. Standard is close to some of the newer hot spots. Bottega Louie, LA Live, etc. The hotel building has great history and the outdoor dining area is great for an urban setting. Only negative on the trip was that key to my room was given to someone else who checked in later. At about 2am, this person tried to get into the room. Luckily we had put the security bar on the door, otherwise this would have been ugly. Hotel comp'd parking to make up for it. All in, this was a good property and you get access to the rooftop bar, which is still happening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit Bottega Louie, which is just a few blocks away. Very cool scene and great food and drink.

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
May 20, 2009

The Standard - Downtown LA

Overall it was a great hotel. The food was delicious. The roof-top bar and pool is amazing. The staff was very friendly. The rooms are modern but little small for the standard room size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top