$61 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Stay on Main

2 stars
View map of 640 S. Main Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
188 reviews
COOL & Affordable!

This place was shaby/urban chic. Lots of international travelers in the lobby and milling around... See full review

  • Daniel V.
  • Jul 31, 2015
Fun

I just wish the bed was more comfortable. The pictures on the website were not what we experienced... See full review

  • JenelleAndGabbyBFF
  • Apr 22, 2015

Sporting a cool, colorful style, Stay appeals to all travelers looking to save money on accommodations without compromising on comfort. A variety of guest-room and pricing options fits any budget, while handy amenities such as complimentary Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs and iPod dockings stations in each room add to the appeal. The downtown location means many of L.A.'s prime attractions are walkable or easily accessible via the nearby Metro or freeways. The trendiest downtown eateries and bars are also short walks away.

Location

Guests will find a wealth of attractions, from downtown L.A.'s heritage buildings, Little Tokyo and Chinatown to the Museum of Contemporary Art and Walt Disney Concert Hall, all within walking distance. Two Metro stations are only blocks away, putting Universal Studios, Miracle Mile and Hollywood within easy reach, while the nearby 110 and I-5 freeways allow connectivity to all of greater L.A.'s destinations.

Rooms

Stay's 138 guest rooms come in various types. Guests can choose from rooms with private baths and with queen, twin or bunk beds. The same bed options are available for rooms with shared baths located down the hall. All rooms are equipped with complimentary Wi-Fi access, iPod docking stations and flat-screen TVs. Guests enjoy 300-count bed sheets and European bath and body essentials.

Property features

This boutique hotel caters to anyone looking for friendly, functional accommodations at a budget price. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all public areas. To satisfy every hunger and thirst, there is an abundance of the trendiest bars and restaurants within walking distance. The nearby fashion and arts districts offer fantastic shopping and gallery-hopping opportunities.

Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in all guest rooms and public areas
  • Convenient downtown location means an abundance of nearby dining, shopping and recreation
  • Metro Stations, Union Station and freeways all nearby
Nearby attractions
  • Museum of Contemporary Art (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (8 mi/13 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theatre & Hollywood Walk of Fame (8 mki/13 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (11 mi/18 km)
  • Santa Monica Pier & Third Street Promenade (16 mi/26 km)
Transportation
  • Closest Metro Stations: Pershing Square (5 blocks) & 7th Street/Metro Center (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (19 mi/30 km)
  • Bob Hope Airport (15 mi/25 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Stay on Main also booked these hotels.

★★
$109
2.8 / 5 121 reviews
★★
$90
2.9 / 5 58 reviews
★★★
$119
4.0 / 5 98 reviews
★★
$116
2.6 / 5 67 reviews
★★
$91
2.8 / 5 50 reviews
★★
$84
3.0 / 5 74 reviews
★★★
$155
3.5 / 5 99 reviews
★★★
$132
3.3 / 5 132 reviews
★★
$86
3.2 / 5 18 reviews

Stay on Main Rooms

Queen Bed With Shared Bathroom
Room offers Queen Size Bed with alarm clock radio, 27" Plasma TV with Cable,non-smoking rooms,telephone, voicemail. The room has vibrant combination of colorful and comfortable bedding sheets. Contemporary artwork and light fixtures.
Twin Size Bed With Shared Bathroom
Room offers 2 Twin Size beds with alarm clock radio, 27" Plasma TV with Cable,non-smoking rooms,telephone, voicemail. The room has vibrant combination of colorful and comfortable bedding sheets. Contemporary artwork and light fixtures.
Queen Bed with Private Bathroom
Room offers Queen bed with Air conditioning, alarm clock radio, 27" Plasma TV with Cable,non-smoking rooms,telephone, voicemail. The room has vibrant combination of colorful and comfortable bedding sheets. Contemporary artwork and light fixtures.
Queen Bed With Private Bathroom
Room offers 2 Twin Size beds with Air conditioning, alarm clock radio, 27" Plasma TV with Cable,non-smoking rooms,telephone, voicemail. The room has vibrant combination of colorful and comfortable bedding sheets. Contemporary artwork and light fixtures.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Pershing Square: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.5 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.9 mi
  • Music Center: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.3 mi
  • California Science Center: 2.8 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.5 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.9 mi
  • Music Center: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.3 mi
  • California Science Center: 2.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 3 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.6 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.8 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.9 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 6 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 6 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 6.1 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 6.2 mi
  • The Grove: 6.4 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 6.5 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6.5 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 6.6 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 7.4 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 7.4 mi
  • Kitson: 7.9 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 8.7 mi
  • Universal Studios: 8.9 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 11 mi
  • University of California: 11.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 11.1 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11.4 mi
  • UCLA: 11.8 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 13 mi
  • Getty Center: 13 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Stay on Main

