$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
457 South Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
130 reviews
Great Location

Room is spacious and clean. The location is absolutely ideal. It's just next to the Korean town and... See full review

  • TheoWang
  • Nov 23, 2014
It was Great!

It was Great! I recommend this hotel for traveler to LA. See full review

  • Ryan Kim
  • Dec 3, 2013
A tranquil, stylish sanctuary in a central location
The fun, comfortable and fashionable Shelter Hotels Los Angeles prides itself on its sense of soul and community. Shelter Hotels Los Angeles features 48 spacious and soothing rooms set in the heart of the city. Look out for the hotel's luxurious interiors, designed by Lisa Strong. Take pleasure in nestling in luxurious bedding and treading on polished dark hardwood floors. The hotel provides modern and fully equipped bathrooms that are welcomed by guests wishing to refresh themselves after a dip in the pool to cool off from the heat.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • A modern hotel located in close proximity to popular tourist attractions

  • Luxurious in-room interiors specifically designed for the hotel

  • Close to fine restaurants and nigh

Shelter Hotels Los Angeles Rooms

Spacious, cozy and warm rooms await at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles. All 48 rooms feature elegant, custom-designed furniture, dark hardwood floors, stylish bathrooms and pillow-top beds. Guests enjoy a choice of over 100 television stations, courtesy of their 32-inch LCD flat screen TV with individual high-definition receivers. iPod alarms and docking stations make use of the latest technology, while individual work desks assist business travelers preparing for meetings. Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless internet access allows guests to keep in contact while on vacation. Business guests continue to work and communicate with ease; alternatively, leisure guests can simply relax in the snug in-room seating areas. The Shelter Hotels Los Angeles is the perfect base for sightseeing trips to nearby Hollywood, the LA Convention Center, the Staples Center, Beverly Hills or Universal Studios.

Things To Do:
  • Universal Studios (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Hollywood (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Downtown Los Angeles (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Beverly Hills (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Santa Monica (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • Disneyland (28 mi/45.1 km)
Policies and fees
  • Pets allowed (contact hotel for more details)
  • Incidental charges, such as room service, not included in the nightly hotel fee

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shelter Hotel Los Angeles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles Rooms

Deluxe Guestroom
Deluxe guest room features Luxurious Pillow Top Beds, Hardwood Floors, 32" LCD Flat Screen Televisions, Complimentary Wireless and Wired High Speed Internet, Individual High-Definition Receivers with over 100 Television Channels and I-Pod Docking Stations.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 3.3 mi
  • The Grove: 3.3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.4 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 3.4 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 3.5 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 3.5 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.6 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 3.6 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3.6 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 3.7 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 4 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 4.3 mi
  • Kitson: 4.9 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 5.8 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.9 mi
  • University of California: 8.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 8.2 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 8.4 mi
  • UCLA: 8.8 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 10.5 mi
  • Getty Villa: 15.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 130
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JL1693
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 17, 2014

Good for my needs

I wanted something close to K-Town, so for me, the location was spot on. It was within walking distance to everything I needed access to. The room was comfortable, clean, and had everything I needed during my stay. I'm easy to please. A microwave would've been nice, given that I stayed for 5 days, but it wasn't a huge deal. They arranged for a mini-fridge to be put in the room upon my request, so that was nice. Bathroom was really nice too. Overall, it's pretty comfortable hotel that gets the job done. Awesome for anyone looking for easy access to K-Town and Wilshire Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining - There are restaurants everywhere. Korean and non-Korean. Fresh Produce - There's a Korean grocery store and small shopping mall down the block. Coffee - Coffee bean and Starbucks also down the block at Wilshire and Mariposa

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bogar
Business
Uzhgorod, Ukraine
Jul 7, 2014

Ordinary hotel with good location

+ good location near the metro and not far from downtown + clean, broad and cozy - a little bit noisy, very loud air conditioner - closed at night, need to call reception to open

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abbygrl
Business
San Francisco, California
May 19, 2014

Tucked in and homey feel

At first I was confused to drive into a residential area but the location was great. The area is really quiet and is a nice place to come and unwind away from the city bustle. But still really close to everything you need. 5 minutes to Koreatown and 15 minutes to downtown. The bed is soooo comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jockyjohnson
Business
seoul
Aug 19, 2013

everything is bad.

bad wifi. bad room why this hotel did not place hair dry machine? I don`t want to recommend this hotel anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pentwaterzoo
Business
cali
Feb 21, 2013

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Just a room, but a nice room. Comfortable bet, flat screen TV and gargage parking. $ is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NAPF
Business
Petaluma, California
Dec 18, 2012

Good value

The room was spotlessly clean, with nice sheets and pillows. Very spartan decor-- only the bed, nightstands, a desk/chair and tv. Not even any pictures on the walls. No closet either, just a small wardrobe. It made me a bit nervous that the outside doors were unlocked, so anyone could come in from the street. But the neighborhood was quiet and seemed safe enough (in a residential area of Koreatown) that I felt comfortable taking a long walk in the morning. The location was convenient for me. Close enough to Hollywood attractions, but off the beaten path. If you're just looking for a quiet nice clean place to sleep, this is perfect. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jana R
Business
Dallas, Texas
Oct 15, 2012

You get what you pay for....the good and the bad.

The good - It's cheap! The bed was pretty comfortable! The room was clean. The staff was helpful. Free bottles of water coming in and going each day. Free internet and free parking. The channel line up was great. If you don't have a car, it was close to the train station. If you don't want to take the train, taxis are pretty reasonable averaging us about $13 each way in Hollywood. If you are NOT going to spend tons of time in your hotel, it is a value. The bad-It was cheap. The building was very poorly ventilated. My bathroom ceiling had what appeared to be mold and a kind of musty smell throughout the property. The hallways were clean but dark and emergency stairwells were kind of suspect looking. There were no amenities which you don't miss until you don't have them. No pool. No place to lounge. No bar (which there is room for in the very sparsely decorated lobby). The only perks were bath products in the room. I could hear every footsteep made by the guest above me but after a while I got used to it. The hotel is in the middle of a neighborhood with tons of dog walkers; their furry friend's droppings attracted tons of flies while we waited outstide for taxis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SLM1
Business
Davis, CA, USA
Jun 4, 2012

Happily surprised

I needed a hotel for one night near West Hollywood without breaking the bank. The Shelter Hotel had a great rate with free parking. I was a little suspicious wh I entered the lobby. It obviously was a converted apartment building and the furnishings there left a bit to be desired. But the room was great. Updated with a very comfortable bed and nice bathroom. It was quiet and was perfect for my trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BigCityTraveler
Business
Louisville, KY, USA
Mar 21, 2012

Great place to stay in LA!

I like this hotel because I can walk to the metro train station, 2 blocks. It is clean, quiet and affordable. I wanted to be in the city since I didn't have a car. They are helpful in getting directions to places in LA. It's not a typical hotel in that theres no coke/snack machines. They do have internet access and nice rooms. I walked around and never felt scared in the neighborhood, the heart of Koreatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro train station will get you anywhere in just a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alexey1964
Business
Cologne, Germany
Nov 6, 2011

middle class hotel with potential

fresh renovated, but the improvement of service is needed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top