$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
457 South Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
125 reviews
It was Great!

It was Great! I recommend this hotel for traveler to LA. See full review

  • Ryan Kim
  • Dec 3, 2013
Great location

I've stayed at Shelter a couple times now when staying in LA. For the location and free parking,... See full review

  • Parksp
  • Oct 13, 2014
A tranquil, stylish sanctuary in a central location
The fun, comfortable and fashionable Shelter Hotels Los Angeles prides itself on its sense of soul and community. Shelter Hotels Los Angeles features 48 spacious and soothing rooms set in the heart of the city. Look out for the hotel's luxurious interiors, designed by Lisa Strong. Take pleasure in nestling in luxurious bedding and treading on polished dark hardwood floors. The hotel provides modern and fully equipped bathrooms that are welcomed by guests wishing to refresh themselves after a dip in the pool to cool off from the heat.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • A modern hotel located in close proximity to popular tourist attractions

  • Luxurious in-room interiors specifically designed for the hotel

  • Close to fine restaurants and nigh

Shelter Hotels Los Angeles Rooms

Spacious, cozy and warm rooms await at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles. All 48 rooms feature elegant, custom-designed furniture, dark hardwood floors, stylish bathrooms and pillow-top beds. Guests enjoy a choice of over 100 television stations, courtesy of their 32-inch LCD flat screen TV with individual high-definition receivers. iPod alarms and docking stations make use of the latest technology, while individual work desks assist business travelers preparing for meetings. Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless internet access allows guests to keep in contact while on vacation. Business guests continue to work and communicate with ease; alternatively, leisure guests can simply relax in the snug in-room seating areas. The Shelter Hotels Los Angeles is the perfect base for sightseeing trips to nearby Hollywood, the LA Convention Center, the Staples Center, Beverly Hills or Universal Studios.

Things To Do:
  • Universal Studios (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Hollywood (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Downtown Los Angeles (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Beverly Hills (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Santa Monica (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • Disneyland (28 mi/45.1 km)
Policies and fees
  • Pets allowed (contact hotel for more details)
  • Incidental charges, such as room service, not included in the nightly hotel fee

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.0656 -118.2996
Area served
Los Angeles
Nearby airports
LAX and Burbank
Area description
Centrally located in Los Angeles, blocks to Hollywood, LA Convention Center, Staples Center, Beverly Hills, Universal Studios, the finest restaurants and night spots, and two blocks to metro station.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shelter Hotel Los Angeles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles Rooms

Deluxe Guestroom
Deluxe guest room features Luxurious Pillow Top Beds, Hardwood Floors, 32" LCD Flat Screen Televisions, Complimentary Wireless and Wired High Speed Internet, Individual High-Definition Receivers with over 100 Television Channels and I-Pod Docking Stations.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 3.3 mi
  • The Grove: 3.3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.4 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 3.4 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 3.5 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 3.5 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.6 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 3.6 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3.6 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 3.7 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 4 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 4.3 mi
  • Kitson: 4.9 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 5.8 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.9 mi
  • University of California: 8.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 8.2 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 8.4 mi
  • UCLA: 8.8 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 10.5 mi
  • Getty Villa: 15.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 125
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parksp
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Oct 13, 2014

Great location

I've stayed at Shelter a couple times now when staying in LA. For the location and free parking, you can't get a better deal. Amenities are very basic so don't expect high end toiletries and other services in luxury hotels. The neighborhood can seem sketchy, but I've never had any issues while staying here. The beds are large and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MonicaR
Business
San Rafael, CA
Jun 3, 2014

Clean and quiet

I needed accommodation in that particular area and was lucky to find this place. I requested a top floor to avoid noisy upper neighbors. They were thoughtful enough to give me a top floor north west room so I had a quiet time and was able to rest. Rooms are simple but modern and bed is comfortable. There is parking in the lower level but didn't use it so don't know what the charge is for those. I also discovered a great raw seafood bar one block away !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bigperf
Business
Santa Barbara, ca
Mar 20, 2014

Ehhh

Arrived to property and after checking in, no wifi! Front desk agent says router broken on 4th floor so I ask for a room on another floor, they provide it after a while. Decided to go check out the pool while waiting, filthy, it doesn't get cleaned and it isn't heated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The metro purple line is a couple of blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Polish prince two
Business
Calgary
Mar 3, 2014

Wonderful location

It was my second time staying at the shelter. It is nothing special but great location and free parking. The staff are very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Colorado In LA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 8, 2013

Fine in a pinch

Lackluster at best. It's an old apartment complex masquerading as a high quality hotel. I did not enjoy the hammering at 9:00A, nor did I enjoy being charged a deposit without at least being told (customary to do so, but left a bad taste in my mouth not to be told).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sweet Jane
Business
Chicago, IL
May 8, 2013

LA near Wilshire Blvd

The hotel, free indoor parking and location were all good. The sparsely furnished room reminded me of a European hotel room. It appeared to be newly remodeled and was very clean. The reception desk and lobby were not what you would expect in a hotel and did not appear to be a place where you would want to spend much time. With all that said, I would certainly stay there again for my visits with family and business trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cameron April
Business
San Diego
Apr 1, 2013

Not what I bought

Having bought my hotel stay, I arrived and was subsequently told that I had to pay extra for this and that - everything that anyone would normally expect to be included. I did not expect much from this cheap hotel, but it was worse than i expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lexipullin
Business
Los Angeles, California
Oct 29, 2012

Great clean stay

We loved this boutique hotel. The rooms were nice and clean. Walls were paper thin. The area isn't bad but you're right in Korea Town. Easy access to metro and public transportation. Free parking! Great cheap place to stay highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
3333
Business
new york
Jan 4, 2012

good hotel

a nice hotel, and the transportation is Convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
verogyn
Business
Buenis Aires, Argentina
Jul 13, 2011

Great Experience

It was a great experience. Beauty swiming pool, beauty room. I stay for 3 days from thursday to friday. Was everything fine...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

A lot of stores and even an Sturbucks coffee

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top