$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
View map of 457 South Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
148 reviews
Love this hotel!

I always stay here when in LA. It is a great location near the subway and buses if you dont have a... See full review

  • BigCityTraveler
  • Apr 14, 2015
last minute

the chckin process is easy and managemenet is relaxed as long as tou pay on time. book in advance... See full review

  • sang lee.
  • Mar 2, 2015
A tranquil, stylish sanctuary in a central location
The fun, comfortable and fashionable Shelter Hotels Los Angeles prides itself on its sense of soul and community. Shelter Hotels Los Angeles features 48 spacious and soothing rooms set in the heart of the city. Look out for the hotel's luxurious interiors, designed by Lisa Strong. Take pleasure in nestling in luxurious bedding and treading on polished dark hardwood floors. The hotel provides modern and fully equipped bathrooms that are welcomed by guests wishing to refresh themselves after a dip in the pool to cool off from the heat.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • A modern hotel located in close proximity to popular tourist attractions

  • Luxurious in-room interiors specifically designed for the hotel

  • Close to fine restaurants and nigh

Shelter Hotels Los Angeles Rooms

Spacious, cozy and warm rooms await at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles. All 48 rooms feature elegant, custom-designed furniture, dark hardwood floors, stylish bathrooms and pillow-top beds. Guests enjoy a choice of over 100 television stations, courtesy of their 32-inch LCD flat screen TV with individual high-definition receivers. iPod alarms and docking stations make use of the latest technology, while individual work desks assist business travelers preparing for meetings. Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless internet access allows guests to keep in contact while on vacation. Business guests continue to work and communicate with ease; alternatively, leisure guests can simply relax in the snug in-room seating areas. The Shelter Hotels Los Angeles is the perfect base for sightseeing trips to nearby Hollywood, the LA Convention Center, the Staples Center, Beverly Hills or Universal Studios.

Things To Do:
  • Universal Studios (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Hollywood (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Downtown Los Angeles (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Beverly Hills (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Santa Monica (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • Disneyland (28 mi/45.1 km)
Policies and fees
  • Pets allowed (contact hotel for more details)
  • Incidental charges, such as room service, not included in the nightly hotel fee

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shelter Hotel Los Angeles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles Rooms

Deluxe Guestroom
Deluxe guest room features Luxurious Pillow Top Beds, Hardwood Floors, 32" LCD Flat Screen Televisions, Complimentary Wireless and Wired High Speed Internet, Individual High-Definition Receivers with over 100 Television Channels and I-Pod Docking Stations.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 3.3 mi
  • The Grove: 3.3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.4 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 3.4 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 3.5 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 3.5 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.6 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 3.6 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3.6 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 3.7 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 4 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 4.3 mi
  • Kitson: 4.9 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 5.8 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.9 mi
  • Universal Studios: 6 mi
  • University of California: 8.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 8.2 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 8.4 mi
  • UCLA: 8.8 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 10.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 148
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Supakit K.
Business
South San Francisco
May 10, 2015

Great Hotel!

Hotel in the Korean town area where a lot of korean restaurant is around. I love the area and restaurant. I would stay here again for the next visit to Los Angeles

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe Mac56
Business
Los Angeles, California
Sep 17, 2014

Great Deal .

Rooms are very clean. I would definitely stay here again ,only minutes away from down town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cookie9484
Business
Los Angeles Ca
Aug 2, 2014

Relocating

The hotel is just as described. The shelter. The hotel was dirty. The room smelled like bleach and was a little box. I had my small kids with me and we didn't even bathe because of condition and nasty room. Seemed as if I was in a shelter for the homeless. Don't recommend hotel to anyone with family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler111333555
Business
Santa Barbara
May 13, 2013

Great location, very little amenities

The room was clean, location was good, people were friendly and nice. But the downside was there were very little amenities in the room: no hangers, no refrigerator, no closet whatsoever. But still, the hotel is okay for its price, but probably not the best place to stay in for people coming in for business trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nicole W.
Business
Stockton, CA, USA
Mar 1, 2013

I'll be looking elsewhere next time...

