$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Sofitel Los Angeles

4 stars
8555 Beverly Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90048
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
46 reviews
Paris in LAX

Lovely "French" hotel in LAX Very European flavor. Good location for Universal studios and top... See full review

  • Travel MD
  • Aug 4, 2014
Excellent hotel - very friendly and customer service oriented

Everyone was so polite and accommodating. The hotel is very chic and the rooms very tastefully... See full review

  • Ann Marie the Explorer
  • Jul 20, 2014
Sexy elegance meets mid-city convenience at sleek Beverly Hills hotel

This Beverly Hills luxury retreat provides a high-end fusion of French style and Hollywood glamour. Prime dining, shopping, and smooth access to L.A.'s major business and leisure destinations make the hotel ideal for any traveler wanting sexy elegance combined with mid-city convenience.

Highlights
  • Prime mid-city shopping and dining location
  • Sleek, modern guestrooms with luxurious SoBeds
  • Premier in-house restaurant and lounge
Rooms

Each of the Superior guest rooms comes furnished with either a king bed or two doubles, a 32-inch HDTV, a Bose Wave Radio with an iPod docking station and both wired and Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply). All rooms feature signature SoBeds with ultra-soft mattresses and duvets and L'Occitane bath amenities. In addition, the hotel's Luxury Rooms offer glass-enclosed rainfall showers.

 

The hotel's plush line-up of suites offers all the above, plus separate living and bedroom spaces.  Prestige and Opera Suites contain two 32-inch HDTVs (top-end Imperial Suites offer 42-inch HDTV's), one in each room. All suites offer Hermes bath amenities and soaking tubs. Imperial Suites come with exquisite balcony views.

Features

The upscale shops of the Beverly Center, Melrose Avenue and Rodeo Drive all offer nearby shopping enticements. World-class nightlife options such as The Viper Room and Whiskey A Go Go are on the adjacent Sunset Strip, and a number of L.A.'s most sophisticated dining choices (Spago, Fogo De Chao) are in the neighborhood.

 

Celebrity chef Kerry Simon's in-house restaurant, Simon LA, features elegant interpretations of time-honored American dishes with a seductive lounge setting to unwind, socialize and sip signature cocktails.

 

Indulge yourself with face and body treatments at Le Spa at Sofitel, or decompress from a hectic day at the outdoor heated pool, sauna and fitness center.

Transportation
  • Bob Hope Airport (11 mi/18 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Long Beach Airport (32 mi/51 km)
Attractions
  • Sunset Strip (1 mi/2 km)
  • Rodeo Drive/Beverly Hills (2 mi/3 km)
  • Los Angeles County Museum of Art (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theatre & Hollywood Walk of Fame (4 mi/6.3 km)
  • J. Paul Getty Museum (9 mi/15 km)
  • Santa Monica Pier/Third Street Promenade (10 mi/16.5 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Nine event spaces, including meeting rooms, boardrooms, and the Beverly Ballroom
Policies and fees
Free accommodation and breakfast for one child under 12 years old sharing parents' room (with space for a crib, rollaway bed or by using existing bedding) having breakfast as a family. No club access.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.0764 -118.3788
Area served
LOS ANGELES.
Nearby airports
Los Angeles Int'l airport LAX : 10.5 MILES
Area description
Sofitel Los Angeles is in the most desirable location in the city. Located across the street from the Beverly Center shopping mall and Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, the hotel is a five-minute drive to Rodeo Drive in Beverly Hills, the hottest nightlife on the Sunset Strip and the banking and commerce centers of Century City and Wilshire Blvd. The leisure traveler will find themselves in between Hollywood and the beach communities of Venice, Santa Monica and Malibu. The business traveler will find Sofitel Los Angeles just 9 miles from downtown Los Angeles, 10 miles to LAX and surrounded by major centers of commerce.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Los Angeles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Sofitel Los Angeles Rooms

