$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

The Los Angeles Athletic Club

4 stars
View map of 431 West 7th Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Los Angeles Athletic Club

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Los Angeles Athletic Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Oct 7, 2011

A great place for fitness enthusiasts, couples, and singles.

I've stayed at the Los Angeles Athletic Club two years in a row for the Adobe MAX conference. I originally chose them over one of the preferred hotels because they had four and five star ratings online. As a vegetarian it's hard to find hotels that offer healthy tasty vegetarian fare. It's even more difficult to find nice hotels at a reasonable price, with great amenities, in a great central location, inexpensive covered parking, and without a lot of noise from kids. Because these conferences are intense and go from 0700-2200 it's important to be comfortable when you are in the room. The Los Angeles Athletic Club caters to everything you need. They offer better fitness facilities than you will find at any other hotel - full olympic size swimming pool, tennis courts, racketball, squash, basketball, tracks, weights, yoga, and so much more. A complete spa with very reasonable prices (less than $60 for a 1 hour massage). They offer several restaurants from a casual bar for lunch, to a formal grill room with lobster, to my favorite, a snack bar with wraps, salads, soup, chips, and fruit. Even though the restaurants close earlier than other hotels, they will accommodate by delivering food to your room if you're not there to order it and retrieve it. They also offer unheard of $12/day parking with in and out privileges. The rooms are always very clean, the beds are incredibly comfortable. There's a mini fridge and safe in every room, a desk with a lamp, wireless internet (free), television (not HD), cable, benches, sitting chairs, plenty of lighting, bathtub/shower combination. And they welcome you with a fresh fruit tray (usually includes three pieces of fruit, cheese, and crackers). And if that's not enough, a full American breakfast buffet every day you stay there. The staff are also incredible. And even though it's a non-tipping hotel, I tip the cleaning staff daily, and at the restaurants. And it is appreciated. I will be staying there any time I'm in LA because they are just that good. And I highly recommend them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you're a vegetarian definitely try the tofu wrap or salad at the 8th floor snack bar. You've never had tofu so tasty. They also offer Gardein chick'n tacos. A nice plus for those of us who don't eat meat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Los Angeles Athletic Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Oct 7, 2011

A great place for fitness enthusiasts, couples, and singles.

I've stayed at the Los Angeles Athletic Club two years in a row for the Adobe MAX conference. I originally chose them over one of the preferred hotels because they had four and five star ratings online. As a vegetarian it's hard to find hotels that offer healthy tasty vegetarian fare. It's even more difficult to find nice hotels at a reasonable price, with great amenities, in a great central location, inexpensive covered parking, and without a lot of noise from kids. Because these conferences are intense and go from 0700-2200 it's important to be comfortable when you are in the room. The Los Angeles Athletic Club caters to everything you need. They offer better fitness facilities than you will find at any other hotel - full olympic size swimming pool, tennis courts, racketball, squash, basketball, tracks, weights, yoga, and so much more. A complete spa with very reasonable prices (less than $60 for a 1 hour massage). They offer several restaurants from a casual bar for lunch, to a formal grill room with lobster, to my favorite, a snack bar with wraps, salads, soup, chips, and fruit. Even though the restaurants close earlier than other hotels, they will accommodate by delivering food to your room if you're not there to order it and retrieve it. They also offer unheard of $12/day parking with in and out privileges. The rooms are always very clean, the beds are incredibly comfortable. There's a mini fridge and safe in every room, a desk with a lamp, wireless internet (free), television (not HD), cable, benches, sitting chairs, plenty of lighting, bathtub/shower combination. And they welcome you with a fresh fruit tray (usually includes three pieces of fruit, cheese, and crackers). And if that's not enough, a full American breakfast buffet every day you stay there. The staff are also incredible. And even though it's a non-tipping hotel, I tip the cleaning staff daily, and at the restaurants. And it is appreciated. I will be staying there any time I'm in LA because they are just that good. And I highly recommend them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you're a vegetarian definitely try the tofu wrap or salad at the 8th floor snack bar. You've never had tofu so tasty. They also offer Gardein chick'n tacos. A nice plus for those of us who don't eat meat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Los Angeles Athletic Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
earth friend
Business
nor cal
Oct 10, 2010

feels like home, only better!

