$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Standard, Downtown LA

3 stars
View map of 550 South Flower St, Corner W 6th St, Los Angeles, CA 90071

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Standard, Downtown LA

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nandoflex
Couples
Texas
May 12, 2009

Fun atmoshpere

The vibe was cool at the Standard and the hosts were extremely friendly. The rooftop bar/pool is a hot scene and as a guest you get automatic entrance. I went for dinner and arrived at the hotel around 11:30 on a Thursday. There was a line to get in and they were not letting people into the bar to control the crowd. I showed my key and got myself and a couple friends in with no questions asked. They definitely take care of thier guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan to see LA, rent a car. Downtown LA is a work in progress, but there is not too much to do unless you're going to an event at the Staples Center or visiting the rooftop bar of the Standard (or work related.) It is easy to get cabs downtown, but because of distances, a trip to the Hollywood area for exampe can cost $40 one way.

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Guera
Friends
San Diego, CA, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Very chic and hip

The only thing that bothered me was that the room needs to have the paint touched up a bit. other than that, its an awesome hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 8, 2009

Great stay at the Standard

A friend and I were there to meet up with some friends who were staying at the Sheraton downtown. The Standard was a great surprise! The rooms were clean and nice. Our stay was very peaceful and quiet. It was in a good location making it fairly easy to get around to the places we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If this is your first time to LA, definitely get a GPS system!

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
LOS ANGELES
May 24, 2009

GOOD, FUN, NOISY

Good for singles or couples. If you are looking to "catch" then 21 to 35 year old is perfect or for the "young at heart". Good night life- 24 hour service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Delray beach fl
Jun 14, 2010

Treated well cool place to party

My first choice was standard at sunset but everything was booked so ended up in the downtown standard I got upgraded which was brilliant huge room. Gr8 restaurant and a fun roof top pool in the evening it explodes to party central....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York
Jun 15, 2010

Great Stay at the Standard

In June 2010 we stayed five nights at The Standard in downtown LA and enjoyed our visit very much. The staff were always very friendly and helpful, and our room, [...], was spacious, impressively decorated, and kept very clean. Although we are seniors, we thoroughly enjoyed the young vibe on the weekend at The Standard. Also, we liked very much this hotel's central downtown location. We easily walked to places and events in the downtown area.I would stay there again and would recommend The Standard to other travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 2, 2009

Not so Standard

While they didn't have the correct information about my stay (they thought it was for 5 nights, instead of the 6 I had booked), I was quickly upgraded to another room and booked for my entire stay. I was there for conference at Convention Center - the hotel is 2 minute walk to Metro station and about a 20 minute walk to Convention/Staples Center. Not a ton of dining/nightlife options in this part of town, though (although there is some very good sushi nearby). It has a small, but clean and functional gym (interesting photos, ahem), a restaurant and bars on site. There was an odor of cigarette smoke over the weekend (from the Friday/Saturday night crowd, I think), but there were no traces of it a couple of days later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Takami Sushi and Robata restaurant (and the adjoining Elevate Lounge), in addition to some great food (try some of their specialty dishes!), provides a nice view of the city at night...

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nay2010
Couples
Thomasville, ga
Apr 8, 2011

First LA trip

Friendly, helpful, and will to please!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to West Hollywood for better dining and nightlife.

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Razzi
Couples
new york
Dec 28, 2010

I love the standard

Arriving at the hotel I got an greeting from valet which helped me with my luggage, front desk was very fast with check in [...] was veryyyyy helpful along her was a very nice gentleman I forgot his name but he was very nice, at first I was a little scared about how the service was going to be because o have read some reviews with less satisfied customers but I had a great time ..weekends is where I gotten kindve annoyed with the party vibe, my husband was playing pool in the lobby around 130am ,that's when the roof top closed every one from the party came to the lobby to make out and hang out.. that was a big let down, the standard should let the Party people exit the hotel because it deturbs ur actual hotel guest... everything was perfect besides that after party in the hotel lobby ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

One block up is rite aid and Walgreens buy your sacks and drinks there, the hotel is wayyy expensive with the snack bar in the room.

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
XXX HIP XXX
Friends
Chicago, IL
May 18, 2010

It's a extra hip hotel!!!

Food was really good!!! Stuff were very helpfull & friendly. Amazing roof top pool & lounge. ULTRA HIP!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Roof top was awesome day & night!!! MUST GO!!! You don't have to leave the hotel. It's a great great great party hotel!!! I had such a great time during the day at roof top swimming pool and night at lounge on the roof top.

Back to menu Return to top