$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
457 South Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
145 reviews
It was Great!

It was Great! I recommend this hotel for traveler to LA. See full review

  • Ryan Kim
  • Dec 3, 2013
Great location with Cleanliness

I stayed Shelter Hotel several times due to its location. If you have a plan for visiting Korea... See full review

  • GanzyMJ
  • Mar 26, 2013
We are currently undergoing renovations to our lobby and pool areas which are scheduled for completion by year end. All room renovations are complete. Newly renovated Boutique Hotel, Set in the heart of Los Angeles, two blocks from Wilshire Boulevard, Shelter Los Angeles is a 48-room boutique hotel filled with spacious, comfortable, and soothing rooms. Designed by Lisa Strong, the hotel features contemporary interiors, luxurious bedding, dark hardwood floors, and stylish bathrooms. Centrally located in Los Angeles, blocks to Hollywood, LA Convention Center, Staples Center, Beverly Hills, Universal Studios, the finest restaurants and night spots, and two blocks to metro station.

Hotel Map

34.0656 -118.2996
Area served
Los Angeles
Nearby airports
LAX and Burbank
Area description
Centrally located in Los Angeles, blocks to Hollywood, LA Convention Center, Staples Center, Beverly Hills, Universal Studios, the finest restaurants and night spots, and two blocks to metro station.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shelter Hotel Los Angeles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles Rooms

Deluxe Guestroom
Deluxe guest room features Luxurious Pillow Top Beds, Hardwood Floors, 32" LCD Flat Screen Televisions, Complimentary Wireless and Wired High Speed Internet, Individual High-Definition Receivers with over 100 Television Channels and I-Pod Docking Stations.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 3.3 mi
  • The Grove: 3.3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.4 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 3.4 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 3.5 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 3.5 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.6 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 3.6 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3.6 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 3.7 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 4 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 4.3 mi
  • Kitson: 4.9 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 5.8 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.9 mi
  • University of California: 8.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 8.2 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 8.4 mi
  • UCLA: 8.8 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 10.5 mi
  • Getty Villa: 15.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (145)

Ratings and reviews for Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Video Game Junkie
Ventura, CA
Jun 13, 2011

Simple and modern

I was there for e3. The exterior of the hotel felt like I was going to sleep in some dirty apartment. However, once I walked inside my room, it was very clean. Noise was not a problem, and my TV was HD ready...so I could play my PS3 or watch HD shows. It was also walking distance to the nearest Metro Rail line. Compared to my past trips, this is more "simple, yet not formal." I was there mostly to sleep and play video games. Outside, restaurants and shopping centers were easily reachable (better than driving).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're there for a week, get a Metro TAP pass to ride the Metro Bus/Rail. It's better than having to pay at every stop and get another ticket.

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Riverside, CA
Nov 12, 2009

Don't judge a book by the cover

It was ok, we went to a restaurant out in the area and didn't want to have to drive home so all we needed was a place to stay and it was quiet but just in a bad area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Riverside, CA
Nov 12, 2009

Don't judge a book by the cover

It was ok, we went to a restaurant out in the area and didn't want to have to drive home so all we needed was a place to stay and it was quiet but just in a bad area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Video Game Junkie
Ventura, CA
Jun 13, 2011

Simple and modern

I was there for e3. The exterior of the hotel felt like I was going to sleep in some dirty apartment. However, once I walked inside my room, it was very clean. Noise was not a problem, and my TV was HD ready...so I could play my PS3 or watch HD shows. It was also walking distance to the nearest Metro Rail line. Compared to my past trips, this is more "simple, yet not formal." I was there mostly to sleep and play video games. Outside, restaurants and shopping centers were easily reachable (better than driving).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're there for a week, get a Metro TAP pass to ride the Metro Bus/Rail. It's better than having to pay at every stop and get another ticket.

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cam604
Business
Vancouver, BC`
Jul 26, 2012

Needs Improvement

The rooms were very bland. The phones were outdated and not close to the bed. The tv boxes for cable are behind the tv for some bizarre reason which makes it very hard to click to change the channels. The showers dont have good preassure. It needs a lil fridge in the room which are super spacious and super empty. The lobby NEEDS updating ASAP. Very hard to get food delivered there. The staff were very helpful, the rooms were spotless, and the AC worked perfectly. For the amount of time I was in the room it was good but if it was a longer trip- non work related I wouldnt recomend it. Not the best area in the middle of a ressidential area. Too far for my liking to the Downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Best way to get food delivered there is grubhub.com

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ttfy
Business
sacramento
May 16, 2012

okay place

typical hotel. nothing wrong with it. would not stay here more than one day. free parking but limited room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
WA
Aug 3, 2011

Concert

The experience was pretty good. The only downside is that some of the hotel rooms are still under remodeling. If it wasn't for remodeling I would of given it at least a 4 star rating. The staff was helpful and the parking here is included with the room which is great. Also the underground garage is gated and you have in and out access 24hrs.Also the rooms are very good sized compared to others with very comfortable beds. Close to about everything with a 20 min drive which is normal in LA due to traffic all of the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Hollywood Blvd which has lots of bars, clubs, restaurants and shops.

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chuckb
oakland, ca
Oct 8, 2011

odd place

it's as if the room designer had never spent a night in a hotel room. lighting sucked--small storage--only one chair in room--no place for 2 people to sit and eat--no place to put things around sink--tiny toliet--very low water pressure--no grab bar in shower/tub--wood floors transmit all noise from rooms above--very limited tv--NO ice machine in building--$100 damage deposit. limited but nice staff with no hotel experience. great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

fast food type only

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
actor
Business
new york
Oct 8, 2011

needs improvements but great place to stay

After I read some of the reviews on this hotel I wanted to cancel my stay but then decided to see for myself. Stayed for three nights on the 2nd floor and was only disappointed on the second night due to the person in the room above walking around all night and stomping like a large gorilla. I also kept hearing a loud noise like a truck engine coming from their bath. I called the front desk about this around 5.00am and the noise stopped shortly after the complaint. I feel that the upper rooms need full carpeting to avoid the noise. The other two nights were quiet and the bed was most comfortable. The location was convenient. The choice of restaurants and the mall with the supermarket that opened late was a big plus. The hotel offered coffee and cookies but I enjoyed the 1-2 block walk to the various cafes. I understand the complaints about the parking but I felt grateful to the staff that they worked to accommodate the guests at no extra charge. Despite the noise problem I felt at home at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ritarita2011
Business
Boca Raton, FL, USA
May 8, 2013

suited me just fine

Its not spectacular it not the Loews, the W, or the Ritz Carlton however if you're just going to LA for a short while and need somewhere decent and safe I would recommend this place. Its up and coming and with time it could possibly get to 3.5 stars. I'm a women who travels a lot by myself so of course security is very important to me. The Shelter has a nice kind young staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top