Deluxe Room
Approximately 425 sq. ft. Newly renovated. One King bed, High speed internet connection. Double French doors open onto step out balcony, larger room and spacious and luxurious bathroom. This room features an oversized desk with smart connections, a 32'' LCD flat panel TV in the bedroom and Pay Per View movies, two two-line phones, one being a cordless phone. It also includes minibar, AM/FM Alarm Clock, Sofitel MyBed bedding (Plush down duvets, feather top mattress, oversized pillows), Frette terrycloth bathrobes, in-room safe, hairdryer, iron and board, French toiletries and nightly turndown service. Hollywood Hills or City view.
Superior Room
Hollywood Hills or City View, One King Bed. Approximately 375 sq. ft. the room features One King Sized bed, minibar, TV, with Pay Per View movies and Internet access capabilities, AM/FM/CD Alarm Clock, Sofitel MyBed bedding (plush down duvets, feather top mattress, oversized pillows), Frette terrycloth bathrobes, French toiletries and nightly turndown service.
Double Room
City View, 2 Full Beds. Approximately 425 sq. ft. the room features 2 full Sized beds, minibar, TV, with Pay Per View movies and Internet access capabilities, AM/FM/CD Alarm Clock, Sofitel MyBed bedding (plush down duvets, feather top mattress, oversized pillows), Frette terrycloth bathrobes, French toiletries and nightly turndown service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kitson: 0.3 mi
  • Farmers Market: 1.1 mi
  • The Grove: 1.3 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 1.7 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 2.1 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2.8 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.9 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 3.2 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 3.4 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 3.6 mi
  • University of California: 3.6 mi
  • Kitson: 0.3 mi
  • Farmers Market: 1.1 mi
  • The Grove: 1.3 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 1.7 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 2.1 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2.8 mi
  • Magic Castle: 2.9 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 3.2 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 3.4 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 3.6 mi
  • University of California: 3.6 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 3.8 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.9 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 3.9 mi
  • UCLA: 4.3 mi
  • Koreatown: 4.7 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 5.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.2 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 5.5 mi
  • Getty Center: 5.5 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 6.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 6.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 6.7 mi
  • Staples Center: 6.8 mi
  • Galen Center: 6.8 mi
  • California Science Center: 7 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 7.3 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 7.5 mi
  • Pershing Square: 7.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 7.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 7.6 mi
  • Music Center: 7.6 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 7.7 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 7.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 7.9 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 8 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 8.2 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 8.6 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 8.9 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 9.8 mi
  • Getty Villa: 10.9 mi

Dining

SIMON LA
SIMON LA features modern American comfort food by Culinary Star Kerry Simon. Experience the creative modification of classic dishes in the supper-club atmosphere designed by Yabu Pushelberg. Enjoy outdoor dining on the patio featuring trickling water-walls, cozy benches with plush pillows, and a glowing fire pit. Open 6:30am-11:00pm daily.
Stone Rose Lounge
Stone Rose Lounge by Rande Gerber features style and substance with its sexy atmosphere and signature cocktails. Chill out in the seductive lounge, upgrade you and your friends to the VIP room, or sneak away in a private cabana. Experience the west-coast version of its east-coast sister property in New York City. Open 4:00pm-2:00am daily.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting Space: 10,000 square feet of meeting space fuses chic style with smart design. All located on the second floor, the design embodies modern elegance while providing the functionality that you need to be successful. Catered by SIMON LA, the Sofitel meeting experience is so mouthwatering, so different, so productive.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Los Angeles

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Realtor Couple
Toronto, Canada
Sep 21, 2009

Great Hotel and Location

We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay very much. The location was great with much within walking distance. The hotel was very enjoyable although other than the internet service we didn't really use any other facility or amenity there. The only negative is that we were on our 1 year anniversary and I would have preferred a better view. We faced the Beverly Center Mall. The view of the hills would have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Urban Explorer
Chicago, IL
Jul 13, 2009

Shopper's paradise

Great location near many shopping options, including fantastic mall directly across the street. Within walking distance of pretty, tree-lined neighborhoods for safe walking excursions. Excellent restaurants nearby, including locals' hangout, "Dominick's," for tasty Italian. Will definately stay here again on my next trip to LA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
washington, dc
Jun 20, 2009

Fantastic!

