$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 6, 2014 Check-out: Dec 9, 2014

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
457 South Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
126 reviews
It was Great!

It was Great! I recommend this hotel for traveler to LA. See full review

  • Ryan Kim
  • Dec 3, 2013
Great location

I've stayed at Shelter a couple times now when staying in LA. For the location and free parking,... See full review

  • Parksp
  • Oct 13, 2014
A tranquil, stylish sanctuary in a central location
The fun, comfortable and fashionable Shelter Hotels Los Angeles prides itself on its sense of soul and community. Shelter Hotels Los Angeles features 48 spacious and soothing rooms set in the heart of the city. Look out for the hotel's luxurious interiors, designed by Lisa Strong. Take pleasure in nestling in luxurious bedding and treading on polished dark hardwood floors. The hotel provides modern and fully equipped bathrooms that are welcomed by guests wishing to refresh themselves after a dip in the pool to cool off from the heat.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • A modern hotel located in close proximity to popular tourist attractions

  • Luxurious in-room interiors specifically designed for the hotel

  • Close to fine restaurants and nigh

Shelter Hotels Los Angeles Rooms

Spacious, cozy and warm rooms await at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles. All 48 rooms feature elegant, custom-designed furniture, dark hardwood floors, stylish bathrooms and pillow-top beds. Guests enjoy a choice of over 100 television stations, courtesy of their 32-inch LCD flat screen TV with individual high-definition receivers. iPod alarms and docking stations make use of the latest technology, while individual work desks assist business travelers preparing for meetings. Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless internet access allows guests to keep in contact while on vacation. Business guests continue to work and communicate with ease; alternatively, leisure guests can simply relax in the snug in-room seating areas. The Shelter Hotels Los Angeles is the perfect base for sightseeing trips to nearby Hollywood, the LA Convention Center, the Staples Center, Beverly Hills or Universal Studios.

Things To Do:
  • Universal Studios (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Hollywood (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Downtown Los Angeles (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Beverly Hills (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Santa Monica (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • Disneyland (28 mi/45.1 km)
Policies and fees
  • Pets allowed (contact hotel for more details)
  • Incidental charges, such as room service, not included in the nightly hotel fee

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.0656 -118.2996
Area served
Los Angeles
Nearby airports
LAX and Burbank
Area description
Centrally located in Los Angeles, blocks to Hollywood, LA Convention Center, Staples Center, Beverly Hills, Universal Studios, the finest restaurants and night spots, and two blocks to metro station.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shelter Hotel Los Angeles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles Rooms

Deluxe Guestroom
Deluxe guest room features Luxurious Pillow Top Beds, Hardwood Floors, 32" LCD Flat Screen Televisions, Complimentary Wireless and Wired High Speed Internet, Individual High-Definition Receivers with over 100 Television Channels and I-Pod Docking Stations.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 3.3 mi
  • The Grove: 3.3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.4 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 3.4 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 3.5 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 3.5 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.6 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 3.6 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3.6 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 3.7 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 4 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 4.3 mi
  • Kitson: 4.9 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 5.8 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.9 mi
  • University of California: 8.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 8.2 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 8.4 mi
  • UCLA: 8.8 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 10.5 mi
  • Getty Villa: 15.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BigCityTraveler
Louisville, KY, USA
Mar 21, 2012

Great place to stay in LA!

I like this hotel because I can walk to the metro train station, 2 blocks. It is clean, quiet and affordable. I wanted to be in the city since I didn't have a car. They are helpful in getting directions to places in LA. It's not a typical hotel in that theres no coke/snack machines. They do have internet access and nice rooms. I walked around and never felt scared in the neighborhood, the heart of Koreatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro train station will get you anywhere in just a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ari H Levy
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Jan 23, 2014

Thrashed!!!

