$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
457 South Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
146 reviews
It was Great!

It was Great! I recommend this hotel for traveler to LA. See full review

  • Ryan Kim
  • Dec 3, 2013
Great location with Cleanliness

I stayed Shelter Hotel several times due to its location. If you have a plan for visiting Korea... See full review

  • GanzyMJ
  • Mar 26, 2013
A tranquil, stylish sanctuary in a central location
The fun, comfortable and fashionable Shelter Hotels Los Angeles prides itself on its sense of soul and community. Shelter Hotels Los Angeles features 48 spacious and soothing rooms set in the heart of the city. Look out for the hotel's luxurious interiors, designed by Lisa Strong. Take pleasure in nestling in luxurious bedding and treading on polished dark hardwood floors. The hotel provides modern and fully equipped bathrooms that are welcomed by guests wishing to refresh themselves after a dip in the pool to cool off from the heat.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • A modern hotel located in close proximity to popular tourist attractions

  • Luxurious in-room interiors specifically designed for the hotel

  • Close to fine restaurants and nigh

Shelter Hotels Los Angeles Rooms

Spacious, cozy and warm rooms await at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles. All 48 rooms feature elegant, custom-designed furniture, dark hardwood floors, stylish bathrooms and pillow-top beds. Guests enjoy a choice of over 100 television stations, courtesy of their 32-inch LCD flat screen TV with individual high-definition receivers. iPod alarms and docking stations make use of the latest technology, while individual work desks assist business travelers preparing for meetings. Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless internet access allows guests to keep in contact while on vacation. Business guests continue to work and communicate with ease; alternatively, leisure guests can simply relax in the snug in-room seating areas. The Shelter Hotels Los Angeles is the perfect base for sightseeing trips to nearby Hollywood, the LA Convention Center, the Staples Center, Beverly Hills or Universal Studios.

Things To Do:
  • Universal Studios (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Hollywood (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Downtown Los Angeles (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Beverly Hills (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Santa Monica (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • Disneyland (28 mi/45.1 km)
Policies and fees
  • Pets allowed (contact hotel for more details)
  • Incidental charges, such as room service, not included in the nightly hotel fee

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.0656 -118.2996
Area served
Los Angeles
Nearby airports
LAX and Burbank
Area description
Centrally located in Los Angeles, blocks to Hollywood, LA Convention Center, Staples Center, Beverly Hills, Universal Studios, the finest restaurants and night spots, and two blocks to metro station.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shelter Hotel Los Angeles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles Rooms

Deluxe Guestroom
Deluxe guest room features Luxurious Pillow Top Beds, Hardwood Floors, 32" LCD Flat Screen Televisions, Complimentary Wireless and Wired High Speed Internet, Individual High-Definition Receivers with over 100 Television Channels and I-Pod Docking Stations.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 3.3 mi
  • The Grove: 3.3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.4 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 3.4 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 3.5 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 3.5 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.6 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 3.6 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3.6 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 3.7 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 4 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 4.3 mi
  • Kitson: 4.9 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 5.8 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.9 mi
  • University of California: 8.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 8.2 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 8.4 mi
  • UCLA: 8.8 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 10.5 mi
  • Getty Villa: 15.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
actor
Business
new york
Oct 8, 2011

needs improvements but great place to stay

After I read some of the reviews on this hotel I wanted to cancel my stay but then decided to see for myself. Stayed for three nights on the 2nd floor and was only disappointed on the second night due to the person in the room above walking around all night and stomping like a large gorilla. I also kept hearing a loud noise like a truck engine coming from their bath. I called the front desk about this around 5.00am and the noise stopped shortly after the complaint. I feel that the upper rooms need full carpeting to avoid the noise. The other two nights were quiet and the bed was most comfortable. The location was convenient. The choice of restaurants and the mall with the supermarket that opened late was a big plus. The hotel offered coffee and cookies but I enjoyed the 1-2 block walk to the various cafes. I understand the complaints about the parking but I felt grateful to the staff that they worked to accommodate the guests at no extra charge. Despite the noise problem I felt at home at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thamy
San Francisco, CA
Oct 5, 2011

Good option

That's a good hotel, i will come back again. Clean e comfortable bead, very clean bathroom. They need to clean their windows, just that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thamy
San Francisco, CA
Oct 5, 2011

Good option

That's a good hotel, i will come back again. Clean e comfortable bead, very clean bathroom. They need to clean their windows, just that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
中国北京市
Sep 26, 2011

A hotel with everything to the minimum

This place is worth what you pay for. At a prime location located in Koreatown, just two blocks from Wilshire Blvd where most business are located, this hotel provides a really convenient access to the city. However, it is quite far from most locations that worth a visit (like conference centers and shopping). Despite the okay location, the amenities provided in this hotel is really little. Should be called a minimalist hotel. There is no hair dryer, no coffee machine... it's easier just to list the things they have rather than things they should have but don't. The room is super spacious, but the lack of things makes it look not so good. There's only a bed, a TV and a few tables with lamps on them. Nothing else. The bathroom doesn't even have a towel hanger. The hotel is not soundproof as mentioned by other reviewers - I was wakened at 2am by the bark of a dog in some other distant room. Also, the elevator produces very loud noise. (It actually looks like a 80's elevator, and the maintaince tag on it says it was on a 60-day temporary license which already expired three months before my stay.) Don't ask anyone in this hotel about staff and service - so far I have only seen the receptionist (and it's the same person whenever I peeked into the lobby). This hotel has almost NO staff. Don't expect any service except for cleaning - I don't think they have anyone to handle all that. After all, if you are only expecting a very simple hotel located not far from LA, this is a place to choose. If you expect anything more than bath, sleep and TV, then maybe pay some more for a better chain around the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

A lot of restaurants, fast food, bars and fashion shopping are located around the hotel on 7th and Wilshire Blvd. If you want access to malls, better restaurants and touring of Hollywood, you will have to take a bus (at least).

