$171 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Standard, Downtown LA

3 stars
View map of 550 South Flower St, Corner W 6th St, Los Angeles, CA 90071

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Standard, Downtown LA

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tadddd
Single
Bay Area
Aug 6, 2014

What the W tries to be.

This is it. The epitome of trendy. Rooftop pool party, celebrities, 460 sq ft room, modern styling, overstocked mini bar, comfortable bed - I could go on. Was it really worth the price? If it's not out of reach of your checkbook and you're in your early twenties... Yes it was worth it. It really feels like this is what The W models itself after. The W feels far less accessible though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

You'll be able to skip the line for the pool on weekend nights if your a hotel guest.

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Byron L.
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 15, 2014

Awesome Night

I had an out town friend stay in LA with me so I booked him the Wow suite and he was blown away, we had a blast at the rooftop bar and the suite was modern and sleek. Mini bar did not work but Donald at the front desk took care of our request, would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Roof Top Bar is A+ fun

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maddy9553
Friends
Los Angeles, California
Oct 11, 2014

Wouldn't stay elsewhere

Love this hotel, it keeps me coming back each time i am in LA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

go to the grove! best shopping!!

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ray W III
Business
Business traveler
Oct 19, 2014

The standard

Neat hotel! Excellent service, very nice rooms, very reasonable price for downtown. Roof Beer Garden great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
slimAugust
Couples
N/A
Mar 24, 2015

first time on the west coast.

The hotel was amazing, only dislike was the parking that was $30 a night. otherwise it was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anon in MN
Business
Minneapolis
Apr 19, 2015

Perfect for couples or business travelers

First, this hotel has an amazing rooftop patio bar. For couples or business travelers looking to unwind, this detail is almost all you need. The location is also great, with many restaurants, bars and coffee shops within walking distance. The transit accessibility is also high. The room decor is fun. The only weird element is that there is a window in the bathroom, allowing someone in the main room to see into the bathroom. I traveled by myself, so I didn't have to confront the possibility of someone seeing me on the toilet?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Logan A.
Couples
Pineville
Jul 21, 2015

Awesome LA spot

really cool hotel with some truly unique amenities. the rooftop pool/patio/bar/lounge was amazing and the perfect spot to unwind before dinner. The room was comfy and cool, loved the elevated bed and simple decor. Will be back to claim to ping pong tables again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dj BV
Couples
Los Angeles
Jul 28, 2015

It I a party hotel but still quite

It was great and great views of down town.. Would like to stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gregg Fowler
Couples
Los Angeles
Feb 21, 2014

Wonderful Stay

We enjoyed the roof top bar and patio. Had a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EmmaNAle
Family
Dallas, TX
Mar 24, 2014

The Standard, Downtown LA

Amenities was average, most of the stuff there were overpriced. I was not happy about paying $35.00 for parking (Note: People will have to pay $35.00 a night for valet parking and you can have in and out privileges. BUT if you use another parking spot to park the car yourself, then you will have to pay $20.00 a night with NO in and out privileges SMH THAT'S CRAZY! Had my 19yr old daughter with me. She could not go upstairs to see the swimming pool because she had to be 21 and over. I saw what the pool looked like on the website and did not read that someone had to be 21 and over to go to the pool at night.. That was another thing I was unhappy about! The temp in the room was cold. Just know that the temp in the building will not succeed the temp outside. It will always be cooler in the room/building. That was another thing I wasn't happy about. Felt better when I was changed to a room that was a little warmer. I honestly would not stay at this hotel again. Too expensive and it is as if they only cater / care about people who like to party. I don't believe they care about people who have family that stay there as the rooms itself are made for "couples".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Staples Center Starbucks IHop California African American Museum Chinatown Grand Central Market Hispanic cultural influences on Olvera Street Theater Parks Small mall

Back to menu Return to top