I had to change rooms 3 times. The first room had a shower valve and water temperature control system that was beyond broken. The room I was given did not have a closet or drawers for clothing. The phone had a flashing light but no instructions on how to access. I found that it contained voice mail messages dating back 1 year. The second room had poor water pressure, a toilet that was so loosely attached to the floor that it rocked the first time I sat down on it, and I thought it was going to fall over. This room had an armoire, probably from an Ikea style/quality manufacturer, with broken doors and a broken drawer. At the coffee station in the lobby, they put out stale donuts with their coffee. Seriously?? Youth hostels are run better. This is not even worthy of a vintage 1950's 1960's Hojo motor hotel, never mind a hip, boutique hotel. I would never stay here again, period.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Ross Dress For Less for LA themed souvenirs including LA Lakers/LA Dodgers/LA Angels/Kings official merchandise (hats, shirts, pants, socks, glassware, etc)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bigperf
Business
Santa Barbara, ca
Mar 20, 2014

Ehhh

Arrived to property and after checking in, no wifi! Front desk agent says router broken on 4th floor so I ask for a room on another floor, they provide it after a while. Decided to go check out the pool while waiting, filthy, it doesn't get cleaned and it isn't heated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The metro purple line is a couple of blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Keira nightingale
Business
Sa bernardino
Apr 24, 2014

Not worth the cheap price

Wifi is so slow I beefed up using my mobile hotspot. If you want ice you have to go into the lobby and ask the receptionist. They bring you a bowl with some ice in it. I would never stay here again. I'd rather pay a higher rate. Oh and the receptionist is really rude with a cheeky, condescending attitude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

West Hollywood gateway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
seenitall
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 9, 2011

Needs improvement

I have never felt the overwhelming need to review a hotel stay prior to this one, but felt obligated to share our experience. THE GOOD: Staff was friendly and the location is close to the attractions so it’s convenient. Free garage parking and free internet were useful. THE BAD: According to their description the rooms have already completed renovations while the pool and lobby were still in the process so I felt comfortable booking it. When we arrived I got the impression it was a converted apartment building. The room was very basic in that it had a bed, night stands, standard desk, large tv, and a curtain- no problem. We weren't planning on staying in the room much other than for sleeping and showering so that was fine with us. However, this already renovated room was totally lacking, I’m sorry to say. Where maybe a closet once was, there was now no rod, no hangers, no hooks, no closet door. Basically it’s just a nook now. And from the looks of it, no plans on putting anything there. Bathroom- no towel rods, hooks, or shelves to put anything. It did look remodeled, but no place to put anything. Oh, and the floor-I had walked barefoot on the dark hardwood floor in the main room for about 10 minutes before showering. Big mistake. The washcloth was dark brown after I washed the bottoms on my feet! Ewwh! They obviously don't wash the floors. We wondered what else isn't getting cleaned? The bed was comfortable but 2 of the 3 nights we found long black hair within the sheets. When we turned off the light I asked my wife, "why isn't it dark in here?" That is because there was a good 1/4" gap between the door and the jamb on not just the floor side but also the lock side. You could pass a Ritz cracker through the side of the door without making any crumbs. NO EXAGERATION! They just inserted a shim so the door would latch. I could actually see people getting on and off the elevator from our bed and hear their conversations. How lovely. Totally unacceptable. And the walls truly are paper thin as other reviewers mention. Example- my wife said I was receiving an SMS while I was in the bathroom as we both heard the vibrations coming from the phone. Problem was both our phones were turned off at the time. Yep, it was from the neighbor’s room. Again, NO EXAGERATION. Thank God we had ear plugs which we always travel with just in case. We understand every hotel is going to have some level of noise, but this really was ridiculous. Other rooms’ tv noise were unusually noticeable. They still don’t have an ice machine but if you ask them, they have a store bought bag stashed somewhere and they will give you some unless they are out. They did offer to send someone to a store if we wanted to wait for it. Not critical but something to be aware of. My wife is a long time flight attendant and has stayed in thousands of hotels with plenty of stories and said this place ranks right up there with the “Never Again” places. Our recommendation is to stay somewhere else for the basic needs of cleanliness, acceptable level of noise and, at the very least, privacy from the corridor patrons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not a Clean Freak
Business
Saginaw, MI
Dec 15, 2012

Dirty. Two star hotel at best.

