$68 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 11, 2014 Check-out: Dec 12, 2014

Stay on Main

2 stars
640 S. Main Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
153 reviews
Super Fun Stay!!!

As far as hostels go, this one may be at the top of the line. Our stay was perfect!! Since my last... See full review

  • aWolfeAtTheDoor
  • Oct 27, 2014
Inexpensive Place to Stay

This was all in all a pretty good experience. Even smaller than I imagined but all I really needed... See full review

  • ShakingCC
  • Oct 21, 2014
Dynamic downtown hotel is city's gateway with affordable comfort

Sporting a cool, colorful style, Stay appeals to all travelers looking to save money on accommodations without compromising on comfort. A variety of guest-room and pricing options fits any budget, while handy amenities such as complimentary Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs and iPod dockings stations in each room add to the appeal. The downtown location means many of L.A.'s prime attractions are walkable or easily accessible via the nearby Metro or freeways. The trendiest downtown eateries and bars are also short walks away.

Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in all guest rooms and public areas
  • Convenient downtown location means an abundance of nearby dining, shopping and recreation
  • Metro Stations, Union Station and freeways all nearby
Location

Guests will find a wealth of attractions, from downtown L.A.'s heritage buildings, Little Tokyo and Chinatown to the Museum of Contemporary Art and Walt Disney Concert Hall, all within walking distance. Two Metro stations are only blocks away, putting Universal Studios, Miracle Mile and Hollywood within easy reach, while the nearby 110 and I-5 freeways allow connectivity to all of greater L.A.'s destinations.

Rooms

Stay's 138 guest rooms come in various types. Guests can choose from rooms with private baths and with queen, twin or bunk beds. The same bed options are available for rooms with shared baths located down the hall. All rooms are equipped with complimentary Wi-Fi access, iPod docking stations and flat-screen TVs. Guests enjoy 300-count bed sheets and European bath and body essentials.

Features

This boutique hotel caters to anyone looking for friendly, functional accommodations at a budget price. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all public areas. To satisfy every hunger and thirst, there is an abundance of the trendiest bars and restaurants within walking distance. The nearby fashion and arts districts offer fantastic shopping and gallery-hopping opportunities.

Transportation
  • Closest Metro Stations: Pershing Square (5 blocks) & 7th Street/Metro Center (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (19 mi/30 km)
  • Bob Hope Airport (15 mi/25 km)
Attractions
  • Museum of Contemporary Art (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (8 mi/13 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theatre & Hollywood Walk of Fame (8 mki/13 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (11 mi/18 km)
  • Santa Monica Pier & Third Street Promenade (16 mi/26 km)

Hotel Map

34.0445 -118.2508
Area served
Los Angeles.
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport.
Area description
Located in downtown Los Angeles, the very first Stay is situated near the Los Angeles Convention Center, The Staples Center, LA Live, the Fashion District, the Jewelry District, the Flower Mart, The Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising, Little Tokyo, Chinatown, and the new Broadway Theater district. All of LA's famous tourist attractions, from Hollywood to Disneyland, are easily reachable from the hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Stay on Main also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Stay on Main Rooms

Queen Bed With Shared Bathroom
Room offers Queen Size Bed with alarm clock radio, 27" Plasma TV with Cable,non-smoking rooms,telephone, voicemail. The room has vibrant combination of colorful and comfortable bedding sheets. Contemporary artwork and light fixtures.
Twin Size Bed With Shared Bathroom
Room offers 2 Twin Size beds with alarm clock radio, 27" Plasma TV with Cable,non-smoking rooms,telephone, voicemail. The room has vibrant combination of colorful and comfortable bedding sheets. Contemporary artwork and light fixtures.
Queen Bed with Private Bathroom
Room offers Queen bed with Air conditioning, alarm clock radio, 27" Plasma TV with Cable,non-smoking rooms,telephone, voicemail. The room has vibrant combination of colorful and comfortable bedding sheets. Contemporary artwork and light fixtures.
Queen Bed With Private Bathroom
Room offers 2 Twin Size beds with Air conditioning, alarm clock radio, 27" Plasma TV with Cable,non-smoking rooms,telephone, voicemail. The room has vibrant combination of colorful and comfortable bedding sheets. Contemporary artwork and light fixtures.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Pershing Square: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.5 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.9 mi
  • Music Center: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.3 mi
  • California Science Center: 2.8 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.5 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.9 mi
  • Music Center: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.3 mi
  • California Science Center: 2.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 3 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.6 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.8 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.9 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 6 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 6 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 6.1 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 6.2 mi
  • The Grove: 6.4 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 6.5 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6.5 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 6.6 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 7.4 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 7.4 mi
  • Kitson: 7.9 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 8.7 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 11 mi
  • University of California: 11.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 11.1 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11.4 mi
  • UCLA: 11.8 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 13 mi
  • Getty Center: 13 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.7 mi
  • Getty Villa: 18 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (153)

