$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
View map of 457 South Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nicole W.
Business
Stockton, CA, USA
Mar 1, 2013

I'll be looking elsewhere next time...

I've stayed at this hotel two other times before my most recent stay. Each time, it seems to get just a little worse. I don't think I'll be back. I know it's a no-frills-type of place, but this was a bit much. When I arrived, there was a discrepancy between what I was told on the telephone I'd be charged for a deposit and what I was told in person. It resulted in being charged twice as much for the deposit. I knew I wouldn't cause any damage to the room, but I didn't appreciate being told one thing just to have it change when I got there. And the staff member wasn't even apologetic about it. The room wasn't as clean as I would expect a hotel room to be. I happened to bring my own Clorox wipes and boy, I was finding dirt everywhere it shouldn't be: door knobs, faucets, the toilet seat. The floor in the bathroom area was dirty, the bed had hair in it, the desk chair had a suspect stain on it. Gross. It was also extremely noisy. I could hear everything going on in the room above me and next door to me - and I do mean everything! It was especially noisy late at night and very early in the morning. Couldn't figure out why. I was especially concerned when I saw what looked like a smoke detector had been ripped off the wall near the elevator. And speaking of elevator: slow, rickety, and dark inside. Let's just hope the sprinklers work inside the rooms if there really is a fire... I'll try to end this review on a positive note. After much talk about the much-anticipated pool, I was told that it was finally ready. It's winter, so I wasn't going to use it, but I saw it and let me tell you, it ain't great. But at least it exists. I've stayed at this hotel in the past mainly because of it's location, but I think I'll be looking elsewhere next time. It's just not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is conveniently located between Griffith Observatory to the north and the California Science Center to the south. Also close to Hollywood and to Downtown L.A.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mrs. D. Wright
Business
San Diego, California
Feb 27, 2013

Old and Dirty

I was not happy with my stay at this hotel. I expected it to be small and unique, however, it was just small, old, and dirty. The hallways were creepy, like something was going to jump out and attack me at any moment. I also did not like that there was no iron or fridge in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bewwy
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 27, 2013

Bad Vacation

The hotel used to be a good one when it first started but service have declined. Parking is free but you are not guarantee a spot since it's pretty small. You can double park but you'll have to drop off your keys at the front desk and I was uncomfortable in doing that. The room itself is pretty clean but they never clean the floor, so make sure you wear a flip flop in the room or else your socks will turn black. They now allow pets which I found it as a bad thing because pets might bring fleas to the room. I didn't like how the room didn't have any hair dryer or microwave or fridge. I like how it is close to koreatown where I can get snacks and food but it's an hour away from Disneyland. Some staff are nice and some are not. One staff gave me an attitude when I was asking for a do not disturb sigh since there was none in my room. I was uncomfortable with leaving my keys at the front desk, one staff was nice about it and offer me a spot by the gate that wouldn't block any cars and another staff lied and told me that the car that was at that spot, he had to leave it since that person had to leave early. However, by the time I left at almost noon, the car was still there. So I guess, he just didn't want to move it for me so I was force to leave my keys at the front. They didn't ask for verification when I was asking for my keys and that bothered me.They do close the gate and lock the door at 11pm. This is my 4th time staying here and each time I am more and more disappointed. I think the next time I go to LA, I will try to find somewhere else. I paid $99/ night and I didn't feel like it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bewwy
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Oct 8, 2013

Not that clean

I saw a huge cockroach at the parking lot too and also under the carpet. There's a lot of tiny little bugs. The bed is comfy though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EmilyRN
Business
San Diego, ca
Nov 2, 2013

Simple, but friendly

The hotel itself seems like it is most likely a converted apartment building. The entrance is small and nondescript and only contains an elevator off the garage. The lobby itself is on the first floor and sparsely furnished. The staff is friendly and eager to meet guests needs. The rooms are decent size and recently updated, but the bathroom was still slightly grimy. The bed was large and comfy. The neighborhood is residential and it would have been nice to at least have local info in the room to help find restraints, stores, and bars nearby. Overall, the hotel was a decent place to stay for a night, but not the classiest place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Colorado In LA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 8, 2013