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
188 out of 188
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.3

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maria
Couples
N/A
Aug 20, 2015

Do not be fooled

They do not make it clear that this is more a hostel than a hotel. The hallway and entranceway is the nicest thing in this building. The rooms are minimal and bare. The beds are old and not comfortable, there is no air conditioner only fans, and the picture posted is not what the room looks like in person. Also you need to pay extra to have your own bathroom in your room otherwise you need to share a public bathroom. There was a strange thumping sound every minute seemed to be coming from the roof. The staff was understanding and it is not their fault. The description of the hotel needs to be clearer and the owner of the hotel needs to upgrade!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tracey h.
Family
N/A
Aug 19, 2015

very bad family trip!

STAY ON MAIN, DID NOT MEET MY EXPECTATIONS. ...AT ALL! THEY LIED TO ME ABOUT HAVING A POOL N THE BATHROOM N SHOWER WAS OUT N THE HALLWAY!!! Never again will I ever use this motel at all!!! Also, no hot water nor no A.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roxanne N.
Friends
N/A
Aug 3, 2015

Trip to Disneyland & a concert

My best friend and I needed a hotel that was cheap and close to public transit since neither of us were driving. A public bus that went all the way to Disneyland was only a few blocks from the hotel, and other public transit for sightseeing was also within walking distance. So, we loved the location. The room was clean and had good lighting. We only really needed a place to sleep, so it was good. It isn't fancy by any means, but it was comfortable enough to sleep in the room. My only complaint would be that on our first day there that the room was unbearably hot and had no AC. However, the second day of our stay, the weather wasn't so hot and the room was a comfortable temperature. Usually we skipped out on the free breakfast, but on the last day we decided to get it. It was okay. Again, it was nothing fancy, but it tasted fine and we weren't really expecting much from a hotel as cheap as this one is. I think this a great hotel to stay at if you just need a good location for traveling by public transit and a place to sleep not spend a lot of time in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daniel V.
Friends
Signal Hill
Jul 31, 2015

COOL & Affordable!

This place was shaby/urban chic. Lots of international travelers in the lobby and milling around outside. This spot is centrally located in the now-pedestrian-friendly Downtown L.A.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mike
Single
Westminster
Jul 30, 2015

Location, location, location

That's the only reason I have stayed here for two of my trips. Other than that, it will be my last time staying there. The room itself was tiny. It was in July, and had no central air. So it was HOT all the time! You got a free breakfast that consisted of waffles, cereal, oatmeal, orange juice, and water. The staff took their time chit chatting and processing the rooms. They were ok. If you can afford a better place, it will be worth your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alexa R.
Business
hyattsville
Jul 28, 2015

Horrible Experience

The first second I get into the room I wanted to get out, the shower was under my neck, no chairs, the neighborhood is dangerous I almost get robbed and assault so the next morning I cancel and get another hotel. check with them and you'll see that I cancel my staying. The most horrible experience the pics they show in their website no true

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stephanie G.
Couples
N/A
Jul 25, 2015

pretty bad experience

Beware: there's no AC and the noise is unliveable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicanocat
Friends
N/A
Jul 25, 2015

Good if you're looking to save money

Pretty basic hotel, with a great lobby area but grumpy staff. The location is good if your are looking for the bargain clothes alleys. Easy access to downtown and China Town. If you are only looking for a place to sleep and shower, you would be totally fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jesse H.
Single
N/A
Jul 19, 2015

Summer trip

Excellent price, great location, and a great staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jonfree
Couples
Central
Jun 28, 2015

Horrible experience

I have visited more than 15 different countries and many hotels and I have to say this is the WORST hotel ever. It is located in Dowtown, in the worst dangerous area in LA. I wish I would have booked a different hotel in a different zone. BE CAREFUL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top