$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 24, 2015

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
View map of 457 South Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 136
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lalalala
Business
Cypress, CA
Jul 4, 2012

Random getaway in Ktown

Pros: Shelter Hotel is close to public transit (Metro rail and buses), which was important for our trip. The building was quiet, as was the neighborhood, and the room was spacious and clean. The staff were super friendly and helpful. We loved the hardwood floors in the room! Cons: Our room did not have towel racks or a hair dryer. This hotel does not have an ice machine. Wifi was pretty weak in our room, possibly because we were in a corner of the building. After a certain hour at night, the gate is closed and door is locked; you have to call a number from a phone (so you better have your cell on you!) to be let in. Parking is free, but limited so you have to leave your keys if you double park in their garage. Just a helpful note: Entering is a little confusing. The check-in desk is on the first floor, while the entrance is on the ground floor below. You have to take the stairs or elevator up, but that fact is not indicated anywhere by the entrance. The building looks like an old apartment building that has been converted and renovated into a hotel. It could still use a lot of work and more amenities, but it's clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

City Center has a Korean food court about a block away for some good, cheap eats!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cam604
Business
Vancouver, BC`
Jul 26, 2012

Needs Improvement

The rooms were very bland. The phones were outdated and not close to the bed. The tv boxes for cable are behind the tv for some bizarre reason which makes it very hard to click to change the channels. The showers dont have good preassure. It needs a lil fridge in the room which are super spacious and super empty. The lobby NEEDS updating ASAP. Very hard to get food delivered there. The staff were very helpful, the rooms were spotless, and the AC worked perfectly. For the amount of time I was in the room it was good but if it was a longer trip- non work related I wouldnt recomend it. Not the best area in the middle of a ressidential area. Too far for my liking to the Downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Best way to get food delivered there is grubhub.com

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rubendog
Business
Nevada
Jun 19, 2012

Good valve

Hotel was great for the price, close to places for food and shopping. Would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Skip of the Inland Empire
Business
San Bernardino, CA, USA
Aug 14, 2012

A place to park and take the Metro

It is a good hotel to have a place to park the car and take the Metro. This modern and boutique hotel is in a bit of an antiquated building, but it was served it's purpose. It was clean and staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Candie23
Business
phoenix, arizona
Aug 27, 2012

Good stay

The staff were nice and friendly, the room needs more decor and there was no ice machine or iron in the room. We felt like we were bugging the staff (although they were nice about it) when we had to ask for ice every few hours. It would be nice to get a machine. Also im glad parking is free because the lot is so small and the cars have to be double and triple parked. I think the room was nice just too plain. Very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carl P.
Business
New York, NY
Sep 2, 2012

updated, no fuss hotel

This hotel was clearly going through a transition at the time we visitied, but the staff was very attentive, the rooms were clean and modern, and the location was ideal for sightseeing around downtown Los Angeles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jana R
Business
Dallas, Texas
Oct 15, 2012

You get what you pay for....the good and the bad.

The good - It's cheap! The bed was pretty comfortable! The room was clean. The staff was helpful. Free bottles of water coming in and going each day. Free internet and free parking. The channel line up was great. If you don't have a car, it was close to the train station. If you don't want to take the train, taxis are pretty reasonable averaging us about $13 each way in Hollywood. If you are NOT going to spend tons of time in your hotel, it is a value. The bad-It was cheap. The building was very poorly ventilated. My bathroom ceiling had what appeared to be mold and a kind of musty smell throughout the property. The hallways were clean but dark and emergency stairwells were kind of suspect looking. There were no amenities which you don't miss until you don't have them. No pool. No place to lounge. No bar (which there is room for in the very sparsely decorated lobby). The only perks were bath products in the room. I could hear every footsteep made by the guest above me but after a while I got used to it. The hotel is in the middle of a neighborhood with tons of dog walkers; their furry friend's droppings attracted tons of flies while we waited outstide for taxis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Logical D
Business
La Jolla, CA
Dec 9, 2012

Some surprises but overall OK

No blankets on the bed but staff brought a great cotton one. Tub lever failed to block drain - took a shower instead. Garage ceiling height very low. Our Land Rover with roof rack was .5" too high in one spot - big noise but no damage. Lobby is under construction. Street vendors ply their wares in early evening with clown horns and musical ice cream truck music. But this did not run late. Easy walk to 6th Street and restaurants and Korean market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Korean BBQ all over the place. One Pricey Sushi place, too. Buy food at Korean market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
keylo
Business
midwest
Dec 6, 2012

Looking for basic, it's perfect

Value on this hotel was fantastic... The room was nothing fancy but better than most chain hotels I have stayed in. It offered a comfortable bed, Direct TV and free wireless. I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pentwaterzoo
Business
cali
Feb 21, 2013

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Just a room, but a nice room. Comfortable bet, flat screen TV and gargage parking. $ is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top