I had a perfectly lovely stay at the Sofitel. My room was spotless and comfortable, great bathroom, fantastic service, convenient location. Wouldn't have changed a thing, except that the traffic outside was loud even though I was on the 9th floor. Nothing the hotel could do about that, though. I highly recommend the Sofitel LA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Jun 9, 2009

Great location

Great location, within walking distance to cafes and shops on Robertson, Melrose and 3rd St. Staff was very professional and helpful. Ask for rooms facing the "hill" not the street if you can. They are very quiet, while the street facing Beverly Ctr is quite busy. If you're looking for a great pool, this is not it. Very small and not much space for lounge chairs, the hotel only has 10, which were typically taken. But everything else was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I would bypass a rental car if staying in this hotel, unless you need to travel to the beach, etc. There are plenty of restaurants, cafes and shops within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
May 31, 2009

The noise, the noise, the noise.

This was my second trip. The first trip last year was great. Since then, however, the general ambiance has declined. I was given a room on the 4th floor above the front entrance. Not a good location. At about 10:45 p.m. I was awoken by the driving bass of the disco lounge right on the ground floor. That's the Stone Rose. It was a huge party and loud. So I called the front desk and they moved me to a different room on the 5th floor and away from the Stone Rose. I still could hear it but it was passable with ear plugs. I think they really need to have a heart to heart with themselves to decide whether they're a hotel or a disco. Clearly from the front desk staff's reaction my own experience is a common one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jersey Shore
May 16, 2009

Great location, excellent staff

You can't beat the location. Easy access to Sunset, Hollywood and Santa Monica Blvd. Also, a supermarket is a quick drive and a drug store is in walking distance not to mention the mall across the street. Our first room was very small and not what we expected for $300 a night but the real problem was that the bathroom door didn't close all the way so you had little privacy. Also, our view was the mall parking lot. We complained a little and were able to get another room (many thanks to Elmer and the staff) the same day. The next day, we were offered another room - bigger and with a view of the Hollywood Hills. Since we were staying for 4 days that was really nice. We still don't get why the bathroom doors (they are sliding doors) don't close tightly - maybe it's more for singles than families. The rest of our stay was great. The only other complaint would be that the only refrigerator is the stocked one so there is no room for anything else. No coffee maker in the room but they do offer free coffee in the lobby. If you rent a car which you almost have to in LA, and you go in and out a lot, you'll spend lots in tipping the valet guys and like most hotels now there is that annoying $29 per night parking charge. I suppose you could park somewhere on the streets behind the hotel but there are fences and other obstacles so I don't think it's worth it. Because of the close proximity to a major hospital, you will hear sirens periodically during the day and night but it really didn't bother us. Room service is expensive - $30 for a personal size pizza and a bowl of soup which was not very good. The lounge was lively and a celeb or two might have been seen but in LA you can't tell if it's really them or someone trying to look like one :-) Overall, I would definitely stay there again because of the location and the staff. If you have kids and don't plan on renting a car then this is not the place though. But, if you want to jump in the car, head up to the Griddle Cafe on Sunset or head to Santa Monica, Hollywood or the Farmers Market than you are at the right place. It's about 12 miles from LAX.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Griddle Cafe on Sunset Blvd. Breakfast is awesome but portions are gigantic. If you have kids ask for kids portion or split with them. You'll save money and won't waste food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LA Baby!
Business
NY
Apr 28, 2009

Great location & Price

Absolutely fantastic. The only draw back was the hotle room was a little on the small side. What the heck, i'm not in LA to stay in the room. I would definitely return. Thumbs Up. Loved the mall across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
minnesota
Apr 22, 2009

Great Location

o.k beds good no view from room good location near restaurants and points of interest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Dec 10, 2007

My review of Sofitel Los Angeles

The hotel looks great and the staff were entusiastic and helpful. I am in LA every month and have stayed at another hotel that costs more and has a great reputation. For a fast 2-3 day trip I would and will(through you) now stay at the Sofital. The only thing that was lacking was a bathtub in the room.But the bathroom itself was designed very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Across from the Beverly Center and a mile or so away from the family shopping playground:THE GROVE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Sep 23, 2007

Sofitel made a fabulous vacation

I went to the Sofitel with two girlfriends, for an all girls vacation. From the minute, the staff was helpful, and really rolled out the red carpet for us. They made reservations, called cars, and offered helpful advice on things to do in the area. The locaiton was perfect, walking distance to shopping on Robertson and close to great restaurants and bars. I would reccommend this hotel to anyone, particularly if you want to have the LA Glam experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit up Robertson Ave, which has the Ivy, and a good chance of seeing celebrities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top