$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
457 South Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
120 reviews
It was Great!

It was Great! I recommend this hotel for traveler to LA. See full review

  • Ryan Kim
  • Dec 3, 2013
Great location with Cleanliness

I stayed Shelter Hotel several times due to its location. If you have a plan for visiting Korea... See full review

  • GanzyMJ
  • Mar 26, 2013
A tranquil, stylish sanctuary in a central location
The fun, comfortable and fashionable Shelter Hotels Los Angeles prides itself on its sense of soul and community. Shelter Hotels Los Angeles features 48 spacious and soothing rooms set in the heart of the city. Look out for the hotel's luxurious interiors, designed by Lisa Strong. Take pleasure in nestling in luxurious bedding and treading on polished dark hardwood floors. The hotel provides modern and fully equipped bathrooms that are welcomed by guests wishing to refresh themselves after a dip in the pool to cool off from the heat.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • A modern hotel located in close proximity to popular tourist attractions

  • Luxurious in-room interiors specifically designed for the hotel

  • Close to fine restaurants and nigh

Shelter Hotels Los Angeles Rooms

Spacious, cozy and warm rooms await at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles. All 48 rooms feature elegant, custom-designed furniture, dark hardwood floors, stylish bathrooms and pillow-top beds. Guests enjoy a choice of over 100 television stations, courtesy of their 32-inch LCD flat screen TV with individual high-definition receivers. iPod alarms and docking stations make use of the latest technology, while individual work desks assist business travelers preparing for meetings. Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless internet access allows guests to keep in contact while on vacation. Business guests continue to work and communicate with ease; alternatively, leisure guests can simply relax in the snug in-room seating areas. The Shelter Hotels Los Angeles is the perfect base for sightseeing trips to nearby Hollywood, the LA Convention Center, the Staples Center, Beverly Hills or Universal Studios.

Things To Do:
  • Universal Studios (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Hollywood (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Downtown Los Angeles (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Beverly Hills (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Santa Monica (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • Disneyland (28 mi/45.1 km)
Policies and fees
  • Pets allowed (contact hotel for more details)
  • Incidental charges, such as room service, not included in the nightly hotel fee

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.0656 -118.2996
Area served
Los Angeles
Nearby airports
LAX and Burbank
Area description
Centrally located in Los Angeles, blocks to Hollywood, LA Convention Center, Staples Center, Beverly Hills, Universal Studios, the finest restaurants and night spots, and two blocks to metro station.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shelter Hotel Los Angeles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles Rooms

Deluxe Guestroom
Deluxe guest room features Luxurious Pillow Top Beds, Hardwood Floors, 32" LCD Flat Screen Televisions, Complimentary Wireless and Wired High Speed Internet, Individual High-Definition Receivers with over 100 Television Channels and I-Pod Docking Stations.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 3.3 mi
  • The Grove: 3.3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.4 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 3.4 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 3.5 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 3.5 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.6 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 3.6 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3.6 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 3.7 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 4 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 4.3 mi
  • Kitson: 4.9 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 5.8 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.9 mi
  • University of California: 8.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 8.2 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 8.4 mi
  • UCLA: 8.8 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 10.5 mi
  • Getty Villa: 15.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 120
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Camper 12
Business
Fullerton
Sep 3, 2014

Safe and Clean

Just spent one night for work but it was clean, safe and nothing to complain about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Working Exec
Business
Orange County
Aug 21, 2014

Convenient Location Nice Friendly Staff

This is a good hotel value for the price in Los Angeles

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
OsmoseSound
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 20, 2014

A Days Inn disguised as a shaby boutique hotel

The outside of the hotel looks pretty good. Entering is a little weird as you have to go thru the parking deck or small door beside the deck and take elevator to 2nd floor looby. The were 2 guys at the front desk that I only dealt with slightly. They seemed very nice. The majority of the time I dealt with a lady who is basically punching a clock...nothing more nothing less. The halls are quite narrow and kind of dark. I didn't really mind this, but if I was a female staying alone that could be different. Also on that note pretty much anyone on the street could get on the elevator in the parking deck and go to any floor they want during the day and early evening. Otherwise the door is locked around 11pm and you have to call a phone number to get in. The room itself was decent but runned down. It badly needed a paint job and most of the furnishing outside of the bed & TV have seen their day. I do want to say that the bed was quite comfortable and the curtains blacked out the room nicely ( I was working nights). The bathroom is another story altogether. The toliet was loose (not bolted down very well) and there was misc "who knows what" all over the walls. A light burned out during my stay and I didn't bother letting the hotel know as I didn't really want to be able to see the bathroom walls any better than I needed too. The pool seemed to only get cleaned on Friday and it was quite cold as it only see's a couple of hours of direct sunlight a day. It was very hot weather wise while I was there to and that didn't seem to affect the pool temp. Prior to the Friday cleaning I only stuck my legs in. In the elevator you can see that the license is for The Days Inn. This is basically an apt complex that has been purchased and made to look like a boutique hotel. Outside looks good...inside different story. I would not stay here again, but it did serve it's purpose as a very very basic place to sleep and hold my belongings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Coastus
Business
Auburn, California
Aug 2, 2014

Helter Shelter

Decent and clean accommodations, no frills. Secure parking provided, which is very nice. Seems like a residential neighborhood, quiet. I stayed here for a night's stay during a conference in Hollywood, and it met my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're tourist inc in Hollywood, the public parking at Highland Center is a great deal ($13 all day) and close to everything!

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RMBrown3000
Business
San Diego
Jun 27, 2014

GREAT TRENDY HOTEL IN THE HEART OF LA!

The rooms are spacious and modern, and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. nessa
Business
Sacramento
Jun 10, 2014

What an amazing stay

What an amazing stay from the staff to the downstairs pin pong table to the people and definitely location location location. Would recommend this hotel anytime and can not wait to stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LA temp traveler
Business
san diego
Apr 29, 2014

A little odd. condo conversion

No issue but parking can be a problem as they park behind you car when the lot fills up and you have to grab the receptionist to move the car

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Keira nightingale
Business
Sa bernardino
Apr 24, 2014

Not worth the cheap price

Wifi is so slow I beefed up using my mobile hotspot. If you want ice you have to go into the lobby and ask the receptionist. They bring you a bowl with some ice in it. I would never stay here again. I'd rather pay a higher rate. Oh and the receptionist is really rude with a cheeky, condescending attitude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

West Hollywood gateway

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ari H Levy
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Jan 23, 2014

Thrashed!!!

I had to change rooms 3 times. The first room had a shower valve and water temperature control system that was beyond broken. The room I was given did not have a closet or drawers for clothing. The phone had a flashing light but no instructions on how to access. I found that it contained voice mail messages dating back 1 year. The second room had poor water pressure, a toilet that was so loosely attached to the floor that it rocked the first time I sat down on it, and I thought it was going to fall over. This room had an armoire, probably from an Ikea style/quality manufacturer, with broken doors and a broken drawer. At the coffee station in the lobby, they put out stale donuts with their coffee. Seriously?? Youth hostels are run better. This is not even worthy of a vintage 1950's 1960's Hojo motor hotel, never mind a hip, boutique hotel. I would never stay here again, period.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Ross Dress For Less for LA themed souvenirs including LA Lakers/LA Dodgers/LA Angels/Kings official merchandise (hats, shirts, pants, socks, glassware, etc)

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fenceguy
Business
Sonoma County, California
Jun 24, 2013

Funtuional

No clock radio in room. No ice machine. Not enough parking room in garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search