$198 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

The Standard, Downtown LA

4 stars
550 South Flower at 6th Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
144 reviews
Unusual but a lot of fun

I'm probably a bit older than the typical Standard resident, it is clearly targeted at the young... See full review

  • Wezza
  • Jul 26, 2014
Comfort at its best!

This hotel was absolutely beautiful, and the staff was amazing. The ping pong room and rooftop... See full review

  • Sandii C
  • Jul 10, 2014

Trendy, cutting-edge design and plenty of unexpected twists sum up this design hotel set in the midst of bustling LA.

The place is fitted with red astroturf, vibrating waterpod beds and a grassy knoll with sculptured topiary, making it truly unique. Nightly DJs, excellent food and special events have established the Rooftop Bar as one of the most coveted nightlife spots in Los Angeles. The vibrant interior features yellow booths and a diner style counter, as well as an outdoor patio complete with a water fountain that spouts flames. Rollaway bed $50.00 per bed and Pet Fee of $100.00 The hotel amenities are: Banquet facilities, bar, beauty salon/hairdresser, billiards, business center, concierge, conference facilities, disabled facilities, dry cleaning, gift shop, gym/fitness facilities, internet access-high speed, internet access-wireless, laundry service, lift/elevator, lobby, night club, non-smoking rooms, parking facilities-at cost, pets allowed, reception, restaurant, room service-24hrs, swimming pool-outdoor. At the time of check-in, the hotel will take an authorization of $150 per night to cover incidental charges. Please be aware that if a debit or check card is presented at the time of check-in, your bank may place a hold on your account in that amount for up to two weeks after departure. Cash deposits for the incidental charges will not be taken. Beginning January 1, 2010, overnight valet parking will increase to $30 plus tax per vehicle. The rooftop bar will be closed on New Years Eve, dates 12-31-11 through 1-1-12 for a private engagement.

Hotel Map

34.0504 -118.2563
Area served
Los Angeles.
Nearby airports
LAX International Airport.
Area description
Located in the heart of downtown Los Angeles, The Standard, Downtown LA is situated midway between Bunker Hill and the Staples Center/LA Live. In close proximity are Wells Fargo, AON, Citicorp, the Paul Hastings Building, The Los Angeles Convention Center, The Walt Disney Concert Hall, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the US Bank Tower and abundant cultural amenities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Standard, Downtown LA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Standard, Downtown LA Rooms

WOW
The room offers one king bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, DVD player, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, mini bar, modem/data port connection, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, telephone, voicemail, flat screen TV's with local HD programming, I-home.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pershing Square: 0.3 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.5 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.9 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.4 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.3 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.5 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.9 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.4 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 2.9 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.2 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.3 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.4 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 5.7 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 5.8 mi
  • The Grove: 6 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Farmers Market: 6.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.2 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.4 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 6.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 6.9 mi
  • Kitson: 7.5 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 8.4 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 10.6 mi
  • University of California: 10.7 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 10.7 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11 mi
  • UCLA: 11.4 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 12.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 12.7 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.2 mi
  • Getty Villa: 17.7 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The rooftop pool and lounge offer panoramic views of the city. Live DJs play nightly. The sundeck features red Astroturf and waterbed cabanas. The Restaurant is open 24 hours a day, with indoor and outdoor seating, and room service is available 24 hours a day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (144)

Ratings and reviews for The Standard, Downtown LA

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
road warrior 30
Business
nyc
Feb 21, 2014

business trip, they don't cater to biz travelers

Nice chic hotel. Staff seems friendly but there were a few weird things. Before checking in I called about parking options. I was told that I could valet for 38 or self park in same lot for half as much. When I got to the lot I was told valet only. So I valeted begrudgingly because I knew my company expected me to self park. When I checked in, I again asked for self parking and was told it shouldnt be a problem. I asked them to call their lot attendant so I wouldnt be turned away a second time. Finally the lot attendant comes in and says since there are special events it is valet only. I was there monday to Thursday and the lot sat empty. Then on my final morning there was no bill under my door. I had to call to verify my balance then stand in line for 15 minutes to get a copy. There were several people who peeked out and saw the line but none came out to help. When I finally got my bill the person asked me how my stay was. I said great except a bill under the door would have been nice to avoid this. He replied curtly that the Standard doesnt do that. I replied that for business travelers it is key. And then he had the nerve to say we have lots of biz travelers. I will choose a property next time where they really do cater to biz travelers. I spend half the year on the road and the little things matter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lhardin
los angeles, california
Feb 18, 2014

