$195 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 28, 2014

The Standard, Downtown LA

4 stars
550 South Flower at 6th Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
89 reviews
the perfect location

The Standard in downtown LA is a sleek hotel located just 2 blocks from a subway station. Giving... See full review

  • Bunkermonk
  • Apr 5, 2014
Business trip

Excellent hotel, location, staff was really helpful. Will stay there again. See full review

  • Pincetikom
  • Mar 16, 2014
Trendy L.A. landmark is a downtown home for exploring the city

This hotel really does set the standard for "urban cool" in L.A. Cutting-edge design and a dynamic vibe fill every inch of the hotel, from the swank lobby to the ultra-stylish rooms. Guests are dazzled by the super-cool Rooftop Bar, trendy 24/7 brasserie, and sexy, artful decor. Los Angeles cultural and recreational destinations, such as the Walt Disney Concert Hall, the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, the Museum of Contemporary Art, The Staples Center and more are just blocks away.

Highlights
  • Rooftop Bar offers spectacular downtown views and chic design
  • Stylish guest rooms with glass-encased showers and platform beds
  • Ultra-convenient downtown location near major cultural destinations
Rooms

Guest rooms vary in size from 300 to 1,000 square feet. Designed with bright, post-modern style, these spaces are sure to delight guests. All rooms come with either queen- or king-size platform beds, complimentary Wi-Fi, large-screen TVs with DVD players, iPod stereos and oversized work desks. Bathrooms come furnished with glass-enclosed walk-in showers or soaking bathtubs, earth-friendly bath amenities and plush bath towels.

Features

The grand lobby's dazzling 125-foot fuchsia Omnibus sofa by designer Vladimir Kagan is only one detail in the visual feasts that fill this hotel. The lobby also includes a conceptual Jenny Holzer art installation, an Alexander Calder-inspired mobile, billiards table, a 15-time zone clock encased in stainless steel, and, of course, a full-service bar and lounge.

 

Business travelers take advantage of the free Wi-Fi, fully equipped business center and state-of-the-meeting rooms. Unwind at the heated outdoor pool and the fitness center in between shopping, sightseeing and nightlife adventures.

Dining

The hotel's 24/7 Restaurant serves fabulous New American cuisine in a vibrant, retro-diner interior and an outdoor patio alongside a delightful fountain. At the Rooftop Bar, DJ's spin the hippest grooves, guests sip tempting cocktails in a sexy lounge setting, and L.A.'s downtown skyline is laid out for view.

Transportation
  • Closest Metro Stations: Pershing Square (0.5 mi/less than 1 km), 7th/Metro Center (2 blocks)
  • Union Station (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Bob Hope Airport (15 mi/25 km)               
Attractions
  • Museum of Contemporary Art (less than 1 mi/1 km)
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theatre & Hollywood Walk of Fame (8 mi/13 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (10 mi/16 km)
  • Rodeo Drive/Beverly Hills (11 mi/18 km)
  • Santa Monica Pier & Third Street Promenade (16 mi/25 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • 14,500 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • Customizable sound systems
  • In-room fax machines
Polices & Fees

At the time of check-in, the hotel takes an authorization to cover incidental charges. Please be aware that if a debit or check card is presented at check-in, your bank may place a hold on your account for that amount for up to two weeks after departure. Cash deposits for the incidental charges will not be taken. Overnight valet parking is available (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Standard, Downtown LA Rooms

WOW
The room offers one king bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, DVD player, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, mini bar, modem/data port connection, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, telephone, voicemail, flat screen TV's with local HD programming, I-home.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Standard, Downtown LA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.0504 -118.2563
Area served
Los Angeles.
Nearby airports
LAX International Airport.
Area description
Located in the heart of downtown Los Angeles, The Standard, Downtown LA is situated midway between Bunker Hill and the Staples Center/LA Live. In close proximity are Wells Fargo, AON, Citicorp, the Paul Hastings Building, The Los Angeles Convention Center, The Walt Disney Concert Hall, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the US Bank Tower and abundant cultural amenities.

Nearby points of interest

  • Pershing Square: 0.3 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.5 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.9 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.4 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.3 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.5 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.9 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.4 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 2.9 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.2 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.3 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.4 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 5.7 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 5.8 mi
  • The Grove: 6 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Farmers Market: 6.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.2 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.4 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 6.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 6.9 mi
  • Kitson: 7.5 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 8.4 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 10.6 mi
  • University of California: 10.7 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 10.7 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11 mi
  • UCLA: 11.4 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 12.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 12.7 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.2 mi
  • Getty Villa: 17.7 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The rooftop pool and lounge offer panoramic views of the city. Live DJs play nightly. The sundeck features red Astroturf and waterbed cabanas. The Restaurant is open 24 hours a day, with indoor and outdoor seating, and room service is available 24 hours a day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for The Standard, Downtown LA

Overall score

3.7 / 5
89 out of 89
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
City Planner
Business
New York, NY
Apr 1, 2010

Making the Scene

I stayed at the Standard four nights for a business trip, arriving on a Saturday night when the "scene" at the hotel and its roof top bar were in full force. Aside from navigating around loud (but attractive) revelers in the elevator and the hallways, the hotel was a fun and unique experience for this single business traveler. Families and older couples may not enjoy as much. High design, clever details add to the experience. I had a large room, which was comfortable, despite the odd choice of placing the bed on a carpeted platform (basically on the floor.) Nice bath products, ample desk space, and the perk of spending Sunday morning sunning on the roof with a Bloody Mary and surveying the scene of [*] bikini babes, bachelorette parties and hipster [*] boys brunching and snacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The "Dash" bus to various attractions in and near downtown is only 25 cents and runs regularly. (Yes, I got around by bus on my trip to L.A.)

