$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
View map of 457 South Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
148 reviews
Love this hotel!

I always stay here when in LA. It is a great location near the subway and buses if you dont have a... See full review

  • BigCityTraveler
  • Apr 14, 2015
last minute

the chckin process is easy and managemenet is relaxed as long as tou pay on time. book in advance... See full review

  • sang lee.
  • Mar 2, 2015
A tranquil, stylish sanctuary in a central location
The fun, comfortable and fashionable Shelter Hotels Los Angeles prides itself on its sense of soul and community. Shelter Hotels Los Angeles features 48 spacious and soothing rooms set in the heart of the city. Look out for the hotel's luxurious interiors, designed by Lisa Strong. Take pleasure in nestling in luxurious bedding and treading on polished dark hardwood floors. The hotel provides modern and fully equipped bathrooms that are welcomed by guests wishing to refresh themselves after a dip in the pool to cool off from the heat.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • A modern hotel located in close proximity to popular tourist attractions

  • Luxurious in-room interiors specifically designed for the hotel

  • Close to fine restaurants and nigh

Shelter Hotels Los Angeles Rooms

Spacious, cozy and warm rooms await at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles. All 48 rooms feature elegant, custom-designed furniture, dark hardwood floors, stylish bathrooms and pillow-top beds. Guests enjoy a choice of over 100 television stations, courtesy of their 32-inch LCD flat screen TV with individual high-definition receivers. iPod alarms and docking stations make use of the latest technology, while individual work desks assist business travelers preparing for meetings. Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless internet access allows guests to keep in contact while on vacation. Business guests continue to work and communicate with ease; alternatively, leisure guests can simply relax in the snug in-room seating areas. The Shelter Hotels Los Angeles is the perfect base for sightseeing trips to nearby Hollywood, the LA Convention Center, the Staples Center, Beverly Hills or Universal Studios.

Things To Do:
  • Universal Studios (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Hollywood (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Downtown Los Angeles (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Beverly Hills (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Santa Monica (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • Disneyland (28 mi/45.1 km)
Policies and fees
  • Pets allowed (contact hotel for more details)
  • Incidental charges, such as room service, not included in the nightly hotel fee

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shelter Hotel Los Angeles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles Rooms

Deluxe Guestroom
Deluxe guest room features Luxurious Pillow Top Beds, Hardwood Floors, 32" LCD Flat Screen Televisions, Complimentary Wireless and Wired High Speed Internet, Individual High-Definition Receivers with over 100 Television Channels and I-Pod Docking Stations.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 3.3 mi
  • The Grove: 3.3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.4 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 3.4 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 3.5 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 3.5 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.6 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 3.6 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3.6 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 3.7 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 4 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 4.3 mi
  • Kitson: 4.9 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 5.8 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.9 mi
  • Universal Studios: 6 mi
  • University of California: 8.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 8.2 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 8.4 mi
  • UCLA: 8.8 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 10.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 148
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baseball Guru
Business
Kew Gardens
Mar 10, 2015

great value

Surprisingly good value and clean. Very centrally located. Hotel staff was very helpful. I'd stay here again next time in LA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parksp
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Oct 13, 2014

Great location

I've stayed at Shelter a couple times now when staying in LA. For the location and free parking, you can't get a better deal. Amenities are very basic so don't expect high end toiletries and other services in luxury hotels. The neighborhood can seem sketchy, but I've never had any issues while staying here. The beds are large and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Khrysta
Business
Riverside, CA
Aug 4, 2014

Birthday getaway in LA

This hotel was a good deal for it's value! I was pleasantly surprised when I checked into the Shelter Hotel, which says a lot because I'm pretty picky when it comes to my comfort level in hotel rooms. It was located in a great place, which made it easy to get in and out of downtown LA, the hotel was cute and contemporary in style, the room was clean and spacious, and the room I stayed in even had an awesome view of the beautiful LA palm trees and the city! Not to mention it was pretty affordable! The only thumbs down I would have to admit would regard the Middle Aged African American man that was watching the front desk overnight. He wasn't very friendly, in fact he was pretty rude when I asked him about the closing of the pool area during the evening hours, after I was clearly told the area was available for use, so long as hotel guests and their company remained quiet during late hours. He needs to find another job if he hates the one he's in... Just sayin! Anyhow, the hotel overall was great! I plan on staying here again if I ever need a room in LA again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MonicaR
Business
San Rafael, CA
Jun 3, 2014

Clean and quiet

I needed accommodation in that particular area and was lucky to find this place. I requested a top floor to avoid noisy upper neighbors. They were thoughtful enough to give me a top floor north west room so I had a quiet time and was able to rest. Rooms are simple but modern and bed is comfortable. There is parking in the lower level but didn't use it so don't know what the charge is for those. I also discovered a great raw seafood bar one block away !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bigperf
Business
Santa Barbara, ca
Mar 20, 2014

Ehhh

Arrived to property and after checking in, no wifi! Front desk agent says router broken on 4th floor so I ask for a room on another floor, they provide it after a while. Decided to go check out the pool while waiting, filthy, it doesn't get cleaned and it isn't heated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The metro purple line is a couple of blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Polish prince two
Business
Calgary
Mar 3, 2014

Wonderful location

It was my second time staying at the shelter. It is nothing special but great location and free parking. The staff are very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Colorado In LA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 8, 2013

Fine in a pinch

Lackluster at best. It's an old apartment complex masquerading as a high quality hotel. I did not enjoy the hammering at 9:00A, nor did I enjoy being charged a deposit without at least being told (customary to do so, but left a bad taste in my mouth not to be told).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sweet Jane
Business
Chicago, IL
May 8, 2013

LA near Wilshire Blvd

The hotel, free indoor parking and location were all good. The sparsely furnished room reminded me of a European hotel room. It appeared to be newly remodeled and was very clean. The reception desk and lobby were not what you would expect in a hotel and did not appear to be a place where you would want to spend much time. With all that said, I would certainly stay there again for my visits with family and business trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cameron April
Business
San Diego
Apr 1, 2013

Not what I bought

Having bought my hotel stay, I arrived and was subsequently told that I had to pay extra for this and that - everything that anyone would normally expect to be included. I did not expect much from this cheap hotel, but it was worse than i expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lexipullin
Business
Los Angeles, California
Oct 29, 2012

Great clean stay

We loved this boutique hotel. The rooms were nice and clean. Walls were paper thin. The area isn't bad but you're right in Korea Town. Easy access to metro and public transportation. Free parking! Great cheap place to stay highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top