Paying for location

Decided to stay here valentines day. Thought this would be a good idea because it had resturant and roof top bar on premise. Upon arriving is my biggest gripe. Valet said it would be $35 or we could self park for $10. We werent being cheap we just didnt have much luggage and weren't planning on leaving anywhere so we decided to self park. When we tried we were told the lot was full and would have to valet. So i then self parked my car in valet and they said I would still be charged the $35. I didnt feel like arguing. At the check -in desk the attendant asked how our night was going and we told him our story. He then said very smugly "yeah its $35. No empathy from anyone here. We then went to the resturant which turned the night around. The fod was suprisingly very good and the waitress was amazing. I expected the basic room to be small and it was, but it could have used a good dusting. All in all I didnt see the value in staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IMeanHonestly
Los Angeles, ca
Jan 28, 2014

For the Young and Hip

Perfect spot downtown for the young and hip. Hotel provides the perfect locale for roof top partying and close access to downtown venues. Rooms are very basic and while comparable to others in the area, overpriced based on room qualities. Bar noise travels very easily and even the free earplugs won't stop it from allowing a good night's sleep. The basic queen was roomy enough. I wouldn't pay more for a few more inches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Staples, LA live, etc.

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JP and Co
Seattle area
Jan 21, 2014

Not designed for old folks

We used it only as a place to sleep one night. Supposedly they had upgraded us to a "nicer, larger room" but it was on the 2nd floor and the disco misic reverberated in the room until 2 a.m. Rooms and lobby are decorated in ultra modern but are not user-friendly. Bed on a platform was difficult for us older folks to get out of. Hotel's free wifi sucks. Wouldn't stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is a pretty good "food circus" collection of fast food eateries.

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brenda the birthday girl
Los Angeles California
Dec 11, 2013

Great romantic scene

It was a nice hotel with clean rooms and the roof top was beautiful! It was my birthday and the staff was nice enough to give me 2 drinks on them. It was a beautiful room and very classy and up to date

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
zaira112
san diego
Dec 9, 2013

excellent in every way

staff was awesome room was awesome overall stay was excellent and comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

hotel restaurant has excellent food, and the grill across the street is good too!

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
heavysyndicate
OC California
Dec 1, 2013

had a good time

had a smoking room top floor with a brilliant view....open and very comfortable bed....compared to what i have paid 120 $ at other places the extra 80$ for the night here was well worth it.....WELL worth it. its a trendy spot with hipsters and a more party theme so if your looking for like a relax spot id say no otherwise it was bang on

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
123456789blah
Business
portland, or
Nov 15, 2013

Great Unique Hotel

Had a great experience. Staff at front desk was nice/attentive. Room service food was very good, reasonably priced. Rooms were kitschy but cool. Rooftop pool/bar was unique. Could hear loud music in room at night (assume it was coming from roof), but in this hotel, it's almost expected (and they provide ear plugs). Not a hotel to bring kids!! Only complaint was the free wi-fi; it was spotty and I couldn't stream video without lots of annoying hiccups and it kept freezing some sites I use for work on my phone -- I ended up just turning off my mobile wi-fi -- worked much better (they offered a $9.95 upgrade, but in my mind if you offer free wi-fi, make it quality or just don't offer it). All in all, it was a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJSB
NYC
Oct 20, 2013

Great location; Caffee Primo down the street: Great

We are an older couple, so while a stall shower is best, the fact of being in a glass rectangle with no grab bars or slip prevention flooring created stress. We had to ask for a second chair. And a raised bed on a platform is dangerous for us old folks. But we knew it was a hotel for the young, so we managed. But if you are over 55, you might want accommodations elsewhere. The best gift was Caffee Primo down the street. Reasonable and delicious!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fat Blue
Orange County, California
Sep 24, 2013

Quite decent

As soon as we arrived, we knew that it was one hipster hotel that accommodates to the younger crowd. That is what we expected and hoped for anyway, so it worked out. The staff was fantastic and courteous, the room was clean and organized, etc. Some complain that this place is not as nice as priced, but it is downtown Los Angeles after all. Overall, good experience, not amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top