$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
View map of 457 South Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
150 reviews
Love this hotel!

I always stay here when in LA. It is a great location near the subway and buses if you dont have a... See full review

  • BigCityTraveler
  • Apr 14, 2015
last minute

the chckin process is easy and managemenet is relaxed as long as tou pay on time. book in advance... See full review

  • sang lee.
  • Mar 2, 2015
The fun, comfortable and fashionable Shelter Hotels Los Angeles prides itself on its sense of soul and community. Shelter Hotels Los Angeles features 48 spacious and soothing rooms set in the heart of the city. Look out for the hotel's luxurious interiors, designed by Lisa Strong. Take pleasure in nestling in luxurious bedding and treading on polished dark hardwood floors. The hotel provides modern and fully equipped bathrooms that are welcomed by guests wishing to refresh themselves after a dip in the pool to cool off from the heat.

Rooms

Spacious, cozy and warm rooms await at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles. All 48 rooms feature elegant, custom-designed furniture, dark hardwood floors, stylish bathrooms and pillow-top beds. Guests enjoy a choice of over 100 television stations, courtesy of their 32-inch LCD flat screen TV with individual high-definition receivers. iPod alarms and docking stations make use of the latest technology, while individual work desks assist business travelers preparing for meetings. Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless internet access allows guests to keep in contact while on vacation. Business guests continue to work and communicate with ease; alternatively, leisure guests can simply relax in the snug in-room seating areas. The Shelter Hotels Los Angeles is the perfect base for sightseeing trips to nearby Hollywood, the LA Convention Center, the Staples Center, Beverly Hills or Universal Studios.

Highlights
  • A modern hotel located in close proximity to popular tourist attractions

  • Luxurious in-room interiors specifically designed for the hotel

  • Close to fine restaurants and nigh

Nearby attractions
  • Universal Studios (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Hollywood (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Downtown Los Angeles (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Beverly Hills (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Santa Monica (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • Disneyland (28 mi/45.1 km)
Policies
  • Pets allowed (contact hotel for more details)
  • Incidental charges, such as room service, not included in the nightly hotel fee

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shelter Hotel Los Angeles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles Rooms

Deluxe Guestroom
Deluxe guest room features Luxurious Pillow Top Beds, Hardwood Floors, 32" LCD Flat Screen Televisions, Complimentary Wireless and Wired High Speed Internet, Individual High-Definition Receivers with over 100 Television Channels and I-Pod Docking Stations.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 3.3 mi
  • The Grove: 3.3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.4 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 3.4 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 3.5 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 3.5 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.6 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 3.6 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3.6 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 3.7 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 4 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 4.3 mi
  • Kitson: 4.9 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 5.8 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.9 mi
  • Universal Studios: 6 mi
  • University of California: 8.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 8.2 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 8.4 mi
  • UCLA: 8.8 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 10.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 150
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jockyjohnson
Business
seoul
Aug 19, 2013

everything is bad.

bad wifi. bad room why this hotel did not place hair dry machine? I don`t want to recommend this hotel anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lonesome traveller
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 14, 2011

A failed attempt

The hotel is still going through renovations, but that wasn't the problem. The staff were friendly and helpful, too. So that wasn't the problem either. This hotel seems to have been an apartment building converted to a hotel. Their attempt to turn it into a boutique tyoe hotel fails miserably. The guest in the room above me woke me up around 9 am and I could feel and hear the footsteps above me all morning until I left the room. I don't understand how people can have such a heavy foot, know they have uncarpeted floors, and still move back and forth in such a small room all morning long. The cleaning staff were just as noisy. If they're cleaning the room next to you, you can hear the banging, the moving, chatter, etc... All in all, it wasn't a quiet hotel. It was very noisy and made my stay ther rather uncomfortable. I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alexey1964
Business
Cologne, Germany
Nov 6, 2011

middle class hotel with potential

fresh renovated, but the improvement of service is needed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Jul 26, 2011

The bed was very comfortable.

The bed was very comfortable. I was not in the room must. It was a good hotel but they need an ice machine as well as room service or a locate diner that deliver to them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to downtown LA. it is also very close to Hollywood.

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lonesome traveller
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 14, 2011

A failed attempt

The hotel is still going through renovations, but that wasn't the problem. The staff were friendly and helpful, too. So that wasn't the problem either. This hotel seems to have been an apartment building converted to a hotel. Their attempt to turn it into a boutique tyoe hotel fails miserably. The guest in the room above me woke me up around 9 am and I could feel and hear the footsteps above me all morning until I left the room. I don't understand how people can have such a heavy foot, know they have uncarpeted floors, and still move back and forth in such a small room all morning long. The cleaning staff were just as noisy. If they're cleaning the room next to you, you can hear the banging, the moving, chatter, etc... All in all, it wasn't a quiet hotel. It was very noisy and made my stay ther rather uncomfortable. I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SLM1
Business
Davis, CA, USA
Jun 4, 2012

Happily surprised

I needed a hotel for one night near West Hollywood without breaking the bank. The Shelter Hotel had a great rate with free parking. I was a little suspicious wh I entered the lobby. It obviously was a converted apartment building and the furnishings there left a bit to be desired. But the room was great. Updated with a very comfortable bed and nice bathroom. It was quiet and was perfect for my trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jana R
Business
Dallas, Texas
Oct 15, 2012

You get what you pay for....the good and the bad.

The good - It's cheap! The bed was pretty comfortable! The room was clean. The staff was helpful. Free bottles of water coming in and going each day. Free internet and free parking. The channel line up was great. If you don't have a car, it was close to the train station. If you don't want to take the train, taxis are pretty reasonable averaging us about $13 each way in Hollywood. If you are NOT going to spend tons of time in your hotel, it is a value. The bad-It was cheap. The building was very poorly ventilated. My bathroom ceiling had what appeared to be mold and a kind of musty smell throughout the property. The hallways were clean but dark and emergency stairwells were kind of suspect looking. There were no amenities which you don't miss until you don't have them. No pool. No place to lounge. No bar (which there is room for in the very sparsely decorated lobby). The only perks were bath products in the room. I could hear every footsteep made by the guest above me but after a while I got used to it. The hotel is in the middle of a neighborhood with tons of dog walkers; their furry friend's droppings attracted tons of flies while we waited outstide for taxis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pentwaterzoo
Business
cali
Feb 21, 2013

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Just a room, but a nice room. Comfortable bet, flat screen TV and gargage parking. $ is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Video Game Junkie
Business
Ventura, CA
Jun 13, 2011

Simple and modern

I was there for e3. The exterior of the hotel felt like I was going to sleep in some dirty apartment. However, once I walked inside my room, it was very clean. Noise was not a problem, and my TV was HD ready...so I could play my PS3 or watch HD shows. It was also walking distance to the nearest Metro Rail line. Compared to my past trips, this is more "simple, yet not formal." I was there mostly to sleep and play video games. Outside, restaurants and shopping centers were easily reachable (better than driving).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're there for a week, get a Metro TAP pass to ride the Metro Bus/Rail. It's better than having to pay at every stop and get another ticket.

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Singpapore
Jul 12, 2011

Basic Hotel Doesn't Break the Bank

The hotel is very basic but clean and reasonably priced with a great central location. It is hard to spot from the road as it is in a residential neighborhood and blends in looking like a condo. I don't think the place would go broke if they added an ice machine for the convenience of the guests. Small in-room refrigerators are pretty standard these days, too, but not here. It would be able to have a cold beverage in ones own room without leaving the premises. As long as you are satisfied with very basic accomodations in order to save money, then overall, it is a decent value for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top