I've stayed at this hotel two other times before my most recent stay. Each time, it seems to get just a little worse. I don't think I'll be back. I know it's a no-frills-type of place, but this was a bit much. When I arrived, there was a discrepancy between what I was told on the telephone I'd be charged for a deposit and what I was told in person. It resulted in being charged twice as much for the deposit. I knew I wouldn't cause any damage to the room, but I didn't appreciate being told one thing just to have it change when I got there. And the staff member wasn't even apologetic about it. The room wasn't as clean as I would expect a hotel room to be. I happened to bring my own Clorox wipes and boy, I was finding dirt everywhere it shouldn't be: door knobs, faucets, the toilet seat. The floor in the bathroom area was dirty, the bed had hair in it, the desk chair had a suspect stain on it. Gross. It was also extremely noisy. I could hear everything going on in the room above me and next door to me - and I do mean everything! It was especially noisy late at night and very early in the morning. Couldn't figure out why. I was especially concerned when I saw what looked like a smoke detector had been ripped off the wall near the elevator. And speaking of elevator: slow, rickety, and dark inside. Let's just hope the sprinklers work inside the rooms if there really is a fire... I'll try to end this review on a positive note. After much talk about the much-anticipated pool, I was told that it was finally ready. It's winter, so I wasn't going to use it, but I saw it and let me tell you, it ain't great. But at least it exists. I've stayed at this hotel in the past mainly because of it's location, but I think I'll be looking elsewhere next time. It's just not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is conveniently located between Griffith Observatory to the north and the California Science Center to the south. Also close to Hollywood and to Downtown L.A.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms A9
Business
Fresno, CA, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Good place to rest

We went for a weekend getaway and decided on this place because of location and price...it wasn't bad but there is a lack of storage for clothes...we had to ask for more hangers, which the staff did get us more...there was no fridge or microwave so that didn't help....n on the day we were leaving they started working on the pool at 8am which we heard every hammering sound from our room...so we didn't get to sleep in...overall if you're just looking for a place to sleep its not bad, but if u need more then a bed and bathroom, you should go some where else....hopefully when they finish remodeling they'll add amenities to the room or at least the main lobby....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free parking and wifi....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blet
Business
McLean, VA, USA
Nov 7, 2011

Needs attention to detail

Though the location was great for my purpose, and I really liked having parking available, there were missing amenities, like directions to use the tv/cable remote; in-room coffee maker; pencil and paper; full length mirror; extra roll of toilet paper. I thought it was odd, too, that there were no pictures or photos anywhere on the room's walls--only a flat screen t.v. Biggest negative was the fact that this hotel allows dogs--my neighbor's dogs barked nonstop at all hours when they were in; it sounded like they were in MY ROOM. I requested a move, however, and they did find me a room down the hall. Finally, they said coffee and pastries were provided in the lobby for breakfast, but mostly it was only coffee, albeit excellent quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is just a couple blocks from the Wilshire/Western subway stop--any ride in one direction on the LA metro is only $1.50! We went to Universal Studios, Pershing Park, and the Walt Disney Concert Hall on the metro--cheap and painless (no search for parking)!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
La traveler002
Business
Dallas, OR 97338, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Shelter hotel

no amenities but low price make it worthwhile. Recommend for single traveler who just need place to sleep. Not recommend for family travel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thamy
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 5, 2011

Good option

That's a good hotel, i will come back again. Clean e comfortable bead, very clean bathroom. They need to clean their windows, just that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
中国北京市
Sep 26, 2011

A hotel with everything to the minimum

This place is worth what you pay for. At a prime location located in Koreatown, just two blocks from Wilshire Blvd where most business are located, this hotel provides a really convenient access to the city. However, it is quite far from most locations that worth a visit (like conference centers and shopping). Despite the okay location, the amenities provided in this hotel is really little. Should be called a minimalist hotel. There is no hair dryer, no coffee machine... it's easier just to list the things they have rather than things they should have but don't. The room is super spacious, but the lack of things makes it look not so good. There's only a bed, a TV and a few tables with lamps on them. Nothing else. The bathroom doesn't even have a towel hanger. The hotel is not soundproof as mentioned by other reviewers - I was wakened at 2am by the bark of a dog in some other distant room. Also, the elevator produces very loud noise. (It actually looks like a 80's elevator, and the maintaince tag on it says it was on a 60-day temporary license which already expired three months before my stay.) Don't ask anyone in this hotel about staff and service - so far I have only seen the receptionist (and it's the same person whenever I peeked into the lobby). This hotel has almost NO staff. Don't expect any service except for cleaning - I don't think they have anyone to handle all that. After all, if you are only expecting a very simple hotel located not far from LA, this is a place to choose. If you expect anything more than bath, sleep and TV, then maybe pay some more for a better chain around the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

A lot of restaurants, fast food, bars and fashion shopping are located around the hotel on 7th and Wilshire Blvd. If you want access to malls, better restaurants and touring of Hollywood, you will have to take a bus (at least).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top