$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Standard, Downtown LA

3 stars
View map of 550 South Flower St, Corner W 6th St, Los Angeles, CA 90071

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Standard, Downtown LA

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kings fan winning cup
Couples
LA
Jun 20, 2014

Downtown stay

I was quite happy with my stay at the Standard in downtown LA. I was surprised at how good the kitchen was. We ate dinner at around midnight and the food and drinks were both quite good. Breakfast was also good on the patio. The room and amenities were just what was advertised. The only drawback was the man guarding the elevator to the rooftop bar. With no notice about attire he scrutinizingly looked us over and picked apart out wardrobes ultimately not allowing us entry to the roof. This is one of the features of the hotel and as such it's a shame it made our stay somewhat diminished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Make sure you are familiar with the dress code for the rooftop bar. We didn't know there was one

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Funjus
Business
S.F.
Jun 15, 2014

GREAT ROOF TOP BAR, that's it.....

The roof top bar was great. The rest of the hotel needs LOTS of work. Rooms are really old and just no comfort. The hotel is just an old hotel with a cheap paint job. Lots of glimmer, no depth. Rooms are loud all night long from city noise, and I live downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Library Bar is the bomb, drinks, food and staff.

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hockey fan from Dallas
Single
Dallas
Jun 9, 2014

Quick trip

I flew in and out of LA on a brief stay to attend the 2014 NHL Stanley Cup Final game 2, so I did not spend very much time in the hotel itself other than for sleeping. The hotel is about a 1 mile walk from the Staples Center, so the location was handy. The hotel has a modern, northern Euro hipster vibe (gray and yellow colors, a bed very low to the ground on a platform, etc.). If you have back pain and have a hard time getting in and out of a standard height bed, you would find it hard getting in and out of the bed in the room since it was almost like sleeping at floor level. Staff was very helpful and courteous. As I had a very early flight the next morning (needing to leave at 0430 from the hotel), there was no problems as the hotel desk is staffed 24/7 as well as an attendant to get your rental car. It also has a 24/7 restaurant that serves upscale food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ant5
Friends
NYC
Jun 9, 2014

not the best but works

staff was very nice. rooftop pool and parties at night were great. hotel rooms we're bare bones. young crowd. good for a quick stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fannypack
Couples
Las vegas
May 21, 2014

Fun times

Best hotel in Los Angeles if you're under 40! We loved the retro modern vibes and hip appeal of everything within the building. The staff was awesome and accommodating too. Kat, our front desk agent made the stay absolutely wonderful. She was helpful, informative and very kind. The location of the hotel was great if you want to experience all that downtown LA has to offer, with bars, eateries and shops all within walking distance from the hotel. For a young active couple who likes a big city feel, this is the place for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
parkerhots
Business
Denver, Colorado
Apr 25, 2014

Standard, thats what you get

Not bad for the price, the roof top.deck was a major plus. This is a dated old hotel that has been made "chic" with cheap plastic and gimmicky accessories. Definetly stay here is it is the cheapest hotel you can find in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bunkermonk
Single
Detroit, Michigan
Apr 5, 2014

the perfect location

The Standard in downtown LA is a sleek hotel located just 2 blocks from a subway station. Giving you quick, cheap travel access to most of LA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to head to western Hollywood, take the subway to Hollywood and Highland (the walk of fame) and get an Uber personal car to pick you up from there. Its cheaper than a cab and taking the subway shortens the travel distance. The front desk at the hotel is who told me about Uber, which is a fantastic service that runs 24 hours a day.

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beaufort Realtor
Business
Beaufort, SC
Mar 28, 2014

Great experience

Attended a Real Estate convention this past week. I loved staying at the Standard. Mixed drink prices are off the wall but in line with other establishments. The staff was great. The food was very good and the location was super. Wish there was a shuttle service but cab fare was not bad. Would recommend to all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EmmaNAle
Family
Dallas, TX
Mar 24, 2014

The Standard, Downtown LA

Amenities was average, most of the stuff there were overpriced. I was not happy about paying $35.00 for parking (Note: People will have to pay $35.00 a night for valet parking and you can have in and out privileges. BUT if you use another parking spot to park the car yourself, then you will have to pay $20.00 a night with NO in and out privileges SMH THAT'S CRAZY! Had my 19yr old daughter with me. She could not go upstairs to see the swimming pool because she had to be 21 and over. I saw what the pool looked like on the website and did not read that someone had to be 21 and over to go to the pool at night.. That was another thing I was unhappy about! The temp in the room was cold. Just know that the temp in the building will not succeed the temp outside. It will always be cooler in the room/building. That was another thing I wasn't happy about. Felt better when I was changed to a room that was a little warmer. I honestly would not stay at this hotel again. Too expensive and it is as if they only cater / care about people who like to party. I don't believe they care about people who have family that stay there as the rooms itself are made for "couples".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Staples Center Starbucks IHop California African American Museum Chinatown Grand Central Market Hispanic cultural influences on Olvera Street Theater Parks Small mall

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pincetikom
Business
Nevada
Mar 16, 2014

Business trip

Excellent hotel, location, staff was really helpful. Will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top