the laac is my new favorite hotel. if you need to be in downtown LA and you have a focus on fitness this is the place to be!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

the rooms have empty fridges so hit up whole foods on your way to the hotel for some healthy snacks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Los Angeles Athletic Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Business and Leisure
Business
Brimfeild
Jan 23, 2015

Great downtown Location

Stayed here as a stop,over on my way to Asia. The rooms are quite spacious, comfortable, and quite clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Highly recommend for those staying in downtown LA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Los Angeles Athletic Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John F.
Business
N/A
Jan 21, 2015

What a pleasant surprise!

Wonderful hotel with turn of the century charm. Fabulous free breakfast and wonderful food in the Invention Bar and restaurant. Helpful staff and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Los Angeles Athletic Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Adolph
Business
Jenkintown
Feb 28, 2015

Great for Central LA

Cannot be beat when staying in "Downtown" LA. Staff are great, restaurant and bar are tremendous and having the workout facilities is a big plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Los Angeles Athletic Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fishboymd
Business
DSM
Apr 18, 2012

Very nice alternative

A very nice stay that isn't a name brand. Great workout facilities available for guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Urbano Pizza around the corner has a great pizza/beer happy hour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Los Angeles Athletic Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hater
Business
San Francisco, California
May 29, 2012

Great!

Great location. Lots of restaurants, night clubs and shopping. I loved the old school decorum but it's defiantly a mans hotel. Lots of wood and dark colors. Wish I had more time to use the gym and library. I just wish the bathroom was more up to date. Separate vanity was nice but the tub and toilet were very dated. And parking was not covered in the cost of the room.. $12.00 a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

More than 4 night clubs within 1 block was super nice. went from club to club got sideways. Went back to room to take an hour nap then back to the clubs by 1 to close out the night. 711 on the corner for water and Monster to go with with a bottle of vodka from the bottle shop up the bodega to keep it going on the rooftop deck till dawn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Los Angeles Athletic Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Southcoaster
Business
New York, NY
Aug 9, 2012

Excellent surprise

I was anticipating a "typical" business hotel, but was pleasantly surprised with the boutique nature of this place. The hotel portion of the LACC is well appointed with a boutique atmosphere. The gym/athletic facilities are top rate, with an old-school style (but definitely not shabby). The hotel employees were professional and friendly. I will definitely return during my next LA trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Los Angeles Athletic Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C Los
Business
Fontana Ca
Aug 13, 2012

Great for singles and couples.

The Athletic Club is decorated in dark woods, deep reds and leather furniture. Imagine an upper class man cave where one would smoke cigars and sip on Expensive Brandy. The walls are decorated with vintage photos of the history of the club. Very nice. Parking is $12 and the parking garage is next to the hotel. The staff at check in were very friendly, however the rest of the staff are not and don't speak unless spoken to. The room was decorated in dark grays and burgundy with 2 leather chairs, a computer desk, iPhone alarm clock that does charge and a mini fridge. WiFi is complementary. They also leave a plate of fruit and cheese which I placed in the fridge for the next morning. Very nice. The Breakfast Buffett is also complementary and was small but very good. Checkout was @ 1pm. Awesome. Upon exit our parking ticket did not work to exit and I had to show the parking attendant my parking voucher from check in. Very important not to lose that. Overall I liked the Hotel and would recommend it for singles and couples but definitely not a place for children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Los Angeles Athletic Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Southcoaster
Business
New York, NY
Feb 5, 2013

Excellent value, downtown location is great

Second visit to this downtown hotel. Excellent facilities, with nicely appointed rooms, quiet, spacious, and even includes a welcome treat. Breakfast buffet is bountiful and high quality. Staff are welcoming, helpful, and very pleasant. Downtown location is convenient, close to many excellent dining options, and walking distance to museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top