$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

The Standard, Downtown LA

4 stars
550 South Flower at 6th Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
131 reviews
What the W tries to be.

This is it. The epitome of trendy. Rooftop pool party, celebrities, 460 sq ft room, modern styling,... See full review

  • Tadddd
  • Aug 6, 2014
Cool and Chic.

Received an upgrade to their larger room and it was fantastic. Love the modern feel and huge space.... See full review

  • edsonk45
  • Aug 2, 2014
Trendy L.A. landmark is a downtown home for exploring the city

This hotel really does set the standard for "urban cool" in L.A. Cutting-edge design and a dynamic vibe fill every inch of the hotel, from the swank lobby to the ultra-stylish rooms. Guests are dazzled by the super-cool Rooftop Bar, trendy 24/7 brasserie, and sexy, artful decor. Los Angeles cultural and recreational destinations, such as the Walt Disney Concert Hall, the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, the Museum of Contemporary Art, The Staples Center and more are just blocks away.

Highlights
  • Rooftop Bar offers spectacular downtown views and chic design
  • Stylish guest rooms with glass-encased showers and platform beds
  • Ultra-convenient downtown location near major cultural destinations
Rooms

Guest rooms vary in size from 300 to 1,000 square feet. Designed with bright, post-modern style, these spaces are sure to delight guests. All rooms come with either queen- or king-size platform beds, complimentary Wi-Fi, large-screen TVs with DVD players, iPod stereos and oversized work desks. Bathrooms come furnished with glass-enclosed walk-in showers or soaking bathtubs, earth-friendly bath amenities and plush bath towels.

Features

The grand lobby's dazzling 125-foot fuchsia Omnibus sofa by designer Vladimir Kagan is only one detail in the visual feasts that fill this hotel. The lobby also includes a conceptual Jenny Holzer art installation, an Alexander Calder-inspired mobile, billiards table, a 15-time zone clock encased in stainless steel, and, of course, a full-service bar and lounge.

 

Business travelers take advantage of the free Wi-Fi, fully equipped business center and state-of-the-meeting rooms. Unwind at the heated outdoor pool and the fitness center in between shopping, sightseeing and nightlife adventures.

Dining

The hotel's 24/7 Restaurant serves fabulous New American cuisine in a vibrant, retro-diner interior and an outdoor patio alongside a delightful fountain. At the Rooftop Bar, DJ's spin the hippest grooves, guests sip tempting cocktails in a sexy lounge setting, and L.A.'s downtown skyline is laid out for view.

Transportation
  • Closest Metro Stations: Pershing Square (0.5 mi/less than 1 km), 7th/Metro Center (2 blocks)
  • Union Station (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Bob Hope Airport (15 mi/25 km)               
Attractions
  • Museum of Contemporary Art (less than 1 mi/1 km)
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theatre & Hollywood Walk of Fame (8 mi/13 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (10 mi/16 km)
  • Rodeo Drive/Beverly Hills (11 mi/18 km)
  • Santa Monica Pier & Third Street Promenade (16 mi/25 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • 14,500 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • Customizable sound systems
  • In-room fax machines
Polices & Fees

At the time of check-in, the hotel takes an authorization to cover incidental charges. Please be aware that if a debit or check card is presented at check-in, your bank may place a hold on your account for that amount for up to two weeks after departure. Cash deposits for the incidental charges will not be taken. Overnight valet parking is available (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.0504 -118.2563
Area served
Los Angeles.
Nearby airports
LAX International Airport.
Area description
Located in the heart of downtown Los Angeles, The Standard, Downtown LA is situated midway between Bunker Hill and the Staples Center/LA Live. In close proximity are Wells Fargo, AON, Citicorp, the Paul Hastings Building, The Los Angeles Convention Center, The Walt Disney Concert Hall, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the US Bank Tower and abundant cultural amenities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Standard, Downtown LA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Standard, Downtown LA Rooms

WOW
The room offers one king bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, DVD player, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, mini bar, modem/data port connection, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, telephone, voicemail, flat screen TV's with local HD programming, I-home.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pershing Square: 0.3 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.5 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.9 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.4 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.3 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.5 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.9 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.4 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 2.9 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.2 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.3 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.4 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 5.7 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 5.8 mi
  • The Grove: 6 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Farmers Market: 6.1 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.2 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.4 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 6.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 6.9 mi
  • Kitson: 7.5 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 8.4 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 10.6 mi
  • University of California: 10.7 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 10.7 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11 mi
  • UCLA: 11.4 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 12.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 12.7 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.2 mi
  • Getty Villa: 17.7 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The rooftop pool and lounge offer panoramic views of the city. Live DJs play nightly. The sundeck features red Astroturf and waterbed cabanas. The Restaurant is open 24 hours a day, with indoor and outdoor seating, and room service is available 24 hours a day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for The Standard, Downtown LA

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EmmaNAle
Dallas, TX
Mar 24, 2014

