$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
View map of 457 South Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
150 reviews
Love this hotel!

I always stay here when in LA. It is a great location near the subway and buses if you dont have a... See full review

  • BigCityTraveler
  • Apr 14, 2015
last minute

the chckin process is easy and managemenet is relaxed as long as tou pay on time. book in advance... See full review

  • sang lee.
  • Mar 2, 2015
The fun, comfortable and fashionable Shelter Hotels Los Angeles prides itself on its sense of soul and community. Shelter Hotels Los Angeles features 48 spacious and soothing rooms set in the heart of the city. Look out for the hotel's luxurious interiors, designed by Lisa Strong. Take pleasure in nestling in luxurious bedding and treading on polished dark hardwood floors. The hotel provides modern and fully equipped bathrooms that are welcomed by guests wishing to refresh themselves after a dip in the pool to cool off from the heat.

Rooms

Spacious, cozy and warm rooms await at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles. All 48 rooms feature elegant, custom-designed furniture, dark hardwood floors, stylish bathrooms and pillow-top beds. Guests enjoy a choice of over 100 television stations, courtesy of their 32-inch LCD flat screen TV with individual high-definition receivers. iPod alarms and docking stations make use of the latest technology, while individual work desks assist business travelers preparing for meetings. Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless internet access allows guests to keep in contact while on vacation. Business guests continue to work and communicate with ease; alternatively, leisure guests can simply relax in the snug in-room seating areas. The Shelter Hotels Los Angeles is the perfect base for sightseeing trips to nearby Hollywood, the LA Convention Center, the Staples Center, Beverly Hills or Universal Studios.

Highlights
  • A modern hotel located in close proximity to popular tourist attractions

  • Luxurious in-room interiors specifically designed for the hotel

  • Close to fine restaurants and nigh

Nearby attractions
  • Universal Studios (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Hollywood (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Downtown Los Angeles (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Beverly Hills (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Santa Monica (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • Disneyland (28 mi/45.1 km)
Policies
  • Pets allowed (contact hotel for more details)
  • Incidental charges, such as room service, not included in the nightly hotel fee

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shelter Hotel Los Angeles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles Rooms

Deluxe Guestroom
Deluxe guest room features Luxurious Pillow Top Beds, Hardwood Floors, 32" LCD Flat Screen Televisions, Complimentary Wireless and Wired High Speed Internet, Individual High-Definition Receivers with over 100 Television Channels and I-Pod Docking Stations.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 3.3 mi
  • The Grove: 3.3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.4 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 3.4 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 3.5 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 3.5 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.6 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 3.6 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3.6 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 3.7 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 4 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 4.3 mi
  • Kitson: 4.9 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 5.8 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.9 mi
  • Universal Studios: 6 mi
  • University of California: 8.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 8.2 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 8.4 mi
  • UCLA: 8.8 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 10.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 150
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ari H Levy
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Jan 23, 2014

Thrashed!!!

I had to change rooms 3 times. The first room had a shower valve and water temperature control system that was beyond broken. The room I was given did not have a closet or drawers for clothing. The phone had a flashing light but no instructions on how to access. I found that it contained voice mail messages dating back 1 year. The second room had poor water pressure, a toilet that was so loosely attached to the floor that it rocked the first time I sat down on it, and I thought it was going to fall over. This room had an armoire, probably from an Ikea style/quality manufacturer, with broken doors and a broken drawer. At the coffee station in the lobby, they put out stale donuts with their coffee. Seriously?? Youth hostels are run better. This is not even worthy of a vintage 1950's 1960's Hojo motor hotel, never mind a hip, boutique hotel. I would never stay here again, period.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Ross Dress For Less for LA themed souvenirs including LA Lakers/LA Dodgers/LA Angels/Kings official merchandise (hats, shirts, pants, socks, glassware, etc)

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Keira nightingale
Business
Sa bernardino
Apr 24, 2014

Not worth the cheap price

Wifi is so slow I beefed up using my mobile hotspot. If you want ice you have to go into the lobby and ask the receptionist. They bring you a bowl with some ice in it. I would never stay here again. I'd rather pay a higher rate. Oh and the receptionist is really rude with a cheeky, condescending attitude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

West Hollywood gateway

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not a Clean Freak
Business
Saginaw, MI
Dec 15, 2012

Dirty. Two star hotel at best.