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
Nenjyninja
San Francisco, CA, USA
May 1, 2012

Party hotel

Not your chilled romantic getaway on a Saturday night. Is more of a LA party scene place. Fun if this is what you are up for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
Razzi
new york
Dec 28, 2010

I love the standard

Arriving at the hotel I got an greeting from valet which helped me with my luggage, front desk was very fast with check in [...] was veryyyyy helpful along her was a very nice gentleman I forgot his name but he was very nice, at first I was a little scared about how the service was going to be because o have read some reviews with less satisfied customers but I had a great time ..weekends is where I gotten kindve annoyed with the party vibe, my husband was playing pool in the lobby around 130am ,that's when the roof top closed every one from the party came to the lobby to make out and hang out.. that was a big let down, the standard should let the Party people exit the hotel because it deturbs ur actual hotel guest... everything was perfect besides that after party in the hotel lobby ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

One block up is rite aid and Walgreens buy your sacks and drinks there, the hotel is wayyy expensive with the snack bar in the room.

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
New York
Jun 15, 2010

Great Stay at the Standard

In June 2010 we stayed five nights at The Standard in downtown LA and enjoyed our visit very much. The staff were always very friendly and helpful, and our room, [...], was spacious, impressively decorated, and kept very clean. Although we are seniors, we thoroughly enjoyed the young vibe on the weekend at The Standard. Also, we liked very much this hotel's central downtown location. We easily walked to places and events in the downtown area.I would stay there again and would recommend The Standard to other travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
mike day tripper
san diego, ca
Dec 3, 2012

Fun and hip

Came with my girlfriend and definitely had a fun, hip vibe. Would definitely recommend for a young couple looking for a fun city getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
EmmaNAle
Dallas, TX
Mar 24, 2014

The Standard, Downtown LA

Amenities was average, most of the stuff there were overpriced. I was not happy about paying $35.00 for parking (Note: People will have to pay $35.00 a night for valet parking and you can have in and out privileges. BUT if you use another parking spot to park the car yourself, then you will have to pay $20.00 a night with NO in and out privileges SMH THAT'S CRAZY! Had my 19yr old daughter with me. She could not go upstairs to see the swimming pool because she had to be 21 and over. I saw what the pool looked like on the website and did not read that someone had to be 21 and over to go to the pool at night.. That was another thing I was unhappy about! The temp in the room was cold. Just know that the temp in the building will not succeed the temp outside. It will always be cooler in the room/building. That was another thing I wasn't happy about. Felt better when I was changed to a room that was a little warmer. I honestly would not stay at this hotel again. Too expensive and it is as if they only cater / care about people who like to party. I don't believe they care about people who have family that stay there as the rooms itself are made for "couples".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Staples Center Starbucks IHop California African American Museum Chinatown Grand Central Market Hispanic cultural influences on Olvera Street Theater Parks Small mall

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Delray beach fl
Jun 14, 2010

Treated well cool place to party

My first choice was standard at sunset but everything was booked so ended up in the downtown standard I got upgraded which was brilliant huge room. Gr8 restaurant and a fun roof top pool in the evening it explodes to party central....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Tokyo, Japan
Jan 2, 2011

Better than average, but could be better

First room we entered was undone - kinda bad leadoff to the holiday. Requested room change, second one was the same size, I would've thought they would try to upgrade at least for the inconvenience. Had to request bathing robes twice - why can't they just replace the old ones every day? Rooftop was said to be the new go-to place in downtown, but after reading through a few Yelp reviews, decided not to because it was over-priced. Distance to Universal Studios or K-town was fairly close, so that was good - it took 30 minutes to get to Santa Monica, so that wasn't that bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Universal Studio reachable in 15 mins by car

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
LOS ANGELES
May 24, 2009

GOOD, FUN, NOISY

Good for singles or couples. If you are looking to "catch" then 21 to 35 year old is perfect or for the "young at heart". Good night life- 24 hour service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 2, 2009

Not so Standard

While they didn't have the correct information about my stay (they thought it was for 5 nights, instead of the 6 I had booked), I was quickly upgraded to another room and booked for my entire stay. I was there for conference at Convention Center - the hotel is 2 minute walk to Metro station and about a 20 minute walk to Convention/Staples Center. Not a ton of dining/nightlife options in this part of town, though (although there is some very good sushi nearby). It has a small, but clean and functional gym (interesting photos, ahem), a restaurant and bars on site. There was an odor of cigarette smoke over the weekend (from the Friday/Saturday night crowd, I think), but there were no traces of it a couple of days later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Takami Sushi and Robata restaurant (and the adjoining Elevate Lounge), in addition to some great food (try some of their specialty dishes!), provides a nice view of the city at night...

Back to menu Return to top