This place is a dump. Filthy dirty. Don't be fooled by the photos that look like this hotel is a cool and contemporary. It was probably remodeled 5 years ago or so and has NOT been maintained well. Scratched floors, dirty walls, hair in bedding, sticky rings on the night stand, dirty grout upon bathroom tiles, filthy bathroom walls and baseboards. I was so disgusted upon checking in at 5:30 for what should have been a relaxing evening that I walked over to Starbucks and worked until they closed at 10:00. Bolted out the door minutes after waking up. Nice job with materials on renovation. Helpful staff. Just dirty. Also, no blow dryer in the room and no box do tissues in the room. Very bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cameron April
Business
San Diego
Apr 1, 2013

Not what I bought

Having bought my hotel stay, I arrived and was subsequently told that I had to pay extra for this and that - everything that anyone would normally expect to be included. I did not expect much from this cheap hotel, but it was worse than i expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Two NorCal visitors
Business
San Jose, ca
Jun 3, 2013

Weekend stay

It was horrible. The room key didnt work so they gave us the next room. There was no closet, clock, or hair dryer. It was plain and the maid didn't clean well either. Not worth the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jockyjohnson
Business
seoul
Aug 19, 2013

everything is bad.

bad wifi. bad room why this hotel did not place hair dry machine? I don`t want to recommend this hotel anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
May 3, 2010

The Shelter Hotel is a JOKE!

All I can say is, "WOW"! Don't stay here with your dogs unless you want the LAPD knocking at your door!I booked a room through [...] for a one night stay at the Shelter Hotel in Los Angeles. From the website, it looked like an okay spot for one night, and they take pets, so their website says...Well, after a grueling 3 1/2 hour drive in Friday traffic in L.A., we were ready to get into our room, and decompress for 10 minutes before we had to get ready to head out for our event. But...not so fast! We were, rudely, informed upon check-in that they had no record of our reservation. I thought that was interesting, since I was holding the confirmation letter from [...] in my hand. Well, a quick check-in it was not, but no problem; we worked it out, and the hotel did offer to give us a better rate for our trouble. We proceeded to unload the car, hustle our gear, ourselves, and our dogs up to the room. Well, after a long drive, no doubt everyone needed to relieve themselves, dogs included! We took the dogs out front to pee, and after returning to the room, got a phone call from [...], at the front desk. He proceeds to inform us that we can't have our dogs there because they are over 20 lbs. If we want to stay, we are going to have to pay another $60! Well, I was shocked, as nowhere in any of the literature about the hotel either on Orbitz, or the Shelter's own website was this indicated. All that it says is that they take pets. I told this to [...], and he went round and round with me. I asked him to simply show me somewhere that a weight limitation was indicated, and he couldn't do it. He then told us if we didn't pay $50, we had to leave. Well, the first time he said $60. Now which was it, $50 or $60? It was really starting to feel like an arbitrary request, as his amount requested, changed. I refused, until he could present me with facts, which I tell him is a reasonable request. Well, then Rick threatens to call the cops, and hangs-up. Now, mind you, we had nowhere else to go at this juncture, it's now after 8:00 p.m., we have an event to attend, and really, how the hell am I going to find another hotel that "takes pets"? I got the phone number of the GM of the hotel, [...], and left him a detailed message hoping to get some kind of assistance with the situation, but to this day have heard nothing from him! We continued getting ready, and 30-40 minutes later, get a knock at the door. It's the LAPD!!!! I am asked out into the hallway, where the police proceed to tell me that they have been requested to remove us from the property! I am really apalled at this point, and state my case. They were very nice, and completely understood my plight. They agreed to mediate the situation, as we had nowhere else to go! So, I am escorted down to the lobby by the LAPD to work something out! Now mind you, kind reader, I am extremely embarrassed by this! There are other people in the lobby, and even though I knew that I was in the right, I felt like a real chump! At the desk, [...] was nothing shy of a joke! I asked him, again, to show me something, anything that states that they only take pets that are 20 lbs or less. Again, he can't. I then ask him if they have a scale to weigh pets in on upon arrival, or if he is capable of making a weight judgment by just "eyeballing" it. What do you think his reply was? "Duh..."! I asked him, again, for the phone number of the GM, and also his first and last name. Rick says, "I don't know how to say his last name". I am thinking, "Wow, what kind of Mickey Mouse operation are they running here?". Well, I just want to be over this fiasco, and get on with my night, so the police ask me if I will agree to pay the $50 now, and work on getting reimbursed at a later date. They tell [...], that if I do this, he must let us stay. I, reluctantly, agree (how easy will it be to get my money back at a later date)? So, apparently, we have reached an agreement, albeit I wil...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cookie9484
Business
Los Angeles Ca
Aug 2, 2014

Relocating

The hotel is just as described. The shelter. The hotel was dirty. The room smelled like bleach and was a little box. I had my small kids with me and we didn't even bathe because of condition and nasty room. Seemed as if I was in a shelter for the homeless. Don't recommend hotel to anyone with family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top