Fine in a pinch

Lackluster at best. It's an old apartment complex masquerading as a high quality hotel. I did not enjoy the hammering at 9:00A, nor did I enjoy being charged a deposit without at least being told (customary to do so, but left a bad taste in my mouth not to be told).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york ny
Jun 9, 2011

not that good

i am traveling there, the hotel is clean, good for the price they charged

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Jul 26, 2011

The bed was very comfortable.

The bed was very comfortable. I was not in the room must. It was a good hotel but they need an ice machine as well as room service or a locate diner that deliver to them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to downtown LA. it is also very close to Hollywood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
中国北京市
Sep 26, 2011

A hotel with everything to the minimum

This place is worth what you pay for. At a prime location located in Koreatown, just two blocks from Wilshire Blvd where most business are located, this hotel provides a really convenient access to the city. However, it is quite far from most locations that worth a visit (like conference centers and shopping). Despite the okay location, the amenities provided in this hotel is really little. Should be called a minimalist hotel. There is no hair dryer, no coffee machine... it's easier just to list the things they have rather than things they should have but don't. The room is super spacious, but the lack of things makes it look not so good. There's only a bed, a TV and a few tables with lamps on them. Nothing else. The bathroom doesn't even have a towel hanger. The hotel is not soundproof as mentioned by other reviewers - I was wakened at 2am by the bark of a dog in some other distant room. Also, the elevator produces very loud noise. (It actually looks like a 80's elevator, and the maintaince tag on it says it was on a 60-day temporary license which already expired three months before my stay.) Don't ask anyone in this hotel about staff and service - so far I have only seen the receptionist (and it's the same person whenever I peeked into the lobby). This hotel has almost NO staff. Don't expect any service except for cleaning - I don't think they have anyone to handle all that. After all, if you are only expecting a very simple hotel located not far from LA, this is a place to choose. If you expect anything more than bath, sleep and TV, then maybe pay some more for a better chain around the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

A lot of restaurants, fast food, bars and fashion shopping are located around the hotel on 7th and Wilshire Blvd. If you want access to malls, better restaurants and touring of Hollywood, you will have to take a bus (at least).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
OsmoseSound
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 20, 2014

A Days Inn disguised as a shaby boutique hotel

The outside of the hotel looks pretty good. Entering is a little weird as you have to go thru the parking deck or small door beside the deck and take elevator to 2nd floor looby. The were 2 guys at the front desk that I only dealt with slightly. They seemed very nice. The majority of the time I dealt with a lady who is basically punching a clock...nothing more nothing less. The halls are quite narrow and kind of dark. I didn't really mind this, but if I was a female staying alone that could be different. Also on that note pretty much anyone on the street could get on the elevator in the parking deck and go to any floor they want during the day and early evening. Otherwise the door is locked around 11pm and you have to call a phone number to get in. The room itself was decent but runned down. It badly needed a paint job and most of the furnishing outside of the bed & TV have seen their day. I do want to say that the bed was quite comfortable and the curtains blacked out the room nicely ( I was working nights). The bathroom is another story altogether. The toliet was loose (not bolted down very well) and there was misc "who knows what" all over the walls. A light burned out during my stay and I didn't bother letting the hotel know as I didn't really want to be able to see the bathroom walls any better than I needed too. The pool seemed to only get cleaned on Friday and it was quite cold as it only see's a couple of hours of direct sunlight a day. It was very hot weather wise while I was there to and that didn't seem to affect the pool temp. Prior to the Friday cleaning I only stuck my legs in. In the elevator you can see that the license is for The Days Inn. This is basically an apt complex that has been purchased and made to look like a boutique hotel. Outside looks good...inside different story. I would not stay here again, but it did serve it's purpose as a very very basic place to sleep and hold my belongings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top