$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 31, 2015

Stay on Main

2 stars
View map of 640 S. Main Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
222 reviews
Fun

I just wish the bed was more comfortable. The pictures on the website were not what we experienced... See full review

  • JenelleAndGabbyBFF
  • Apr 22, 2015
Very Small!

This place is VERY small.. only twin beds and looks scary but its not... this staff is okay but... See full review

  • Kei Kei
  • Mar 10, 2015

Sporting a cool, colorful style, Stay appeals to all travelers looking to save money on accommodations without compromising on comfort. A variety of guest-room and pricing options fits any budget, while handy amenities such as complimentary Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs and iPod dockings stations in each room add to the appeal. The downtown location means many of L.A.'s prime attractions are walkable or easily accessible via the nearby Metro or freeways. The trendiest downtown eateries and bars are also short walks away.

Location

Guests will find a wealth of attractions, from downtown L.A.'s heritage buildings, Little Tokyo and Chinatown to the Museum of Contemporary Art and Walt Disney Concert Hall, all within walking distance. Two Metro stations are only blocks away, putting Universal Studios, Miracle Mile and Hollywood within easy reach, while the nearby 110 and I-5 freeways allow connectivity to all of greater L.A.'s destinations.

Rooms

Stay's 138 guest rooms come in various types. Guests can choose from rooms with private baths and with queen, twin or bunk beds. The same bed options are available for rooms with shared baths located down the hall. All rooms are equipped with complimentary Wi-Fi access, iPod docking stations and flat-screen TVs. Guests enjoy 300-count bed sheets and European bath and body essentials.

Property features

This boutique hotel caters to anyone looking for friendly, functional accommodations at a budget price. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all public areas. To satisfy every hunger and thirst, there is an abundance of the trendiest bars and restaurants within walking distance. The nearby fashion and arts districts offer fantastic shopping and gallery-hopping opportunities.

Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in all guest rooms and public areas
  • Convenient downtown location means an abundance of nearby dining, shopping and recreation
  • Metro Stations, Union Station and freeways all nearby
Nearby attractions
  • Museum of Contemporary Art (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (8 mi/13 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theatre & Hollywood Walk of Fame (8 mki/13 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (11 mi/18 km)
  • Santa Monica Pier & Third Street Promenade (16 mi/26 km)
Transportation
  • Closest Metro Stations: Pershing Square (5 blocks) & 7th Street/Metro Center (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (19 mi/30 km)
  • Bob Hope Airport (15 mi/25 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Stay on Main also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Stay on Main Rooms

Queen Bed With Shared Bathroom
Room offers Queen Size Bed with alarm clock radio, 27" Plasma TV with Cable,non-smoking rooms,telephone, voicemail. The room has vibrant combination of colorful and comfortable bedding sheets. Contemporary artwork and light fixtures.
Twin Size Bed With Shared Bathroom
Room offers 2 Twin Size beds with alarm clock radio, 27" Plasma TV with Cable,non-smoking rooms,telephone, voicemail. The room has vibrant combination of colorful and comfortable bedding sheets. Contemporary artwork and light fixtures.
Queen Bed with Private Bathroom
Room offers Queen bed with Air conditioning, alarm clock radio, 27" Plasma TV with Cable,non-smoking rooms,telephone, voicemail. The room has vibrant combination of colorful and comfortable bedding sheets. Contemporary artwork and light fixtures.
Queen Bed With Private Bathroom
Room offers 2 Twin Size beds with Air conditioning, alarm clock radio, 27" Plasma TV with Cable,non-smoking rooms,telephone, voicemail. The room has vibrant combination of colorful and comfortable bedding sheets. Contemporary artwork and light fixtures.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Pershing Square: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.5 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.9 mi
  • Music Center: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.3 mi
  • California Science Center: 2.8 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.5 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.9 mi
  • Music Center: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.3 mi
  • California Science Center: 2.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 3 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.6 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.8 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.9 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 6 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 6 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 6.1 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 6.2 mi
  • The Grove: 6.4 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 6.5 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6.5 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 6.6 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 7.4 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 7.4 mi
  • Kitson: 7.9 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 8.7 mi
  • Universal Studios: 8.9 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 11 mi
  • University of California: 11.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 11.1 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11.4 mi
  • UCLA: 11.8 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 13 mi
  • Getty Center: 13 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Stay on Main

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
222 out of 222
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.3

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jonfree
Business
Central
Jun 28, 2015

Horrible experience

I have visited more than 15 different countries and many hotels and I have to say this is the WORST hotel ever. It is located in Dowtown, in the worst dangerous area in LA. I wish I would have booked a different hotel in a different zone. BE CAREFUL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abby W.
Business
Denver
Jun 26, 2015

Stay on Main was good to me

I had never been in downtown LA before. Stay on Main isn't the fanciest but it's centrally located. Next time I would spring for the private bathroom but it was comfortable and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jack
Business
Portland
Jun 13, 2015

Decent for sleep

Upgraded for own private bath in room with two twin beds. A lot tinier than had thought, although barely stayed in the hotel except to sleep. It's a good stay but you have to pay extra money if you didn't book or reserve a private bath (I suggest you do if you want your own privacy). No parking on sight, had to park across the street and down the block. Paid for both nights (two nights). Front desk was great help in checking in and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
elena k.
Business
selbyville
May 30, 2015

it was horrible!

The worst place I had ever stayed in!!!! I will never stay there again even for free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marc C.
Business
N/A
May 27, 2015

Pretty good experience

I went with this hotel cause of a coupon deal I was offered. I knew there was no parking and a shared bathroom. It was still a drag to not have it. Other than that, every thing was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steven E.
Business
N/A
May 21, 2015

Acceptable Accomodations while visiting family

It ws an acceptable clean place to sleep and what not. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KornyGuy
Business
N/A
May 15, 2015

First Time in Los Angeles

My girlfriend and I read reviews online about this hotel, and at first it kind of turned us off. Although the more we looked into it the more it made sense that we would be getting exactly what we were paying for. The hotel does not have Air Conditioning in the rooms, luckily for us we went in September and were content with the LA breeze coming in through the window. The worst part of the experience at this hotel is the parking. There is a valet parking service that takes your vehicle to a nearby garage and charges you daily with unlimited parks and pickups. We felt restricted because the last opportunity we had to get the service was before 2 A.M. If you like to be out late at night I'd advise you to be aware of their policies(the valet service is a separate operation from the hotel) Don't forget to tip the valet! They did an excellent job. Also, the complimentary breakfast is cool! The way I see it, if you're looking for a place to sleep this is a sweet spot to do it, and if you're looking for an ultimate deluxe hotel experience I would encourage you to get a room at a four or five star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not happy Mike
Business
Oxnard
May 2, 2015

One nite only

Location and price is good but scary to walk outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark Rowe
Business
New Cumberland
Apr 29, 2015

Good value for the Money

Ive stayed there twice now and got what I expected each time. Reasonable rate, good location. More a hostel than a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Stay on Main

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JenelleAndGabbyBFF
Business
N/A
Apr 22, 2015

Fun

I just wish the bed was more comfortable. The pictures on the website were not what we experienced at all. We still had so much fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top