This place is a dump. Filthy dirty. Don't be fooled by the photos that look like this hotel is a cool and contemporary. It was probably remodeled 5 years ago or so and has NOT been maintained well. Scratched floors, dirty walls, hair in bedding, sticky rings on the night stand, dirty grout upon bathroom tiles, filthy bathroom walls and baseboards. I was so disgusted upon checking in at 5:30 for what should have been a relaxing evening that I walked over to Starbucks and worked until they closed at 10:00. Bolted out the door minutes after waking up. Nice job with materials on renovation. Helpful staff. Just dirty. Also, no blow dryer in the room and no box do tissues in the room. Very bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
onlyfivestar
Business
eden prairie mn
Nov 26, 2014

this place is a dump

This hotel is horrible dirty small room in the middle of a crazy location motel 8 is much better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BEKAY
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 29, 2012

Average

Staff are amazing and really go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. HOWEVER, the sound in this place is the worst I've ever experienced, I hardly slept. It sounds like they have designed it so that sound effectively runs through as much of the building as possible. I was woken up every 30 minutes or so during the night just fromt he people upstairs walking around (it didn't help they were obviously drunk and had a huge fight that left me genuinely scared). Whenever the hotel goers upstairs turned on the water a loud 'thud' would make me jump. Those next door sounded like they were talking directly into an echoey vent that led to my room. I could hear them as though they were right next to me, or perhaps somewhat amplified at times! The little necessities were missing. No hand soap for the basin, only one hook to hang towels on, when I booked there was an icon for a hair drier which did not exist when I got there. The area is fine enough but there was nothing there for me. There isn't much to see there and I found it difficult as much of the signage was in Korean and in the mornings I just wanted to get a coffee and a bite but there wasn't anywhere nearby that I could find. The noise levels were just so atrocious I would say don't stay here if you are planning on sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Discouraged Traveler
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 21, 2012

Good thought, poor execusion

The hotel appeared to mid - remodel. There were several parties staying in the hotel from our group. The amentities in the rooms ranged from no closet or clothes rack to a closet bar and shelf, no hangers for towels in the bath room to a vanity and multiple hangers. There were no ice makers available for guests and the linens seemed to be in short or rationed supply. The rooms were in general clean and neat condition. The staff were very pleasant with the exception of the night clerk. Most were engaging and talkative whereas he was aloof and bothered to serve. I would consider staying again, but only outside of remodel phase and with basic hotel amenities added.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
the lonely nomad
Business
provo UT
Jun 14, 2012

only good thing is wood floor

no iron board good bed quality spacious old elivator

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

food court in walking distance

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
OsmoseSound
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 20, 2014

A Days Inn disguised as a shaby boutique hotel

The outside of the hotel looks pretty good. Entering is a little weird as you have to go thru the parking deck or small door beside the deck and take elevator to 2nd floor looby. The were 2 guys at the front desk that I only dealt with slightly. They seemed very nice. The majority of the time I dealt with a lady who is basically punching a clock...nothing more nothing less. The halls are quite narrow and kind of dark. I didn't really mind this, but if I was a female staying alone that could be different. Also on that note pretty much anyone on the street could get on the elevator in the parking deck and go to any floor they want during the day and early evening. Otherwise the door is locked around 11pm and you have to call a phone number to get in. The room itself was decent but runned down. It badly needed a paint job and most of the furnishing outside of the bed & TV have seen their day. I do want to say that the bed was quite comfortable and the curtains blacked out the room nicely ( I was working nights). The bathroom is another story altogether. The toliet was loose (not bolted down very well) and there was misc "who knows what" all over the walls. A light burned out during my stay and I didn't bother letting the hotel know as I didn't really want to be able to see the bathroom walls any better than I needed too. The pool seemed to only get cleaned on Friday and it was quite cold as it only see's a couple of hours of direct sunlight a day. It was very hot weather wise while I was there to and that didn't seem to affect the pool temp. Prior to the Friday cleaning I only stuck my legs in. In the elevator you can see that the license is for The Days Inn. This is basically an apt complex that has been purchased and made to look like a boutique hotel. Outside looks good...inside different story. I would not stay here again, but it did serve it's purpose as a very very basic place to sleep and hold my belongings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
david r.
Business
yardley
Mar 4, 2015

A dive

This hotel is nasty. The common rooms and hallways are dirty, dingy and cheap feeling. I used the computer in the lobby to print something and it looked as if someone had been sanding sheetrock in the room, there was so much dust on it. I'm not exaggerating, it was nasty. The place smelled seedy and the hallways were dark, the carpeting dirty and worn and it just felt like a place you could rent by the hour. My room was OK, but there was NOTHING on the walls. There was a crummy desk, a chair, some weird bookcase thing that looked like someone had made it in shop class and an armoire that looked like it was purchased from Ikea three years ago. The bed was ok, but the floor was dirty and i found a bunch of someone else's hair on the bathroom floor. The climate control in the room consisted of a worn-out AC window unit built into the wall. This place was so bad I checked out after one night. The desk staff at the hotel were actually really nice and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LA temp traveler
Business
san diego
Apr 29, 2014

A little odd. condo conversion

No issue but parking can be a problem as they park behind you car when the lot fills up and you have to grab the receptionist to move the car

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top