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
中国北京市
Sep 26, 2011

A hotel with everything to the minimum

This place is worth what you pay for. At a prime location located in Koreatown, just two blocks from Wilshire Blvd where most business are located, this hotel provides a really convenient access to the city. However, it is quite far from most locations that worth a visit (like conference centers and shopping). Despite the okay location, the amenities provided in this hotel is really little. Should be called a minimalist hotel. There is no hair dryer, no coffee machine... it's easier just to list the things they have rather than things they should have but don't. The room is super spacious, but the lack of things makes it look not so good. There's only a bed, a TV and a few tables with lamps on them. Nothing else. The bathroom doesn't even have a towel hanger. The hotel is not soundproof as mentioned by other reviewers - I was wakened at 2am by the bark of a dog in some other distant room. Also, the elevator produces very loud noise. (It actually looks like a 80's elevator, and the maintaince tag on it says it was on a 60-day temporary license which already expired three months before my stay.) Don't ask anyone in this hotel about staff and service - so far I have only seen the receptionist (and it's the same person whenever I peeked into the lobby). This hotel has almost NO staff. Don't expect any service except for cleaning - I don't think they have anyone to handle all that. After all, if you are only expecting a very simple hotel located not far from LA, this is a place to choose. If you expect anything more than bath, sleep and TV, then maybe pay some more for a better chain around the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

A lot of restaurants, fast food, bars and fashion shopping are located around the hotel on 7th and Wilshire Blvd. If you want access to malls, better restaurants and touring of Hollywood, you will have to take a bus (at least).

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kjsky612
Los Angeles
Sep 24, 2011

Pretty good deal!

We spent three nights in shelter hotel this time. Although there were not so many amenities in the room, but the room space is big enough and clean already for just resting. The location is not very convenient, cuz we needed to walk three blocks to Wilshire/normandie station after a long day! We got a buy 2 nights, 1 night free deal in Orbitz. So, all to all, a good quality for this price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kjsky612
Los Angeles
Sep 24, 2011

Pretty good deal!

We spent three nights in shelter hotel this time. Although there were not so many amenities in the room, but the room space is big enough and clean already for just resting. The location is not very convenient, cuz we needed to walk three blocks to Wilshire/normandie station after a long day! We got a buy 2 nights, 1 night free deal in Orbitz. So, all to all, a good quality for this price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nicole W.
Stockton, CA, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Okay for the price

We took a family trip for a few days and decided to stay at the Shelter Hotel in the Koreatown area of L.A. The location was great because it was central to the areas we were planning to visit (downtown L.A., Hollywood, Mid-Wilshire). It isn't in the best neighborhood, but it isn't too bad, if you're not picky. Parking is limited and if you stay out late, you'll need to tandem park and leave your car keys with the front desk. If you're looking for a hotel with amenities such as a swimming pool or continental breakfast, this is not the place to go. There is a Denny's and an IHOP within a 5-minute drive, plus various other ethnic restaurants nearby. The rooms are clean and basic. Free internet is provided, but you have to ask for it. Most of the hotel staff members are friendly and helpful, and when the only elevator broke down, it was repaired fairly quickly (within a few hours).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Griffith Observatory is a terrific place to visit, even if you aren't into astronomy or science. The views alone are worth the trip. Plus, it's free!

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nicole W.
Stockton, CA, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Okay for the price

We took a family trip for a few days and decided to stay at the Shelter Hotel in the Koreatown area of L.A. The location was great because it was central to the areas we were planning to visit (downtown L.A., Hollywood, Mid-Wilshire). It isn't in the best neighborhood, but it isn't too bad, if you're not picky. Parking is limited and if you stay out late, you'll need to tandem park and leave your car keys with the front desk. If you're looking for a hotel with amenities such as a swimming pool or continental breakfast, this is not the place to go. There is a Denny's and an IHOP within a 5-minute drive, plus various other ethnic restaurants nearby. The rooms are clean and basic. Free internet is provided, but you have to ask for it. Most of the hotel staff members are friendly and helpful, and when the only elevator broke down, it was repaired fairly quickly (within a few hours).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Griffith Observatory is a terrific place to visit, even if you aren't into astronomy or science. The views alone are worth the trip. Plus, it's free!

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
onrbrv
Istanbul
Sep 5, 2011

Good location for couples

Hotel location is next block of Korean neighborhood, quiet and safe place. Hotel was on renovation so that reception floor was closed but by the desk at garage our check in was done in minutes. Rooms are big, clean and lighted well. Car is required to reach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Korean district has many markets to supply personal goods. Hollywood and all attactions are in 10-15 mile distance most.

Back to menu Return to top