Ratings and reviews for Stay on Main

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
153 out of 153
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.3

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Last Minute on a Budget
Business
Oakland, CA
Apr 27, 2013

Great Value

This was a great value, especially for a last minute stay that was budgeted for. They need to paint the walls on all floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Nikki Show
Business
Miami Beach, FL
Apr 21, 2013

No Bathroom In The Room

I arrived at this hotel and from the lobby it look small, but quaint. As we carried our luggage up the stairs (ourselves) and waited for elevator I recognized that the feel was much like a dorm. We get into the old elevator, and when we get in the room, we realize that there is no bathroom in the room only a sink. They use a community bathroom, which is small and down the hall. I was not aware that I was going to be staying in a hostel. I may have been okay if I was informed of this before hand, but to stay in a tiny room with dingy sheets and dim old lights, was not cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LA Cafe on Spring has great breakfast food if you need to escape this horrible hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Angelo your father
Business
los Angeles
Apr 21, 2013

exactly what I needed

Needed a place near work for a week Stay was exactly what I was looking for. Great location is a strong point. Amenities where all satisfactory. The room was clean. Walls, thin. The wifi is fast. Request the sixth floor. Waffles in the morning, and a cornucopia of people from around the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Stay on the 6th floor. WifI reaches the room so hmm o need to go to lounge

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
erf9
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Apr 9, 2013

LA Vacation

The best part of this hotel was definitely the location. We were looking for something affordable in downtown LA and that is exactly what we got. (Some people expressed concern about the neighborhood but we enjoyed the eclectic feel of old and new, high income and low income. Lots of great restaurants and events within walking distance. ) If you are not concerned with bad paint color and peeling paint, and don't mind going to the lobby for coffee rather than having a machine in your room then this hotel is a great value. (Those were the only things that bugged me.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Pantry restaurant. Apparently an LA establishment (I think it is 95 years old this year.) Great diner food at reasonable prices if you are in the mood for something other than CA fusion (read pricey and small portions), open 24 hours, feels like a time warp.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
slapit
Business
east bay
Mar 30, 2013

downtown hole in the wall

Loved the fact it was so close to the fashion district

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Late night tacos

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lisa Chung
Business
Puerto Rico
Mar 23, 2013

Yucks

I will NOT ever stay here. I fact, I checked out without staying a night. It is not safe. Google it to find out the details. Basically, this hotel/hostel = Cecil hotel. They have completely different names, but they share the same elevator, so go figure. I cancelled my reservation with Cecil Hotel after I found out about the horror stories, only to find that this hostel was in fact a part of the hotel. The moment I mentioned the hostel's name to my tour agent when I called in to confirm my tour, he gave me a nervous response and said he wanted to make sure I was aware of the history of the hotel. That was a clear indication for me to pack and go. By mistake, i took the lift to the wrong floor (level 2) and it reeked of the smell of urine. The corridor to my room was just eerie and freaked me out. There was no heating in the room, so it was cold. If you really wanted to stay, please go in person to check it out before you decide.Ask if you can see a room or something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kirs the yelper
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Mar 21, 2013

You get what you pay for.

I'd say that Stay covered the basics that a hostel should provide namely comfort and cleanliness, and then some. My parents and I found ourselves around the Downtown area late at night - Sunday 17th - and needed a place to crash. When we got there at around 9pm, we were checked-in within 5 minutes. Wifi was only available in the lobby and 6th floor lounge, not that it mattered. Bathroom and shower are separate from the room so what we did was wake up extra early the next day to get first hand on them. We were delighted with the complementary breakfast served between 7-10am with freshly made waffles, cereals, fruit juices, tea and coffee. We got what we paid for and slept well the night. Would go back again if we're around the area. Only concern is the shady area, but overall, it gave us all the necessities for the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
citah
Business
santa clara
Mar 18, 2013

bathroom outside the room, dim light and no air conditioning!

bad experience! not like the what ive seen on the internet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Smally Smalls
Business
los angeles, ca
Mar 17, 2013

bait and switch

My assumption was that I was checking into a small budget boutique hotel. I was, but I was also checking into a hotel where that shares space with a hotel that just the body of a quest in its water cistern. Since I was there for only one night and needed a place to crash, I stayed without using the water or shower. I was super creeped out when I discovered that it was the same building as the hotel with the recent death. Full disclosure should be required before renting rooms here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

not a great neighborhood at night. Venture out at your own risk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Enyol
Business
México
Feb 21, 2013

Worst hotel in My life!

This hotel Was The worst experience in My life!!..first The smell of urine in the bathroms was descusting!..The service Was next of poor!..and The worst,they have bedbugs!!..they bite me in The hand!! Was The worst hotel i ever stay on My life!!..think first,and sepend i little more!,you are going to regret if you Stay in this trash can...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top