$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
457 South Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
129 reviews
Great Location

Room is spacious and clean. The location is absolutely ideal. It's just next to the Korean town and... See full review

  • TheoWang
  • Nov 23, 2014
It was Great!

It was Great! I recommend this hotel for traveler to LA. See full review

  • Ryan Kim
  • Dec 3, 2013
A tranquil, stylish sanctuary in a central location
The fun, comfortable and fashionable Shelter Hotels Los Angeles prides itself on its sense of soul and community. Shelter Hotels Los Angeles features 48 spacious and soothing rooms set in the heart of the city. Look out for the hotel's luxurious interiors, designed by Lisa Strong. Take pleasure in nestling in luxurious bedding and treading on polished dark hardwood floors. The hotel provides modern and fully equipped bathrooms that are welcomed by guests wishing to refresh themselves after a dip in the pool to cool off from the heat.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • A modern hotel located in close proximity to popular tourist attractions

  • Luxurious in-room interiors specifically designed for the hotel

  • Close to fine restaurants and nigh

Shelter Hotels Los Angeles Rooms

Spacious, cozy and warm rooms await at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles. All 48 rooms feature elegant, custom-designed furniture, dark hardwood floors, stylish bathrooms and pillow-top beds. Guests enjoy a choice of over 100 television stations, courtesy of their 32-inch LCD flat screen TV with individual high-definition receivers. iPod alarms and docking stations make use of the latest technology, while individual work desks assist business travelers preparing for meetings. Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless internet access allows guests to keep in contact while on vacation. Business guests continue to work and communicate with ease; alternatively, leisure guests can simply relax in the snug in-room seating areas. The Shelter Hotels Los Angeles is the perfect base for sightseeing trips to nearby Hollywood, the LA Convention Center, the Staples Center, Beverly Hills or Universal Studios.

Things To Do:
  • Universal Studios (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Hollywood (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Downtown Los Angeles (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Beverly Hills (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Santa Monica (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • Disneyland (28 mi/45.1 km)
Policies and fees
  • Pets allowed (contact hotel for more details)
  • Incidental charges, such as room service, not included in the nightly hotel fee

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shelter Hotel Los Angeles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles Rooms

Deluxe Guestroom
Deluxe guest room features Luxurious Pillow Top Beds, Hardwood Floors, 32" LCD Flat Screen Televisions, Complimentary Wireless and Wired High Speed Internet, Individual High-Definition Receivers with over 100 Television Channels and I-Pod Docking Stations.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 3.3 mi
  • The Grove: 3.3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.4 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 3.4 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 3.5 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 3.5 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.6 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 3.6 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3.6 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 3.7 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 4 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 4.3 mi
  • Kitson: 4.9 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 5.8 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.9 mi
  • University of California: 8.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 8.2 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 8.4 mi
  • UCLA: 8.8 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 10.5 mi
  • Getty Villa: 15.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 129
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travel Couple
Business
Palm Springs, California
Dec 3, 2014

mediocre at best

YOu get what you pay for.....decent price, not great location. Looks like an old run down building that they tried to make look modern and upscale with a cheap remodel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TheoWang
Business
Princeton,NJ
Nov 23, 2014

Great Location

Room is spacious and clean. The location is absolutely ideal. It's just next to the Korean town and great Korean restaurants are just within walking distance. 5-10 minutes walk to the nearest Metro station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
silver97teg
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 19, 2014

NEVER STAY HERE!

We decided to stay at the shelter hotel because it was a reasonably priced hotel based on the fact my wife and I were not planning on staying in the hotel for too much time. Upon arrival, we found a parking space in the garage (limited spaces - 12-15 parking spaces available). We made our way to the lobby via the elevator. I was SHOCKED to read that the last elevator inspection was done in June 2012 (elevator inspections expire after a year and should be renewed EVERY year). That elevator was not inspected for the past 2 1/2 years! (this was my first forewarning of what this hotel really stands for). I was very nervous as I have had some bad experiences in elevators. I decided to take the stairs to the lobby carrying my luggage. My lobby experience was very similar to others. We found ourselves questioning the apathetic front desk clerk on where we need to check-in. He checked us in and gave us our room key. I told him about the elevator inspection being expired and he replied "I will let the manager know tomorrow". I asked for assistance to take my luggage to my 4th floor room, and he said he was unable to leave the lobby. I carried my bags up 4 flights of stairs myself. Upon arrival onto the 4th floor, a floor smelt like old wet carpet. Upon arrival into the room, I was given my second shock. The nasty smell from the hallway continued into the room. There were BLOTCHES of stains on the carpet surrounding the bed. The wooden floors were scraped up and worn out. The bathroom was worn out. The room was so dirty that I had to request extra towels to place on the floor so I could walk on the towels instead of the carpet and flooring! (NO ONE SHOULD HAVE TO DO THAT!!!!!!) I asked the front desk to switch rooms but they said they were booked to capacity and there was nothing else available! The bed I felt had bed bugs because when I woke up I had red marks on my back and I was scratching my body. We will NEVER stay here again! Unfriendly and apathetic staff, smelly room, dirty rooms, dirty bed, and expired elevator are all reasons I would not stay here or tell others to. This was by far one of the worst experiences I have had in a hotel. I usually do not leave bad reviews, but I felt cheated out of my money at this hotel, and I do not want others to have to go through what I did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Beverly Hills

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dato18
Business
phoenix, az
Oct 11, 2014

great location

Location is great but hotel is not kept up. Floors were dirty and place felt dingy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jay Mercado
Business
Taylorsville, Utah
Oct 5, 2014

Good stuff

The hotel was great. Very clean and very comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to Universal studios

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jollygoodsir
Business
San Francisco, California
Aug 19, 2014

Great for a Night in LA

Convenient location for downtown and Hollywood. The free parking is a huge plus for this part of town. The room was very clean and quiet. The bathroom was more spacious than I've seen in comparable hotels. The front staff couldn't have been more friendly. The only downside was no refrigerator in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy access to the bars and restaurants in Hollywood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cathy In NJ
Business
New Jersey
Jul 16, 2014

La Quinta at LAX

There were a lot of nice extras with this hotel - a washer and dryer on our floor along with vending machines. The breakfast buffet was great. The rooms were clean. Be aware that the hotel does charge you to park your car in their parking lot and the spaces are close. It could have been tough if we rented more than a compact car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

It's just a very short drive to LAX and rental cars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tifirush
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Jun 9, 2014

Good value!

Very simplistic hotel, but very comfortable and clean. Really suited my needs and the bed was very comfy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Beer Belly is a great place nearby for craft beer and craft eats.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ryan Kim
Business
San Diego
Dec 3, 2013

It was Great!

It was Great! I recommend this hotel for traveler to LA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryan Kim
Business
San Diego
Dec 2, 2013

It was great hotel in LA

Shelter hotel was comfortable and very clean and it is close to Korea Town. So it is easy to move in Korea Town and the metro station is located near of the hotel. If you want to stay reliable hotel, it is good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top