The Standard, Downtown LA

Amenities was average, most of the stuff there were overpriced. I was not happy about paying $35.00 for parking (Note: People will have to pay $35.00 a night for valet parking and you can have in and out privileges. BUT if you use another parking spot to park the car yourself, then you will have to pay $20.00 a night with NO in and out privileges SMH THAT'S CRAZY! Had my 19yr old daughter with me. She could not go upstairs to see the swimming pool because she had to be 21 and over. I saw what the pool looked like on the website and did not read that someone had to be 21 and over to go to the pool at night.. That was another thing I was unhappy about! The temp in the room was cold. Just know that the temp in the building will not succeed the temp outside. It will always be cooler in the room/building. That was another thing I wasn't happy about. Felt better when I was changed to a room that was a little warmer. I honestly would not stay at this hotel again. Too expensive and it is as if they only cater / care about people who like to party. I don't believe they care about people who have family that stay there as the rooms itself are made for "couples".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Staples Center Starbucks IHop California African American Museum Chinatown Grand Central Market Hispanic cultural influences on Olvera Street Theater Parks Small mall

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pincetikom
Business
Nevada
Mar 16, 2014

Business trip

Excellent hotel, location, staff was really helpful. Will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
business traveler 1994
Business
los angeles
Mar 14, 2014

work

hotel may be fine for younger crowd, but room comfort and amenities were terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
retired PhD
Park City
Mar 14, 2014

a rather noisy hotel

while this hotel has a superb location (close to symphony hall, theaters, subway stops, central market, city hall, etc) and its rooms are comfortable and spacious, it is a bit dated and most of all very noisy. it must be the place to congregate for those who love to party all night and do so in a very boisterous way. luckily the hotel security service is happy to intervene and make them aware of others on the premises. we likely shall not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

LA symphony hall

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gregg Fowler
Los Angeles
Feb 21, 2014

Wonderful Stay

We enjoyed the roof top bar and patio. Had a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Taki Despo
New York, NY
Feb 21, 2014

Friendly, trendy and cool location

Very friendly staff. Very clean. Good food. Cool Rooftop. Fairly priced. Cool location in Downtown LA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
road warrior 30
Business
nyc
Feb 21, 2014

business trip, they don't cater to biz travelers

Nice chic hotel. Staff seems friendly but there were a few weird things. Before checking in I called about parking options. I was told that I could valet for 38 or self park in same lot for half as much. When I got to the lot I was told valet only. So I valeted begrudgingly because I knew my company expected me to self park. When I checked in, I again asked for self parking and was told it shouldnt be a problem. I asked them to call their lot attendant so I wouldnt be turned away a second time. Finally the lot attendant comes in and says since there are special events it is valet only. I was there monday to Thursday and the lot sat empty. Then on my final morning there was no bill under my door. I had to call to verify my balance then stand in line for 15 minutes to get a copy. There were several people who peeked out and saw the line but none came out to help. When I finally got my bill the person asked me how my stay was. I said great except a bill under the door would have been nice to avoid this. He replied curtly that the Standard doesnt do that. I replied that for business travelers it is key. And then he had the nerve to say we have lots of biz travelers. I will choose a property next time where they really do cater to biz travelers. I spend half the year on the road and the little things matter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lhardin
los angeles, california
Feb 18, 2014

Paying for location

Decided to stay here valentines day. Thought this would be a good idea because it had resturant and roof top bar on premise. Upon arriving is my biggest gripe. Valet said it would be $35 or we could self park for $10. We werent being cheap we just didnt have much luggage and weren't planning on leaving anywhere so we decided to self park. When we tried we were told the lot was full and would have to valet. So i then self parked my car in valet and they said I would still be charged the $35. I didnt feel like arguing. At the check -in desk the attendant asked how our night was going and we told him our story. He then said very smugly "yeah its $35. No empathy from anyone here. We then went to the resturant which turned the night around. The fod was suprisingly very good and the waitress was amazing. I expected the basic room to be small and it was, but it could have used a good dusting. All in all I didnt see the value in staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IMeanHonestly
Los Angeles, ca
Jan 28, 2014

For the Young and Hip

Perfect spot downtown for the young and hip. Hotel provides the perfect locale for roof top partying and close access to downtown venues. Rooms are very basic and while comparable to others in the area, overpriced based on room qualities. Bar noise travels very easily and even the free earplugs won't stop it from allowing a good night's sleep. The basic queen was roomy enough. I wouldn't pay more for a few more inches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Staples, LA live, etc.

Review of The Standard, Downtown LA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JP and Co
Seattle area
Jan 21, 2014

Not designed for old folks

We used it only as a place to sleep one night. Supposedly they had upgraded us to a "nicer, larger room" but it was on the 2nd floor and the disco misic reverberated in the room until 2 a.m. Rooms and lobby are decorated in ultra modern but are not user-friendly. Bed on a platform was difficult for us older folks to get out of. Hotel's free wifi sucks. Wouldn't stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is a pretty good "food circus" collection of fast food eateries.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search