$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 1, 2015

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
View map of 457 South Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dato18
Business
phoenix, az
Oct 11, 2014

great location

Location is great but hotel is not kept up. Floors were dirty and place felt dingy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travel Couple
Business
Palm Springs, California
Dec 3, 2014

mediocre at best

YOu get what you pay for.....decent price, not great location. Looks like an old run down building that they tried to make look modern and upscale with a cheap remodel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
david r.
Business
yardley
Mar 4, 2015

A dive

This hotel is nasty. The common rooms and hallways are dirty, dingy and cheap feeling. I used the computer in the lobby to print something and it looked as if someone had been sanding sheetrock in the room, there was so much dust on it. I'm not exaggerating, it was nasty. The place smelled seedy and the hallways were dark, the carpeting dirty and worn and it just felt like a place you could rent by the hour. My room was OK, but there was NOTHING on the walls. There was a crummy desk, a chair, some weird bookcase thing that looked like someone had made it in shop class and an armoire that looked like it was purchased from Ikea three years ago. The bed was ok, but the floor was dirty and i found a bunch of someone else's hair on the bathroom floor. The climate control in the room consisted of a worn-out AC window unit built into the wall. This place was so bad I checked out after one night. The desk staff at the hotel were actually really nice and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lonesome traveller
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 14, 2011

A failed attempt

The hotel is still going through renovations, but that wasn't the problem. The staff were friendly and helpful, too. So that wasn't the problem either. This hotel seems to have been an apartment building converted to a hotel. Their attempt to turn it into a boutique tyoe hotel fails miserably. The guest in the room above me woke me up around 9 am and I could feel and hear the footsteps above me all morning until I left the room. I don't understand how people can have such a heavy foot, know they have uncarpeted floors, and still move back and forth in such a small room all morning long. The cleaning staff were just as noisy. If they're cleaning the room next to you, you can hear the banging, the moving, chatter, etc... All in all, it wasn't a quiet hotel. It was very noisy and made my stay ther rather uncomfortable. I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Polish prince two
Business
Calgary
Mar 3, 2014

Wonderful location

It was my second time staying at the shelter. It is nothing special but great location and free parking. The staff are very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LA temp traveler
Business
san diego
Apr 29, 2014

A little odd. condo conversion

No issue but parking can be a problem as they park behind you car when the lot fills up and you have to grab the receptionist to move the car

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jim the Traveler
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Oct 13, 2011

Nice, but somewhat spartan

This is a nice, apartment like hotel in a residential neighborhood (Koreatown) near Wilshire Blvd. It's close to Hollywood. The room was large, modern, and contemporary, but with minimal furnishings: just a desk chair, night table, desk, and a bed. No bureau or chest of drawers, no sofa, no mirror (except above sink in bathroom). No bar of soap furnished (although they did provide other toiletries). Free garage parking is a big plus, as is free internet (DSL) in the room. Breakfast consisted of coffee and one muffin. However, the common areas were unattractive (dirty, cheap, old carpet, etc), and the garage floor badly needed to be washed (hosed) down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
La traveler002
Business
Dallas, OR 97338, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Shelter hotel

no amenities but low price make it worthwhile. Recommend for single traveler who just need place to sleep. Not recommend for family travel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jimmyb
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Nov 6, 2011

it was great

it was quiet and a very a nice location i would go back again except there was no outside where you can go relax and maybe swiming .enjoying the sunset like florida

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

and every thing were beautifl , its a beautiful place to go to

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms A9
Business
Fresno, CA, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Good place to rest

We went for a weekend getaway and decided on this place because of location and price...it wasn't bad but there is a lack of storage for clothes...we had to ask for more hangers, which the staff did get us more...there was no fridge or microwave so that didn't help....n on the day we were leaving they started working on the pool at 8am which we heard every hammering sound from our room...so we didn't get to sleep in...overall if you're just looking for a place to sleep its not bad, but if u need more then a bed and bathroom, you should go some where else....hopefully when they finish remodeling they'll add amenities to the room or at least the main lobby....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free parking and wifi....

Back to menu Return to top