$259 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Sofitel Los Angeles

4 stars
View map of 8555 Beverly Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90048

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Los Angeles

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ossining, N.Y.
Aug 31, 2012

A very friendly, comfortable, well staffed hotel

I enjoyed the four days and nights I spent at the Sofitell Hotel very much. My accomodations were very satisfactory , commodious and comfortable. The staff were all friendly and ready to help with any problem. I appreciated their attention because I am old and disabled. Everyone I spoke to on the staff seemed to know who I was. The restaurant served tastefull, satisfying and nutritious food, well prepared and well served. As far as I am concerned, I looked forward with great anticipation to eating my breakfast there each day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Come to breakfast early if you are interested in your daily newspaper with your breakfast. It is complimentary

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Urban Explorer
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 13, 2009

Shopper's paradise

Great location near many shopping options, including fantastic mall directly across the street. Within walking distance of pretty, tree-lined neighborhoods for safe walking excursions. Excellent restaurants nearby, including locals' hangout, "Dominick's," for tasty Italian. Will definately stay here again on my next trip to LA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington, dc
Jun 20, 2009

Fantastic!

I had a perfectly lovely stay at the Sofitel. My room was spotless and comfortable, great bathroom, fantastic service, convenient location. Wouldn't have changed a thing, except that the traffic outside was loud even though I was on the 9th floor. Nothing the hotel could do about that, though. I highly recommend the Sofitel LA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 9, 2009

Great location

Great location, within walking distance to cafes and shops on Robertson, Melrose and 3rd St. Staff was very professional and helpful. Ask for rooms facing the "hill" not the street if you can. They are very quiet, while the street facing Beverly Ctr is quite busy. If you're looking for a great pool, this is not it. Very small and not much space for lounge chairs, the hotel only has 10, which were typically taken. But everything else was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I would bypass a rental car if staying in this hotel, unless you need to travel to the beach, etc. There are plenty of restaurants, cafes and shops within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
May 31, 2009

The noise, the noise, the noise.

This was my second trip. The first trip last year was great. Since then, however, the general ambiance has declined. I was given a room on the 4th floor above the front entrance. Not a good location. At about 10:45 p.m. I was awoken by the driving bass of the disco lounge right on the ground floor. That's the Stone Rose. It was a huge party and loud. So I called the front desk and they moved me to a different room on the 5th floor and away from the Stone Rose. I still could hear it but it was passable with ear plugs. I think they really need to have a heart to heart with themselves to decide whether they're a hotel or a disco. Clearly from the front desk staff's reaction my own experience is a common one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jersey Shore
May 16, 2009

Great location, excellent staff

You can't beat the location. Easy access to Sunset, Hollywood and Santa Monica Blvd. Also, a supermarket is a quick drive and a drug store is in walking distance not to mention the mall across the street. Our first room was very small and not what we expected for $300 a night but the real problem was that the bathroom door didn't close all the way so you had little privacy. Also, our view was the mall parking lot. We complained a little and were able to get another room (many thanks to Elmer and the staff) the same day. The next day, we were offered another room - bigger and with a view of the Hollywood Hills. Since we were staying for 4 days that was really nice. We still don't get why the bathroom doors (they are sliding doors) don't close tightly - maybe it's more for singles than families. The rest of our stay was great. The only other complaint would be that the only refrigerator is the stocked one so there is no room for anything else. No coffee maker in the room but they do offer free coffee in the lobby. If you rent a car which you almost have to in LA, and you go in and out a lot, you'll spend lots in tipping the valet guys and like most hotels now there is that annoying $29 per night parking charge. I suppose you could park somewhere on the streets behind the hotel but there are fences and other obstacles so I don't think it's worth it. Because of the close proximity to a major hospital, you will hear sirens periodically during the day and night but it really didn't bother us. Room service is expensive - $30 for a personal size pizza and a bowl of soup which was not very good. The lounge was lively and a celeb or two might have been seen but in LA you can't tell if it's really them or someone trying to look like one :-) Overall, I would definitely stay there again because of the location and the staff. If you have kids and don't plan on renting a car then this is not the place though. But, if you want to jump in the car, head up to the Griddle Cafe on Sunset or head to Santa Monica, Hollywood or the Farmers Market than you are at the right place. It's about 12 miles from LAX.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Griddle Cafe on Sunset Blvd. Breakfast is awesome but portions are gigantic. If you have kids ask for kids portion or split with them. You'll save money and won't waste food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LA Baby!
Business
NY
Apr 28, 2009

Great location & Price

Absolutely fantastic. The only draw back was the hotle room was a little on the small side. What the heck, i'm not in LA to stay in the room. I would definitely return. Thumbs Up. Loved the mall across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minnesota
Apr 22, 2009

Great Location

o.k beds good no view from room good location near restaurants and points of interest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Dec 10, 2007

My review of Sofitel Los Angeles

The hotel looks great and the staff were entusiastic and helpful. I am in LA every month and have stayed at another hotel that costs more and has a great reputation. For a fast 2-3 day trip I would and will(through you) now stay at the Sofital. The only thing that was lacking was a bathtub in the room.But the bathroom itself was designed very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Across from the Beverly Center and a mile or so away from the family shopping playground:THE GROVE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 23, 2007

Sofitel made a fabulous vacation

I went to the Sofitel with two girlfriends, for an all girls vacation. From the minute, the staff was helpful, and really rolled out the red carpet for us. They made reservations, called cars, and offered helpful advice on things to do in the area. The locaiton was perfect, walking distance to shopping on Robertson and close to great restaurants and bars. I would reccommend this hotel to anyone, particularly if you want to have the LA Glam experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit up Robertson Ave, which has the Ivy, and a good chance of seeing celebrities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elia
Business
USA
Sep 19, 2007

Very friendly

Very well located. Great hotel. Hope to come back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Beverly Center Shopping right in front of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top